Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 76

  1. #26

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Springfield, MA
    Posts
    184
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    I use to run the A60-20S to over 80A. The internal rersistance was .028 ohms. The internal resistance of the A60-7S is only .026 ohms, so it should handle currents of 80A or more.

  2. #27
    RobT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Syosset, NY
    Posts
    695
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    Just flew the first 6 flights on the Hacker A60-7s. Running 2x4500 Zippy 35C packs. With a Xoar 21x10 2400 watts. With a APC 22x12 3000 watts. Pulled a 13lb 78" EF extra with great power.


  3. #28

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    West of Scotland, UK
    Posts
    49
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor


    ORIGINAL: RobT

    Just flew the first 6 flights on the Hacker A60-7s. Running 2x4500 Zippy 35C packs. With a Xoar 21x10 2400 watts. With a APC 22x12 3000 watts. Pulled a 13lb 78'' EF extra with great power.

    Rob,

    Great news, putting the same motor in the same plane, I have 22x10 & 22x12 props to try.
    Will be running Zippy 5000's & Rhino 4900's
    ESC is the OS 100A HV

    Steve

  4. #29
    RobT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Syosset, NY
    Posts
    695
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    Very cool Steve. What brand props are those?

    Watervliet NY? Do you fly at the "Black Dirt" field?

  5. #30

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    West of Scotland, UK
    Posts
    49
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor


    ORIGINAL: RobT

    Very cool Steve. What brand props are those?

    Watervliet NY? Do you fly at the ''Black Dirt'' field?
    Rob,

    They are APCe's
    I fly at the Thundervolts club, about 20 miles north of Albany.

    Steve

  6. #31
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,069
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    I have just installed one also. Currently I can not down load my Log from the CC-80 HV, as it continues to give me the "Failed to purse Data log?" I was able to retrieve it once in the beginning. Anyway, anyone have any numbers on a APC 20.5x14, as that is what I am trying to get static numbers on?

    Thanks,

    Bill

  7. #32
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,069
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    Here is some data from the Hacker A6-7S-V2

    True RC 20C/10S-5000 packs; 3 years old but low time packs 25 flights, Fresh charge.
    Hacker A60-7S-V2
    Prop: APC 20.5x 14
    ESC: CC 80 HV-V2


    Max. voltage: 40.6
    Max. Current Amps: 55.4
    AMP Hours: 1.20
    Max. Watts: 1849
    Max. Temp: 124 F
    Max. RPM: 5719

    The numbers look low?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Us52873.jpg 
Views:	41 
Size:	65.6 KB 
ID:	1799576   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ca80264.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	61.2 KB 
ID:	1799577  

  8. #33
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,947
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    My first thought is that your batteries don't seem to hold charge under load. Can you plot just the voltage curve? They should be just about 42v fully charged, and shouldn't drop below 37v under load during the initial power bursts.

    Maybe the batteries need a few cycles to 'wake up'? Have you been using them much over the past few weeks?
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  9. #34

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Springfield, MA
    Posts
    184
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    Looks like your only holding 32-34v under full load. As Joe said the batteries look weak. 70-80A at full load is more like it.

    Also, if you haven't done so, you've got to tell the graphing software how many poles the motor has.

  10. #35
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,069
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    Hey Joe,


    The Batteries are from around Jan. 2009 and have only been used for about 25 flights. I have not used them since 2009, since I have been overseas a bit. I am ordering new batts fro Chris at F3A Unlimited. I also have a slightly newer Rhino 4900 pack from mid year 2009. I have been using them the past few weeks doing some testing on and off. I charged them for the first time a few months ago and the Ohm's per cell were good, around 3.84 across the board. Todays charge I noticed 4 cells over 5-6 ohms (not good). I use a CellPro charger.


    Bill

  11. #36
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,069
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    Wingster,


    I noticed that too,..glad you pointed that out. The software is set for 28 poles for the A60, but it's nice to know you mentioned it. My guess is with the newer chemistry batteries and a fresher pack the number will yield different results. I have refrainded from flying with these packs until I buy new ones, so I don't fly at the moment. The Rhino's ( 4900's) I have; I can't use, as the wire configuration is different, single end -VS-double end with Y- harnes for the other. I know standardization across the board.


    Thanks'

    bholsten

  12. #37
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,947
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    I think if you cycle the batteries a few times, you will get better performance. Probably not anything like new, but better.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  13. #38
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,069
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    More data on the Hacker.

    Image one: Hacker A60-7S-v2/APC 20.5x14/Rhino 20C-4900.
    RPM: 6144/Temp:128F/AMPS: 64.5/Watts:2468.


    Image two: Hacker A60-7S-V2/APC 21x13/Rhino 20C/4900.
    RMP:6127/Temp: 134F/AMPS:71.7/Watts: 2682


    Have to make a correction to the last graph posted above: Referenced True RC 20C/5000/10S. The correct battery is a True RC 15C/5000/10S configuration.

    As suggested, the data looks better with a better battery.


    bholsten
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tr51854.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	72.5 KB 
ID:	1803756   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Yw67879.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	79.1 KB 
ID:	1803757  

  14. #39
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,069
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    I just wanted to add to the post;

    I flew both my VF3's yesterday for the first time since 2009. The one I just converted over has the Hacker A60-7S-V2 in it (Same spec's as listed above). The other has a Pletty EVO-30-10 swinging an APC 21x13.

    The Hacker was stronger than the Pletty and it was flown with a 15/20 TRUE RC -5000 pack that is going bad,..high resistance. The Pletty was flown with a good Rhino 20/25C-4900 pack thay are pretty close in power. I am going to fly the Hacker with a good pack today. I think the numbers went from 5700 RPM with the TRUE RC pack to 6147RPM with the Rhino pack during my static testing.

    I am going to extract the data from the CC this morning and see what the number are. I know even with the bad pack, after 7 minutes flying the "P" program I only put 2100Mah back in. The Rhino packs I put 3500Mah back in after 7 minutes. I am going to put the 20.5x14 on the Pletty and see what we get,..Apples for apples. Not downing the Pletty at all, just saying for the money the power is a bit better and more efficient in comparison.

    Thanks

    Bill

  15. #40

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Pittsburg, KS
    Posts
    1,053
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    revised.

  16. #41

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Pittsburg, KS
    Posts
    1,053
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    ORIGINAL: maustin

    Woddie,

    The 83mm is a correct measurement. Taken off the motor today, firewall to thrust washer.

    maustin

    Is this 83mm actual distance after removing the prop from the airframe installation?

    Trying to decide between the HiMaxx 6330-210 and A60-7S.

    Compared to HiMaxx, this motor can turn larger prop. (taller gear on order).

  17. #42

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    173
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    PatternFlyer,

    Yes, that is measured from the back of the X mount to the face of the thrust washer. I just checked it again to be sure. Having run both motors all summer I feel they are both very close to the same in power. The only diff that I can see is the Hacker runs a tad hotter than the Himax on the same 20.5 x 14 prop.

    maustin

  18. #43
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,069
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    What do you consider hot?

    Mine (Hacker) runs at it's hotest thus far; according to the CC download, 134 degrees. The average temp. is around 94. I am flying with an APC 20.5.14 and that was measured on a day that was 84 degrees F.

    Just wondering,...? [8D]


    bholsten

  19. #44

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Pittsburg, KS
    Posts
    1,053
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    maustin,

    Hotter than 6330-210?
    Any idea on what kind of temp range you are on?
    I carry infrared temp gun in my battery case to check the motor/ESC/Battery temp.


    Bill,

    that 134 degrees is the motor temp?
    Not sure if the CC ICE has any feature of checking motor temp. Only temp that I know CC ICE records is ESC temp.

    Ihncheol

  20. #45

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    173
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    I don't have a specific temp, just a finger touch test. It was pretty hot, enough that I could not keep my finger on but a split second. Course the temps here in the desert were >100 degrees so that had an effect on it for sure.

    maustin

  21. #46
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,069
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    The motor and battery are warm to the touch. I built in ducting into the plane based on the the first one I have with a pretty in it. Both system run efficiently with respect to temperature. I fly FAI, so I thing all things being equal between the two are good.

  22. #47

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Pittsburg, KS
    Posts
    1,053
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    Question to you guys.

    I got the A60-7S, World Model 83mm spinner, 20.5x14E. Tried put together all three. It looks like the shaft is about an 1/8" too long to use Hacker supplied double jam nuts.
    What prop adapters to you use?

    Ihncheol

  23. #48

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hoffman Estates, IL
    Posts
    2,063
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor



    Great thread we stock them now. I'll be putting one into an Episode soon. Mike

    http://www.f3aunlimited.com/webstore...roducts_id=629

    Mike Mueller
    F3AUnlimited.com and Gator-RC Products
    1800 591 2875
    mikemueller@F3AUnlimited.com
    Team JR America

  24. #49
    BHolsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    1,069
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Hacker A60-7S V2 28 Pole Motor

    I don't use the jam nut, haven't used the second jam nut for years except on my YS(s). It's not an issue,.just another place to save a tad bit of weight, always caution on the side of safety.

    bholsten

  25. #50

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Pittsburg, KS
    Posts
    1,053
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Can you guys tell me what degrees of timing is used on ESC?

    I took the 85HV out and installed Spin 99 (25 degrees as factory suggested). So far, if not careful, I am using nearly 85% of battery capacity. Falcon 21x14

    Any suggestions on timing? I am going to try APC 21x13, 20.5x14 this weekend.


Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.