Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Prolog

Reply
Old 01-11-2012, 04:57 PM
  #1
rgreen24
Thread Starter
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,083
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Prolog

Wanted to start a new thread as i just received my Prolog. The plane is definately gorgeous. The paint is of excellent quailty and no seems can be seen, which is really cool. This company BJ craft has some of the tightest controls i have ever seen. I was just looking at the Nuance thread and noticed that the weights i took tonight with the Prolog were almost identical to the Nuance except for the Fuz. The Nuance is obviously a bigger fuz hence the weight difference.

weights below:

Fuz with canopy, 1056 grams
Wings 329 grams, 330 grams, very similar in weight to the Nuance that Steve finished.
Stabs 70 grams each.

Will get to the other weights once i actually start building. the Fuz is very stiff, and i think this plane will come out in the 4500 - 4600 weight, which would be the lightest e pattern plane that i have ever flown.

A pic is a attached, my dog wanted to get in the pic as well

Will be ordering the stuff for it this week, in hopes to start working on it next week
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Db84312.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	76.2 KB
ID:	1712856  
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:01 AM
  #2
jetmech43
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 1,665
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

nice paint looks metal flake
jetmech43 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 07:04 AM
  #3
rgreen24
Thread Starter
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,083
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Not metal flake it's just the camera, but the paint job has to be seen to be believed. Very comparable to Oxai
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 09:28 AM
  #4
rchotdoger
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: omaha, NE
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

This will be fun to see, what motor are you planning to use?
rchotdoger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:28 PM
  #5
rgreen24
Thread Starter
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,083
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Using the himax 6330
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 08:03 PM
  #6
Haram
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog



Hi. Robert
it is Cannard landing Gear for Prolog model.
see photo image below;

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35733.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	39.3 KB
ID:	1713664   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ni24050.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	55.8 KB
ID:	1713665  
Haram is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 08:42 AM
  #7
cymaz
 
cymaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 648
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Where can I get one, preferably UK please
cymaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 08:55 AM
  #8
papaone
 
papaone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salon, FRANCE
Posts: 1,103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Hello

Bondaero is dealer for Europe
http://www.bondaero.co.uk/storepage1085149.aspx
http://www.bondaero.co.uk/
papaone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 08:57 AM
  #9
cymaz
 
cymaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 648
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog



Merci
cymaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 01:46 PM
  #10
cweimer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Hey Robert, Its good to see you are still buying airplanes. It looks like you got a good one.

Claude
cweimer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 03:40 PM
  #11
FLYERSG
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LaVista, NE
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Claude: Are you still flying R/C? Still have my Partner and Beryll....am working on a Mystic for this season with a Plettenberg Advance 30-10 for power.

Mike
FLYERSG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 04:18 PM
  #12
rgreen24
Thread Starter
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,083
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Hi Claude, still flying and very excited about this one. It's going to be the lightest plane
I have ever flown, it will come in at 4500 grams. Haram I did receive the gear it looks fantastic. Looking forward to flying it in the spring
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 10:32 AM
  #13
dakoris73
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Hey Robert;

This is looking like its gonna be an awesome plane to fly, and looking forward to seeing this fly at the field soon.......

Mikey
dakoris73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:31 PM
  #14
rgreen24
Thread Starter
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,083
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Well, I wanted to add a quick update about the Prolog. It is finally finished and ready to go and i will be taking it out tomorrow afternoon. Weather is looking really nice so it should be a non event. I made a few changes on mine from the stock set up. The stock set up used blind nut in the wing and i believe three or 4 mm bolts to hold the wing on. I decided to use plastic 1/4 20 bolts, glued in the wing and wing nut to secure it in the fuz. I also made a cut out in the rear to support the rudder servo, thought this way was a little easier than the other method proposed in the instructions; other than that everything else uses the stock set up. The plane weighs 4512 grams with a Himax 210 and Rhino batts, so if you wanted to make it lighter you certainly could.

I just bought 8 new 5S Rhino batts from Hobby King. and could not believe the weight. Each weighed less than 608 grams. I did a few tricks that i was showed by Joe Dunnaway and Bill Ahrens to get the weight down, and now these packs weigh the same and in some cases lighter than my TP 5000 25C packs. Not sure what they are doing to get the weight down, but the new packs are significantly lighter than packs in the past; no, i am not sponsored by Hobby King, but though i would let you all know, as I am a big fan of the Rhino packs. I bought 4 packs in late 2009, and they are still going strong!!

Pics are below of the finished model, and it also shows how i can kill the power to the motor from outside the plane. I was showed this installation by Rusty Dose back in 2008, and since then every electric plane that i have worked on has this external arming and disarming switch.

Will give an update once i fly her tomorrow
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay74361.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	241.2 KB
ID:	1738473   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gc91135.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	275.6 KB
ID:	1738474   Click image for larger version

Name:	Uz67735.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	288.7 KB
ID:	1738475  
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:56 AM
  #15
tschmidt
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fort Scott, KS,
Posts: 376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Looks GREAT Robert! Good luck with the maiden...

Todd
tschmidt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 08:41 AM
  #16
rgreen24
Thread Starter
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,083
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Thanks Todd. Can't wait to fly the mystic as well!!!
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 08:58 AM
  #17
desertrider49
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Hello,
I went to the F3Aunlimited website to compare the Prolog to the Nuance, and the dimensions seem to be the same. If there is a better site for compaison, please let me know. So, I am wondering why the Prolog is $200 cheaper ?

Thanks
desertrider49 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 09:07 AM
  #18
shannah
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: placentia, CA
Posts: 1,079
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Hi Randy,

You can go here for more info:
http://rcone.kr/board/index.html?pcno=18

Download the 2012 catalog and also make sure you download the Prolog Designer's report. It is very informative.

As for the price difference, I don't know why it is cheaper, but that's a good thing! I flew it briefly when I visited and I thought it flew great.

Steve
shannah is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 09:14 AM
  #19
desertrider49
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Just as a fluke I typed in bjcraft and a website opened with a picture essay of the Steve Hannah visit to the factory.

Thanks
desertrider49 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:12 PM
  #20
rgreen24
Thread Starter
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,083
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

desertrider; the Prolog is a little cheaper becuase it's design is based on the previous airplane called the Monolog so they were able to save most of the development cost, with the Prolog. The Prolog is also a little smaller than the Nuance, and the canopy is a little further back. I have heard the Nuance flies very well, i have yet to see one fly, but hear good things from those who have one.

I flew my Prolog today, and was very impressed by the airplane. The rolls were very axial, and knife edge needed no mixing on either side, it did need some elevator to throttle mix for down lines but most airplanes need this. the plane snap and finishes as soon as you let off the stick, leaving a nice clean line after the maneuver, there are only a few planes that I have flown with the ability to do this. Todd Schmidt's Mystic, and my Spark Evo, the other planes that i have flown needed some opposite rudder at the end of the snap to keep the line.

The plane also held a very good 45 degree upline without much input which leads me to believe that i had the balance just right, spins were also very predictable and stopped as soon as you let go of the stick.

Something else that surprised me was the speed of the airplane, i was running a Himax 210, with a 20.4x14.5 prop, and i was amazed how slow the airplane flew. The wing has a thick leading edge and I believe this help with the slow flight characteristics of the airplane, just looking at it i thought I thought it would fly faster than my Evo, but that was not the case, my opinion the plane definitely flew slower than my Spark, i am now wondering if i can get a set of the wings that are on the Prolog and put them on my Spark. May be a project for later in the year.

All in all i was very happy with the airplane, and will have it throughout the summer, so if i am at a contest and you guys would like to fly it to, i will turn the sticks over, and you can be the judge!!!
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 12:18 PM
  #21
tggilkey
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mendota Hts., MN
Posts: 175
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Hey Robert -

Good job! What did you do to the batteries to put them on a diet? I just got some Rhinos and should do the same to them.

I plan to use a similar method for the external disconnect. Where did you get the grommets?

Hope to run into you on the contest trail this summer.

Tom
tggilkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 05:12 PM
  #22
Rudy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SalemOR
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Go to a auto parts store for through wall gromets

single hander
Rudy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 05:33 PM
  #23
rgreen24
Thread Starter
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,083
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Hey Tom, there is the positive red wire that runs all the way toward the top of the pack. What i did was put a small hole toward the rear of the pack and pulled the red wire all the way out, the cut it to the length i need to make the 10 cell pack work.

Now in order for you to make this set up work one of the batteries needs to be turned the other direction, so you will have the balance connectors at opposing ends of the pack. Let me know if you want pics
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 06:27 AM
  #24
tggilkey
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mendota Hts., MN
Posts: 175
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Thanks, Rudy.

Thanks, Robert. A followup question - Is the red wire you're pulling and cutting the one that would connect to the black wire of the other pack to put the two packs in series? That is a good idea it will leave several inches of un-necesssary wire on the ground. I'm guessing the different lengths of wire and locations of balance connnectors can be accomodated in the plane setup and the charging set up as well.

Your external connection do you prefer the more vertical orientation of the wires as compared to a more horizontal arrangement? You probably could count the number of times I have even touched wires of that function on one hand. I know I have disconnected them for a few people when calling for them but have never connected them hot. I would guess that the orientation could make a difference in how easy it is to work with. Comments?

Thanks, Tom
tggilkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 11:22 AM
  #25
rgreen24
Thread Starter
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,083
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Prolog

Hey Tom, that is correct, on,the first part of your question. One you pull out the wire cut it to the length you need to match the negative coming from the other pack, pretty simple to do and save a lot 12 - 20 grams per pack.

Concerning the orientation of the arming plug, not sure if it matters, Rust Dose, I beleive had his orientation that way so I just followed suit, figure if it ain't broke
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:23 PM.