Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Field Charging

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2013, 04:33 AM
david hancock

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Field Charging

Good day all. I am new to pattern and electric set-ups. I have the chance to pick up a Honda 1000 W portable generator and I was wondering if this is the correct size for charging my 5 cell packs at the field, or do I require the next size up which is the 2000 W version.

Dave
Old 04-05-2013, 04:53 AM
rgreen24
My Feedback: (6)

Default RE: Field Charging

Hey Dave the 1000 will work just fine. I have friends using it and they love it. The 2000 is a little heavier, and obviously,twice as powerful. You can run two chargers off the 1000 at 1c without any trouble. Good luck
Old 04-05-2013, 04:54 AM
danamania

ORIGINAL: david hancock

Good day all. I am new to pattern and electric set-ups. I have the chance to pick up a Honda 1000 W portable generator and I was wondering if this is the correct size for charging my 5 cell packs at the field, or do I require the next size up which is the 2000 W version.

Dave
welcome Dave. I have both and use the 1000W at contests where there is no AC. My two 2000 W Hondas stay home where their main purpose is bridging power outages. You will likely get a few points of view on how much charger, generator and power supply (hint) wattage needed, or desired, and so I would suggest thinking through also what other uses you have for the generator. 1000 is a bit small when the lights go out!
Old 04-05-2013, 05:37 AM
smcharg
My Feedback: (1)

Received 124 Likes on 83 Posts