Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

DW Foamies On Axis

Reply
Old 01-10-2013, 06:43 PM
  #1
Don McCullough
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default DW Foamies On Axis

I finally finished my On Axis. This is a relatively new pattern foamie from DW Foamies. The build was pretty straight forward with few surprises atypical builder's kit. The hardware and parts well made with ball-links and no “Z” bends.

First flights were the recommended 2814-1400KV motor with an APC 11x5.5e prop. This turned out to be a mistake. This prop is beyond the capability of the motor taking 53 amps for a motor expecting no more than 40. I could not finish the masters pattern, getting only about four to four and one-half minutes on a 2700 battery. Vertical was not that remarkable especially over 500 amps on a 24-ounce airplane. This plane really can't take more nose weight so a replacement motor would have to be the same weight as the recommended one. I wound up replacing it with an Electrifly Rimfire .15. This is exactly the same weight, but with a lower 1200KV and more amp capability. Running the same prop, amps went from 53 down to 37 and RPM reduced slightly from 9900 to 9700. In the air, performance was very close. With a 12x6 prop, the load was a respectable 43 Amps, and performance was way up. This gave me about a six to seven minute flight, enough to do the masters routine (barely).

Now that I have a few flights on the bird I really like the On Axis. It requires little mixing. All of the new masters pattern are easily done with this plane. Spins take a bit more up than we are used to with the built-up airplanes, but are reasonable with consistent exits. Snaps are predictable and crisp very unusual for a light foamy.

Other modifications:

- Balanced about one inch forward of the recommended CG now about the center of the aileron servos.
- Slightly larger wheels used 2" to handle my flying field.

My setup is:

Radio: Spektrum 18, AR600C DSMX receiver
Servos: Futaba S3156 digitals
ESC: Castle Ice Lite 50
Battery: Thunder Power G6 Pro Lite 3S 2700
Motor: Electrifly Rimfire .15
Prop: APC 12x6e
This is one of the few small airplanes capable of flying our maneuvers well – now there is no excuse to get the after work practice in.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Om32344.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	84.0 KB
ID:	1839059  
Don McCullough is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 07:33 PM
  #2
Jetstream
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

I was hoping someone would review this plane. Thank you for taking the time to write about it! I think I just may put my order in soon
Jetstream is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:16 PM
  #3
patternflyer1
 
patternflyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 2,074
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

A few guys out here got them at the beginning of last season. Look like they fly good. Even in a decent breeze.
patternflyer1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 08:35 AM
  #4
JSchoolcraft
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

I am really liking my On Axis. Been making adjustments and modifications recommended by Tony, and it's getting better and better. I just need to change the power on mine, and get longer flights. I am really enjoying the process of trimming this plane out and have learned a ton so far!!
JSchoolcraft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 08:40 AM
  #5
JSchoolcraft
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Hoping the photo upload for my On Axis worked right this time.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37974.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	54.1 KB
ID:	1839226   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk30432.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	1839227   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jo30030.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	64.0 KB
ID:	1839228   Click image for larger version

Name:	Le93462.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	1839229  
JSchoolcraft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 11:16 AM
  #6
patternflyer1
 
patternflyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 2,074
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Where are ya jamie. We are at the booth at the ama show.. Come on down
patternflyer1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:18 AM
  #7
JSchoolcraft
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Don,

How many flights do you have on the RimFire motor now, and how are you liking it?

Jamie
JSchoolcraft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:33 PM
  #8
Don McCullough
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Jamie,

I have only about 10 fights on the Rimfire.15. Another one is in a 3D plane with about 50 flights on it. I like the motors a lot. It is a bit louder than a E-Flite Power 10 but seems to have similar power and is lighter. Definately a much more appropriate motor than the one DW recommends.

Don
Don McCullough is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:04 PM
  #9
dksnyder
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: s. windsor, CT
Posts: 74
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

I'm just a rookie, interested in Pattern......
Can someone explain the purpose of the thick T.E. on the rudder of modern Pattern planes?
Does this help limit speed on downlines?
Does it make the rudder more "effective"??

I have a (old) degree in Aereodynamics, but I can't figure it out....

Thanks
dksnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:10 PM
  #10
woodie
 
woodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Don, what was the original motor in your On Axis? I have inherited one of the On Axis prototypes and it has a Cheetah 2814-06 in it, seems to run fine on 11x5.5 APC eprop. Good vertical, 35A, motor warm on landing.

Woodie
woodie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:04 AM
  #11
Don McCullough
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Woodie,

Originally I used that same motor. Two other local pattern guys reported similar power/amp readings to mine. I used the default settings (except fixed end-points)with myCC Ice Lite 50. Interesting we got vastly different results.

After putting in another 20 or so flights I really like this plane. Really crisp snaps handles the new Masters pattern pretty well even in moderate winds.

Don
Don McCullough is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:02 AM
  #12
woodie
 
woodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Thanks Don

I will double check my readings....

I am using a Plush controller, fixed endpoints, default outrunner settings, 30C 2200 mah packs.

Woodie
woodie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:05 PM
  #13
SanJoseDale
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Don and Don, as one of the other On Axis guys referred to...

Something is wrong here. I gave Don A my old On Axis with that motor, and it seemed to perform fine. Jon Carter and I got new motors from Aeromicro, supposedly that same motor, but they do not work at all on our new planes. Ibelieve the motors we got are mismarked or they changed significantly, and Don M. has the same issue.

Dale
SanJoseDale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:23 PM
  #14
Doug Cronkhite
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,487
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Get yourself a Watt-Meter and find out for yourselves what's up.
Doug Cronkhite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:31 PM
  #15
woodie
 
woodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

OK, I was a little off... but not much. Readings from my Watts-Up meter, on a near full charge pack, 2200mah 30C battery full throttle was 9700 rpm at 38-39A with APC 11x5.5. I hardly go to full throttle on this plane, will climb well vertically at about 80% power

Woodie
woodie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:42 PM
  #16
Don McCullough
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Woodie,

I wonder if your motor is a mis-labled 2814-8 (1100KV). That is more in line with it's specifications. The 2814-6 is spec'd out at 40 amps with a 9x5 prop. The -8 is 35 amps with an 11-8.

Don
Don McCullough is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:09 PM
  #17
woodie
 
woodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Don, I think you are probably right. I looked at the specs of the motors and the -08 specs are much more in line with what I am seeing during testing. Lower kV, bigger prop, lower amps, etc. And using those specs of 1100kV x 11V x .8 yields 9680 rpm which is about what I got. The .8 factor is a general rule of thumb about what you will get in loaded rpm vs unloaded. Rough but gets you in the ballpark.

I also checked the bell on the motor and it is clearly marked as a Cheetah 2814-06. Manufacturing error? Grabbed the wrong box of bells when assembling the motors, they could use the same bell/magnet setup and the windings are different. The -08 would have more turns in the winding.

Woodie
woodie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 12:36 PM
  #18
SanJoseDale
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Got the newest version on the On-Axis in the air this weekend. I used the 2814-1400kv motor. First flight was with a 12x6 prop. but that was pulling 60A at full, so I changed to an 11x5.5. Power was adequate, but flight time was too short, couldn't get through a masters sequence, using a 2250 mAh pack. Also, with this motor and battery combo, I was a bit tail heavy, so my plan is to put an eFlight Power 10 (450W) and go to a bigger battery, something like 3200 mAh.Should give me more nose weight and increase flight times.


This new design is much improved. Main differencesare taller vertical fin, redesigned rudder, moved stab location and stiffer tail section. The H/W package is quite impressive, with ball links for all 4 surfaces. Also changed is the rudder, pull pull is gone, which was problematic.

Dale
>>

SanJoseDale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 03:31 PM
  #19
JSchoolcraft
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 121
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Dale, talk to Tony about his power setup. I'm using the stock motor and running a 12x6 prop and one of the Dinogy lipo 2600packs. Better runtime but my plane is a little heavy due to crashes and mods. I think Tony is running 3300's in his.
JSchoolcraft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 04:06 PM
  #20
MarkF
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Hi everybody. Mark from dinogylipos.com For you guys flying this plane I got some 3s 2600s ($42.) and 3s 2850s ($46.) 65c packs in. There not on my site yet at but you can email me what you want through here.

Mark
MarkF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 09:08 PM
  #21
n233w
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Richmond, CA
Posts: 162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Just finishing my On Axis - latest version - getting ready to fly it. Where are you all putting the CG?

Bill Polits

n233w is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 10:16 AM
  #22
Surefire
 
Surefire's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Bill - Dale and I have the latest version also. We both run the Dinogy 2850 pack as far forward as it will go. Not sure where that puts the CG exactly but it feels right in the air.

Thanks,
Surefire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 11:52 AM
  #23
SanJoseDale
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Bill, what motor/prop did you use? How did it go?

Dale
SanJoseDale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 02:38 PM
  #24
kingconsulting
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: , CA
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

I think I got mine from you Dale. It's the older one. I ended up putting an Eflite power 10, Castle ice lite50 ESC, HS-65 servos, Dinogy 2850 lipos and a 12 x 6 prop. Lipo is as forward as it will go.

It flies great with this setup. Was going to use a lighter motor but ended up getting that one. People at the field are amazed how well it flies especially in the wind. Flow it quite a few times already.

One of the aileron ez connectors came out last flight but I managed to land it without any problems. Forgot to glue the nut on.

Robert

http://www.flickr.com/photos/schmittysbbq/8807329266/
kingconsulting is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 07:35 PM
  #25
n233w
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Richmond, CA
Posts: 162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DW Foamies On Axis

Dale - I haven't flown it yet but motor is Hacker A30 12M v2 and prop is 11 x 5.5, battery TP2700. I hope to have it out tomorrow AM for the first time, will let you know how it goes.

Bill

Quote:
ORIGINAL: SanJoseDale

Bill, what motor/prop did you use? How did it go?

Dale
n233w is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:21 PM.