Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

Reply
Old 08-01-2012, 05:58 PM
  #26
wingster
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 197
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

I use to run the A60-20S to over 80A. The internal rersistance was .028 ohms. The internal resistance of the A60-7S is only .026 ohms, so it should handle currents of 80A or more.
wingster is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:19 AM
  #27
RobT
 
RobT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 695
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

Just flew the first 6 flights on the Hacker A60-7s. Running 2x4500 Zippy 35C packs. With a Xoar 21x10 2400 watts. With a APC 22x12 3000 watts. Pulled a 13lb 78" EF extra with great power.

RobT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 05:08 PM
  #28
SAB
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: West of Scotland, UK
Posts: 79
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RobT

Just flew the first 6 flights on the Hacker A60-7s. Running 2x4500 Zippy 35C packs. With a Xoar 21x10 2400 watts. With a APC 22x12 3000 watts. Pulled a 13lb 78'' EF extra with great power.

Rob,

Great news, putting the same motor in the same plane, I have 22x10 & 22x12 props to try.
Will be running Zippy 5000's & Rhino 4900's
ESC is the OS 100A HV

Steve
SAB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 03:17 AM
  #29
RobT
 
RobT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 695
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

Very cool Steve. What brand props are those?

Watervliet NY? Do you fly at the "Black Dirt" field?
RobT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 05:29 AM
  #30
SAB
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: West of Scotland, UK
Posts: 79
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RobT

Very cool Steve. What brand props are those?

Watervliet NY? Do you fly at the ''Black Dirt'' field?
Rob,

They are APCe's
I fly at the Thundervolts club, about 20 miles north of Albany.

Steve
SAB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 01:33 PM
  #31
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

I have just installed one also. Currently I can not down load my Log from the CC-80 HV, as it continues to give me the "Failed to purse Data log?" I was able to retrieve it once in the beginning. Anyway, anyone have any numbers on a APC 20.5x14, as that is what I am trying to get static numbers on?

Thanks,

Bill
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 12:24 PM
  #32
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

Here is some data from the Hacker A6-7S-V2

True RC 20C/10S-5000 packs; 3 years old but low time packs 25 flights, Fresh charge.
Hacker A60-7S-V2
Prop: APC 20.5x 14
ESC: CC 80 HV-V2


Max. voltage: 40.6
Max. Current Amps: 55.4
AMP Hours: 1.20
Max. Watts: 1849
Max. Temp: 124 F
Max. RPM: 5719

The numbers look low?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Us52873.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	65.6 KB
ID:	1799576   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca80264.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	61.2 KB
ID:	1799577  
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 01:29 PM
  #33
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,054
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

My first thought is that your batteries don't seem to hold charge under load. Can you plot just the voltage curve? They should be just about 42v fully charged, and shouldn't drop below 37v under load during the initial power bursts.

Maybe the batteries need a few cycles to 'wake up'? Have you been using them much over the past few weeks?
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 02:03 PM
  #34
wingster
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 197
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

Looks like your only holding 32-34v under full load. As Joe said the batteries look weak. 70-80A at full load is more like it.

Also, if you haven't done so, you've got to tell the graphing software how many poles the motor has.
wingster is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 02:12 PM
  #35
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

Hey Joe,


The Batteries are from around Jan. 2009 and have only been used for about 25 flights. I have not used them since 2009, since I have been overseas a bit. I am ordering new batts fro Chris at F3A Unlimited. I also have a slightly newer Rhino 4900 pack from mid year 2009. I have been using them the past few weeks doing some testing on and off. I charged them for the first time a few months ago and the Ohm's per cell were good, around 3.84 across the board. Todays charge I noticed 4 cells over 5-6 ohms (not good). I use a CellPro charger.


Bill
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 02:20 PM
  #36
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

Wingster,


I noticed that too,..glad you pointed that out. The software is set for 28 poles for the A60, but it's nice to know you mentioned it. My guess is with the newer chemistry batteries and a fresher pack the number will yield different results. I have refrainded from flying with these packs until I buy new ones, so I don't fly at the moment. The Rhino's ( 4900's) I have; I can't use, as the wire configuration is different, single end -VS-double end with Y- harnes for the other. I know standardization across the board.


Thanks'

bholsten
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 04:24 PM
  #37
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,054
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

I think if you cycle the batteries a few times, you will get better performance. Probably not anything like new, but better.
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:07 AM
  #38
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

More data on the Hacker.

Image one: Hacker A60-7S-v2/APC 20.5x14/Rhino 20C-4900.
RPM: 6144/Temp:128F/AMPS: 64.5/Watts:2468.


Image two: Hacker A60-7S-V2/APC 21x13/Rhino 20C/4900.
RMP:6127/Temp: 134F/AMPS:71.7/Watts: 2682


Have to make a correction to the last graph posted above: Referenced True RC 20C/5000/10S. The correct battery is a True RC 15C/5000/10S configuration.

As suggested, the data looks better with a better battery.


bholsten
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51854.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	72.5 KB
ID:	1803756   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw67879.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	1803757  
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 04:48 AM
  #39
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

I just wanted to add to the post;

I flew both my VF3's yesterday for the first time since 2009. The one I just converted over has the Hacker A60-7S-V2 in it (Same spec's as listed above). The other has a Pletty EVO-30-10 swinging an APC 21x13.

The Hacker was stronger than the Pletty and it was flown with a 15/20 TRUE RC -5000 pack that is going bad,..high resistance. The Pletty was flown with a good Rhino 20/25C-4900 pack thay are pretty close in power. I am going to fly the Hacker with a good pack today. I think the numbers went from 5700 RPM with the TRUE RC pack to 6147RPM with the Rhino pack during my static testing.

I am going to extract the data from the CC this morning and see what the number are. I know even with the bad pack, after 7 minutes flying the "P" program I only put 2100Mah back in. The Rhino packs I put 3500Mah back in after 7 minutes. I am going to put the 20.5x14 on the Pletty and see what we get,..Apples for apples. Not downing the Pletty at all, just saying for the money the power is a bit better and more efficient in comparison.

Thanks

Bill
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:02 AM
  #40
PatternFlyer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburg, KS
Posts: 1,061
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

revised.
PatternFlyer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:09 AM
  #41
PatternFlyer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburg, KS
Posts: 1,061
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

Quote:
ORIGINAL: maustin

Woddie,

The 83mm is a correct measurement. Taken off the motor today, firewall to thrust washer.

maustin

Is this 83mm actual distance after removing the prop from the airframe installation?

Trying to decide between the HiMaxx 6330-210 and A60-7S.

Compared to HiMaxx, this motor can turn larger prop. (taller gear on order).
PatternFlyer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 05:03 PM
  #42
maustin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pasadena, Tx
Posts: 219
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

PatternFlyer,

Yes, that is measured from the back of the X mount to the face of the thrust washer. I just checked it again to be sure. Having run both motors all summer I feel they are both very close to the same in power. The only diff that I can see is the Hacker runs a tad hotter than the Himax on the same 20.5 x 14 prop.

maustin
maustin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:49 AM
  #43
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

What do you consider hot?

Mine (Hacker) runs at it's hotest thus far; according to the CC download, 134 degrees. The average temp. is around 94. I am flying with an APC 20.5.14 and that was measured on a day that was 84 degrees F.

Just wondering,...? [8D]


bholsten
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:50 PM
  #44
PatternFlyer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburg, KS
Posts: 1,061
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

maustin,

Hotter than 6330-210?
Any idea on what kind of temp range you are on?
I carry infrared temp gun in my battery case to check the motor/ESC/Battery temp.


Bill,

that 134 degrees is the motor temp?
Not sure if the CC ICE has any feature of checking motor temp. Only temp that I know CC ICE records is ESC temp.

Ihncheol
PatternFlyer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:03 PM
  #45
maustin
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pasadena, Tx
Posts: 219
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

I don't have a specific temp, just a finger touch test. It was pretty hot, enough that I could not keep my finger on but a split second. Course the temps here in the desert were >100 degrees so that had an effect on it for sure.

maustin
maustin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 05:24 PM
  #46
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

The motor and battery are warm to the touch. I built in ducting into the plane based on the the first one I have with a pretty in it. Both system run efficiently with respect to temperature. I fly FAI, so I thing all things being equal between the two are good.
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:22 AM
  #47
PatternFlyer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburg, KS
Posts: 1,061
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

Question to you guys.

I got the A60-7S, World Model 83mm spinner, 20.5x14E. Tried put together all three. It looks like the shaft is about an 1/8" too long to use Hacker supplied double jam nuts.
What prop adapters to you use?

Ihncheol
PatternFlyer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 10:35 AM
  #48
mups53
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 2,320
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor



Great thread we stock them now. I'll be putting one into an Episode soon. Mike

http://www.f3aunlimited.com/webstore...roducts_id=629

mups53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:08 PM
  #49
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

I don't use the jam nut, haven't used the second jam nut for years except on my YS(s). It's not an issue,.just another place to save a tad bit of weight, always caution on the side of safety.

bholsten
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 03:06 PM
  #50
PatternFlyer
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburg, KS
Posts: 1,061
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Can you guys tell me what degrees of timing is used on ESC?

I took the 85HV out and installed Spin 99 (25 degrees as factory suggested). So far, if not careful, I am using nearly 85% of battery capacity. Falcon 21x14

Any suggestions on timing? I am going to try APC 21x13, 20.5x14 this weekend.
PatternFlyer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:57 PM.