Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Black Magic VF3 E build thread!

Reply

Old 02-27-2012, 09:01 AM
  #176  
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,230
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Black Magic VF3 E build thread!

That will work,..thanks for the info.


bholsten
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 05:48 PM
  #177  
petec
My Feedback: (58)
 
petec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Beaver Falls, PA
Posts: 2,075
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Black Magic VF3 E build thread!

My second VF3 that started life a glow is now open from the firewall to the turtledeck and sporting my conversion canopy. This one is at 130 grams in primer while the first was at 112 grams in primer. I made a better frame under it than the first which i think is the reason for the heavier weight since the bare canopy was lighter out of the mold than the first.
petec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:58 AM
  #178  
mikaelmiki
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sevierville, TN
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Black Magic VF3 E build thread!

i have the glow version i will be converting to electric, does anyone know what the CG and the wing/stab incidenses are, it will be greatly appreciated
mikaelmiki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 12:30 PM
  #179  
AmericanSpectre505
 
AmericanSpectre505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,230
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Black Magic VF3 E build thread!

I balanced mine wright on the tube and I thing the incidence on the stab for the Anhederal was .25 negative and .50 positive on the wings. I'd have to check it if you interested. I think on the one VF3 with the stock stabs it's at zero,..again I'd have to check.

I will be selling both my VF3's dirt cheap, only because I am trying to fund another project, if your interested send me a PM.

Bill
AmericanSpectre505 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 02:15 PM
  #180  
rcpattern
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,861
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Black Magic VF3 E build thread!

On the prototype V3 and the one that I flew for year, the CG was 1/4" in front of the wing tube, 0 on the stab, with or without anhedral, and .7 positive on the wing. Plane flew awesome there, with several thousand flights.

Arch
rcpattern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:39 PM
  #181  
69 roadrunner
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mt shasta, CA
Posts: 411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

is there any way to get plans for this plane THANKS STEVE
69 roadrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 11:13 AM
  #182  
awat65
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 219
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

does anybody know how the stabs stay in place?. Are they just held on by the stab adjusters?.
awat65 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 11:36 AM
  #183  
Jason Arnold
 
Jason Arnold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,332
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by awat65 View Post
does anybody know how the stabs stay in place?. Are they just held on by the stab adjusters?.
Put some hard balsa into the ends of your stab tube and then drill a hole for a screw from the underside of the stab through the socket and tube. Then fit a screw. I normally use an M4 nylon screw for this purpose to keep weight down. A bit of CA on the balsa after the threads have been put in it helps too.

Cheers,
Jason.
Jason Arnold is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 09:38 AM
  #184  
rcpattern
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,861
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Exactly as Jason described. That is the method we used on the V3 series planes.

Arch
rcpattern is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy