Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 4 of 27 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 656

Thread: Nuance


  1. #76

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Galway, IRELAND
    Posts
    141
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I started fitting out my Nuance. I have completed the elevator and aileron installs. The ailerons came with 5 hinges which is good. I used the horns and pushrods from the kit. I think they will be fine with electric as there is no vibration. I had to do my own servo supports on the aileron set up as I use Futaba S9150's which fit the precut opening perfectly.
    Next job is the rudder which thankfully did come with 3 hinges( an earlier post said they didn't come supplied). The contra will be a challenge to install so I will post when I start doing it.
    I have also mounted the wings and again I went with the method and parts as per the instructions. Why reinvent the wheel?
    Paul Houlihan

  2. #77
    patternflyer1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tracy, CA
    Posts
    2,052
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I think this fuse is thinner than the De Ja Vu.. Tall though. Not sure what's optimal for the Contra. I'm confused by it really. Why can't any plane just be straight, with the right sized control surfaces and take full advantage of it? Doesn't make sense to me. Seems like that should work to me, but I haven't flown one obviously..

    Chris
    Team BJ Craft Team F3A Unlimited
    Team JR

  3. #78
    patternflyer1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tracy, CA
    Posts
    2,052
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Just a question about how they mounted the servo arm. Shouldn't the servo arm be mounted 90 degrees with the rod, not 90 degrees with the servo?

    Thx

    Chris
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jh14493.jpg 
Views:	99 
Size:	53.5 KB 
ID:	1707697  
    Team BJ Craft Team F3A Unlimited
    Team JR

  4. #79

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Olathe, KS
    Posts
    599
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    You will get a lot of mechanical exponential differential using that set up (a lot more in one side that the other). In order to make both sides equal the servo horn has to be parallel to the control horn line (line from hinge line to pivot point).
    Vicente \"Vince\" Bortone

  5. #80

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sydney, , AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    997
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Yes, it should be at 90 degrees. Looks like you'll need to lengthen the linkage and find a spline that gives you 90 degrees. I normally use a Hitec servo programmer to set the pulse width to 1.5ms (centre) and then keep turning the servo horn until I get a setting at 90 degrees. The star horns are better for this i.e. Futaba.

    BTW, I also use titanium turnbuckles to allow fast adjustment without having to undo everything... They are also strong and ultra light.

    Cheers,
    Jason.

  6. #81

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    wexford, IRELAND
    Posts
    909
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Hi Jason,
    What ones do you use and where do you get them.

    Brian

  7. #82

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sydney, , AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    997
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Hi Brian,

    I use either 3mm or 4-40 titanium turnbuckles with Dubro ball joints. Do a search on Tower Hobbies for titanium turnbuckles and heaps will turn up at all different lengths and sizes. You need to determine what length is required first.. :-) I used to race RC cars and titanium was the bees knees for weight reduction while maintaining strength and rigidity.

    I like the blue Associated ones but also use the Lunsford brand.

    Another tip, you can also buy aluminium nylock nuts from Tower..

    Regards,
    Jason.

  8. #83
    flatlandmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    lexington, KY
    Posts
    1,228
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance


    ORIGINAL: patternflyer1

    Just a question about how they mounted the servo arm. Shouldn't the servo arm be mounted 90 degrees with the rod, not 90 degrees with the servo?

    Thx

    Chris
    This was designed to achieve a certain amount of throw and differential. If you use a different length servo arm you wont have the proper throw and differential that this setup was designed for with out losing resolution and mechanical advantage. His pdf pamphlet thingy stated that when you use this size arm with this geometry you will get the desired throw and desired differential.
    www.jerseymodeler.com
    Special thanx to The Crew Mike B. Jim Z. Ed J. Jim S.

  9. #84
    patternflyer1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tracy, CA
    Posts
    2,052
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Not looking to change the length of my servo arms, just wondering as I always thought it was mechanically best to keep the arm and control rod 90 degrees to have the same throws both ways. If you did ailerons that way you would have problems.

    Thanks for the replies. Was double checking myself as I glued all my ca hinges in tonight and will do the linkages and most of the rest of the things tomorrow. Well, if I feel ok. haha

    Thanks!

    Chris
    Team BJ Craft Team F3A Unlimited
    Team JR

  10. #85
    flatlandmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    lexington, KY
    Posts
    1,228
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    If your ailerons required differential it can be done this way instead of programming in the differential. You would just have a small bit of trial and error to get the push rod the right length for the amount of differential you require.
    www.jerseymodeler.com
    Special thanx to The Crew Mike B. Jim Z. Ed J. Jim S.

  11. #86

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    599
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Hi Chris, Just a question or two for you. Are you sure you want to use a "z-bend" on the servo end of your rudder pushrod? Was this recommended by the builder in his manual? I haven't used a "z-bend" in more than 20 years. One thing for sure, you can't trust them. Hopefully you did not use them on your elevator or aileron servos! Thought I would ask__Everette

  12. #87

    RE: Nuance


    ORIGINAL: wattsup

    Hi Chris, Just a question or two for you. Are you sure you want to use a ''z-bend'' on the servo end of your rudder pushrod? Was this recommended by the builder in his manual? I haven't used a ''z-bend'' in more than 20 years. One thing for sure, you can't trust them. Hopefully you did not use them on your elevator or aileron servos! Thought I would ask__Everette
    Everette,

    I presume that you mean they can not be trusted for pattern applications? I use them every day, but I would never use them on a pattern plane because there is too much slop in the system for their use. I don't see how they can fail, but I can see easily how they can be less precise.

    Now a 90-degree bend with a keeper is something I would never use.
    Ryan Smith

    Team JR | Thunder Power RC
    F3A Unlimited | Castle Creations

  13. #88

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Galway, IRELAND
    Posts
    141
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Ryan, if I was still flying with IC engines I would agree to not using Z bends but they should be fine with electric due to lack of vibration. Nothing wears down like it use to. If the hole in the servo horn is drilled to the right size then there is no slop at all. I will keep a close eye on them and see how they go over time. Worse case I can either replace the servo arms or go to ball raced clevices etc.
    Paul Houlihan

  14. #89

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Galway, IRELAND
    Posts
    141
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    As promised pics of my Nuance with Contra Drive installed. The spinner is about 2mm over all round but I think that wont affect its flying characteristics at all.. I just have to installed receiver and its battery and then work out where to place main battery for CG of 260mm.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Om34150.jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	115.8 KB 
ID:	1708447   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Kf14478.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	85.9 KB 
ID:	1708448  
    Paul Houlihan

  15. #90

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    chino, CA
    Posts
    538
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Here are a few photo's, of my Vanquish 2 meter and Steve Hannah's Nuance that will be on display at the NSRCA booth at the AMA EXPO this up coming weekend, they were shot
    after a day of flying, out at the Riverside flying site. Man the weather was great, light breeze an almost 83 degree's, that Souhtern California in the month of December for you.
    For those that have not seen a Nuance up close, it's a very nice pattern ship. The fuse is very tall, and the control surfaces are very thick, I'll be picking up a all white one the ARC
    version, the photos are a side by side shoot,to show the size.


    Vanquish

    Canopy Height - 12'' tall or 320 mm
    Aileron TE Thickness -3/16'' or 4mm
    Elevator TE Thickness -3/16'' or 4mm
    Rudder TE Thickness - 3/16'' or 4mm

    Nuance
    Canopy Height- 14'' or 360 mm
    Aileron TE Thickness- 3/16 or 4mm
    Elevator TE Thickness - 5/16'' or 10mm
    Rudder TE Thickness - 5/8'' or 18mm
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jh14541.jpg 
Views:	52 
Size:	155.6 KB 
ID:	1708535   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jf11553.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	163.6 KB 
ID:	1708536   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Pu51466.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	154.3 KB 
ID:	1708537   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cw63234.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	158.4 KB 
ID:	1708538  

  16. #91

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    placentia, CA
    Posts
    970

    RE: Nuance

    Thanks for the pics Jarvis. You just don't get the same appreciation for the size difference from the pictures. The Nuance dwarfs the Vanquish in fuse height and volume, it is one tall fuselage for sure.
    Team BJCraft

  17. #92
    papaone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Salon, FRANCE
    Posts
    926
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Hello

    See on BJcraft site :
    Nuance's DTFSW (Double Taper Fast Snap Wing) This is Option Item.....
    http://rcone.kr/board/index.html?id=bjair1&no=74
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Om32065.jpg 
Views:	34 
Size:	54.7 KB 
ID:	1709626  

  18. #93
    woodie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Placerville, CA
    Posts
    1,043
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    deleted

    Woodie
    There is nothing so simple it can't be messed up by someone....

  19. #94

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    wexford, IRELAND
    Posts
    909
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Hi,
    Looks like 3 tapers to me.

    Brian

  20. #95

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven, NETHERLANDS
    Posts
    946
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    3 ugly tapers if you ask me! [:@]

    Volkert
    Club Saito member #371

  21. #96

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,408
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I kinda like it!
    Doug Cronkhite

  22. #97
    patternflyer1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tracy, CA
    Posts
    2,052
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    I get a pretty violent snap without these wings.. I kinda think many of these fast snaps aren't really snaps anyhow, but to each their own I guess. So now that I have my Nuance almost complete, your telling me it doesn't snap fast enough? lol

    Chris
    Team BJ Craft Team F3A Unlimited
    Team JR

  23. #98

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    placentia, CA
    Posts
    970

    RE: Nuance

    It snaps pretty darn well. But when you've gotten used to the whiplash inducing snaps of a Visa this seems like it is in slow motion. I am happy with it, but just a tad faster would be better. I think it does the opposite knife edge snaps better than my contra visa. But a single, horizontal snap isn't as impressive. However, since we don't have any knowns with just plain horizontal snaps, I guess it's kind of a moot point.

    Get it done and fly it. You'll be happy.
    Team BJCraft

  24. #99

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Kaohsiung, TAIWAN
    Posts
    133

    RE: Nuance

    I just test my Nuance this weekend,Has about 10 flights on it!!
    I love this plane so much,I decide that I will use this for Asia Cup 2012.....(in original I buy Toxiris for Asia Cup)
    I use SAVOX 1251 for Ail and rud, SAVOX 1350 for elevator
    For the motor,
    I am now testing the newest inruner motor HYK 50
    It run as good as my other Hacker C-50 14XL
    The total weight with out battery is 3.61kg.......
    I did some modify on this plane,Cheak the pic Hope you enjoy!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ca81049.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	110.3 KB 
ID:	1711352   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Gb88152.jpg 
Views:	38 
Size:	87.1 KB 
ID:	1711353   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jo30752.jpg 
Views:	39 
Size:	75.3 KB 
ID:	1711354   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Uo35572.jpg 
Views:	46 
Size:	129.2 KB 
ID:	1711355   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bm74368.jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	101.8 KB 
ID:	1711356  


  25. #100
    nonstoprc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Central, TX
    Posts
    2,405
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Nuance

    Thanks for posting these pictures. may I ask the thick-ness of the PCB material(?) for motor mount?
    Where facts are few, experts are many.
    Perfection is God\'\'\'\'s business.


Page 4 of 27 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:51 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.