Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

BJ Craft Agenda CD

Reply

Old 11-17-2015, 02:21 AM
  #1  
pippy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Galway, IRELAND
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default BJ Craft Agenda CD

Hi all, has anyone set up and flown the new Agenda CD yet. If so what set up have you used? Is recommended CG ok? Where is battery tray located? Post some photos please.
I will be starting my set up in early December.
pippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 04:18 AM
  #2  
ram_z
 
ram_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ness-Ziona, ISRAEL
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Paul,

According to Ken Moss in the UK the recomanded CG is to back, he took it about 2 cm forward for better control.
I am curntly assmbling my Agenda and will go with 171sv all the way. drive setup I want to install is V4, I hope it will soon be produce

Here are some pic's of what I did so far. (not too much)

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20151117041139 (1).jpg
Views:	872
Size:	106.2 KB
ID:	2131020   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151117041139.jpg
Views:	706
Size:	104.0 KB
ID:	2131021   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151117041140.jpg
Views:	678
Size:	80.1 KB
ID:	2131022   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151117041141 (1).jpg
Views:	707
Size:	72.9 KB
ID:	2131023   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151117041141.jpg
Views:	706
Size:	86.6 KB
ID:	2131024  
ram_z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 07:05 AM
  #3  
pippy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Galway, IRELAND
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Ram. I see you have a removable rudder? I think you might get a V4 in January maybe! I will stick to the V3 for a while. I've a firewall/ motor mount the same as for the Inspire on the way to me.
Did you weigh all the parts before you started the build?

Last edited by pippy; 11-17-2015 at 08:49 AM.
pippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 11:50 PM
  #4  
ram_z
 
ram_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ness-Ziona, ISRAEL
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi paul,


As I live in Israel and fly often to world cup events in Europe, I need to have a transporting model box.
A removable rudder saves about 15cm from the box length and help me go easy in to hotels lift's.
The total length of my box is about 190cm. Attached is some photos of the box. (the best I could find this morning)


I have no rush flying the Agenda so I can wait to the V4,
There are some more interesting drives like the one from Ralpf Schweizer, Adverum...
If the V4 will be delaying maybe will go with one of the others.


I am not familiar with your firewall on the inspire. a photo will be great.


As I have never had weight problems with BJcraft models I stoped weighing them before assembling.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	10356339_10152454740582974_2786744705272877599_n.jpg
Views:	595
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	2131172   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9612.JPG
Views:	659
Size:	1.22 MB
ID:	2131173  
ram_z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 02:24 AM
  #5  
pippy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Galway, IRELAND
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Very neat packing. I used to travel with a plane box also but I had 2m one.
The motor mount/ firewall has rubber grommets which give the soft effect. I think it works very well and was so easy to install.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.png
Views:	613
Size:	975.6 KB
ID:	2131176  
pippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 10:51 PM
  #6  
ram_z
 
ram_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ness-Ziona, ISRAEL
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The mount looks very clean as well, I wish I knew it 3 years ago!

Meanwhile I made some progress in my Agenda.

Usually I likes to use few drops of CA to fix the servo mounts in place and then make nice clean 3M 460 Epoxy on it.
I use the same Epoxy to glue the control horn


Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20151117041141 (2).jpg
Views:	595
Size:	61.4 KB
ID:	2132844   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151117_152605.jpg
Views:	608
Size:	4.21 MB
ID:	2132845   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151117_154253.jpg
Views:	589
Size:	4.41 MB
ID:	2132846   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151117_162040.jpg
Views:	612
Size:	3.44 MB
ID:	2132847   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151121_170931.jpg
Views:	649
Size:	4.36 MB
ID:	2132848   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151121_171102.jpg
Views:	551
Size:	4.97 MB
ID:	2132849   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151122_073606.jpg
Views:	555
Size:	4.91 MB
ID:	2132850   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151121_172117.jpg
Views:	540
Size:	3.14 MB
ID:	2132851  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20151121_173931.jpg
Views:	543
Size:	4.92 MB
ID:	2132852   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151121_181700.jpg
Views:	501
Size:	4.89 MB
ID:	2132853  

Last edited by ram_z; 11-27-2015 at 11:06 PM.
ram_z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2015, 12:40 AM
  #7  
ram_z
 
ram_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ness-Ziona, ISRAEL
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

As someone said before in a different thread, the hole for the main elevator sleeve needs to be sanded due to the paint that goes in.
Before glueing the sleeve in place it is a must to check that it is in the correct position.


Then, after ensuring that the sleeve is in the correct positioning, it's time to glue it in place. I glued a temporary 2 pc' of 6mm Balsa wood spacers on each stabilizer half.
those spacers will ensure that the sleeve will be glued in the correct positionn without glueing the satbilizers...


I am also using 3M 460 Epoxy here.
As always I use a tape to keep the area clean.



Later after the glue has cured, I found out that the two halves of the stabilizer are not parallel. There was about 1 degree difference between the both halves.

so I have to make an unexpected "surgery" to correct this glitch.
After consulting with B.J. I started the so called "surgery".
It was much easier than I could imagine, about 15 minutes and I then I waited to the glue to cure.

The process was simple. Around the front sleeve of the Left stabilizer, I drilled 1mm holes through the two first ribs to disconnect the sleeve from the ribs. then I could have a play to correct the angle.
I insert a small wood rod (about 1.5 mm thick) between the sleeve and the ribs. assemble it on fuselage and checked with incidence meter. it was perfect! I disassemble the left stabilizer and glue the sleeve in the new position using Epoxy.
also use the mixed glue to glue the control horn.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20151122_184938.jpg
Views:	554
Size:	4.09 MB
ID:	2132854   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151122_183115.jpg
Views:	561
Size:	5.00 MB
ID:	2132855   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151122_183212.jpg
Views:	521
Size:	3.76 MB
ID:	2132856   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151122_184651.jpg
Views:	481
Size:	3.81 MB
ID:	2132857   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151122_184658.jpg
Views:	456
Size:	4.32 MB
ID:	2132858   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151126_065903.jpg
Views:	464
Size:	4.39 MB
ID:	2132864   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151127_134816.jpg
Views:	451
Size:	3.96 MB
ID:	2132865   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151127_135051.jpg
Views:	463
Size:	4.38 MB
ID:	2132866  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20151127_140936.jpg
Views:	437
Size:	4.48 MB
ID:	2132867   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151127_141028.jpg
Views:	420
Size:	4.06 MB
ID:	2132868   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151127_141719.jpg
Views:	407
Size:	4.24 MB
ID:	2132869   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151126_065737.jpg
Views:	477
Size:	1.52 MB
ID:	2132870  

Last edited by ram_z; 11-28-2015 at 12:49 AM.
ram_z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2015, 04:36 AM
  #8  
pippy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Galway, IRELAND
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Ram, easy method for adjusting the tail alignment. Will you install the wing adjusters at the build stage or will you wait until you fly. Maybe the factory setting for the wing angle might be perfect!
pippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2015, 05:01 AM
  #9  
ram_z
 
ram_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ness-Ziona, ISRAEL
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Paul,


I will first compare the incidence of the wing / stabilizer / motor of the Agenda with the old and trusty Episodes.
I like to adjust my models to have perfect up/down lines with no mix's. so I kinda hope that a copy of the Episode will be a good starting point.


At my Episode I ended up with about +3 degrees from elevator. but that was fix stabilizer. I do have some time to evaluate this step. I promise to update this thread.


Ram
ram_z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 05:37 AM
  #10  
pippy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Galway, IRELAND
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Ram, when you re at the stage of set up the CG will you do this with canopy on or off. I presume the wings will be on.
pippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 06:25 AM
  #11  
ram_z
 
ram_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ness-Ziona, ISRAEL
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Normaly I set the starting point of the CG without the canopy, the final CG will anyhow be determined in flight.

meanwhile, I had some time to proceed with the assmbling which goes very easy.
with the next pic's I will show how I finished the assmbling of the stabilizer.
The stabilizer halves are connecting with two carbon tubes. The tubes are glued to a sleeve on the left half, and 2 screws are bolted on the right half.


next pics show the tubes being glued with 3m Epoxy.
it is very important to keep the rod clean from glue as it might cause problems when slid it thru the main sleeve on the fuselage.





Next pics, connection of the two halves together.
On the bottom part of the right stabilizer there are two factory pre marked dots which shown the location for the screws. all I have to do is slide the two stabilizer parts on the fuselage, hold it tight, and drill one hole for each tube exactly on the factory pre marked dots. Then, screw the two long bolt in place. I personally like to pour few drops of thin CA into the carbon/wood thread to make it a bit more robust.




setup the servo and pushrod. very neat with the supplied jig.


Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20151129_080740.jpg
Views:	428
Size:	184.2 KB
ID:	2133749   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151129_080851.jpg
Views:	403
Size:	155.6 KB
ID:	2133750   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151128_171431.jpg
Views:	407
Size:	153.7 KB
ID:	2133751   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151128_172248.jpg
Views:	388
Size:	157.0 KB
ID:	2133752   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151128_174636.jpg
Views:	410
Size:	162.4 KB
ID:	2133753   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151128_142901.jpg
Views:	379
Size:	160.1 KB
ID:	2133754   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151128_143641.jpg
Views:	403
Size:	150.6 KB
ID:	2133755   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151128_143645.jpg
Views:	374
Size:	149.6 KB
ID:	2133756  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20151128_143647.jpg
Views:	380
Size:	140.5 KB
ID:	2133757  
ram_z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 06:51 AM
  #12  
pippy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Galway, IRELAND
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The canopy is quite light as it doesn't have the canaliser attached. It won't affect the CG much anyway. Looking good on your build. I will be starting mine next week.
pippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 08:10 AM
  #13  
ram_z
 
ram_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ness-Ziona, ISRAEL
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The canopy is 89g only. Good luck at your assmbling!
ram_z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 08:13 AM
  #14  
Bubblehead575
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Mine was shipped yesterday, I am planning on starting the build also next week. I am planning on putting a V4 drive in it and don't expect that until Jan,
Bubblehead575 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 08:49 AM
  #15  
HerbK
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 49
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have been flying the Inspire with the Agenda wings as that is one of the primary differences between the two planes. I bought an Inspire from F3A that had been damaged in shipping and needed new wings. BJ suggested trying the Agenda wing and he would cover it like the Inspire. If you lay the two wing panels on top of each other the Agenda wing has pretty much the same lines and airfoil but each panel is approximately 1 CM shorter. In the air this means that snaps are a little tighter and spin entries and exits are cleaner. The Inspire wing had a tendency to tip stall or drop a wing making the spin entries a little more difficult to control in all conditions. So far the Agenda wing doesn't seem to do that. The Inspire would carry a little momentum on exit while the Agenda wing helps the plane stop upon release of controls. Haven't noticed much downside. Probably means next plane is the whole Agenda.
Herb
HerbK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 09:01 AM
  #16  
ram_z
 
ram_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ness-Ziona, ISRAEL
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi herb,
Thanks for the info, I will search for this expiriance as soon as I will put this beauty in the air.


Short question about the Inspire elevator installation: did you use spacers between the elevators to the fuselage?

Thanks!

Rm
ram_z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 09:19 AM
  #17  
pippy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Galway, IRELAND
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Herb, that sounds like the Agenda is going to be a great model.
pippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 09:37 AM
  #18  
HerbK
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 49
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I use a thin nylon washer as a spacer between the fuse and each elevator half.
HerbK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 08:26 AM
  #19  
rgreen24
My Feedback: (6)
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,095
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Does the Agenda, have the 2 degrees down like the Inspire, or was it changed to .5 degree, like most are running the contra.

thanks,
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 11:32 AM
  #20  
pippy
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Galway, IRELAND
Posts: 221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I believe the down thrust angle is 1.
pippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 02:19 PM
  #21  
rgreen24
My Feedback: (6)
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,095
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Paul
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 06:54 PM
  #22  
rgreen24
My Feedback: (6)
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,095
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default



Hey Ram, what size linkages are you using on the ailerons?
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 12:18 AM
  #23  
ram_z
 
ram_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ness-Ziona, ISRAEL
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by rgreen24 View Post


Hey Ram, what size linkages are you using on the ailerons?

I am using a Secraft turnbuckle 90mm with hobbyking joints
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idproduct=8265.
http://www.espritmodel.com/pushrod-t...raft-m3-2.aspx
ram_z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 05:21 AM
  #24  
rgreen24
My Feedback: (6)
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,095
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the reply. Hope your build is still going well
rgreen24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 06:48 AM
  #25  
ram_z
 
ram_z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ness-Ziona, ISRAEL
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by rgreen24 View Post
Thanks for the reply. Hope your build is still going well
it is getting slower...
wating for the motor and CD to arrive...
well, It is now depanding on how fast the V4 be released.

Last edited by ram_z; 12-13-2015 at 06:52 AM.
ram_z is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service