Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Sebart Wind 110

Reply
Old 08-22-2011, 07:34 AM
  #1601
claudio_3d
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: guadalajarazapopan, MEXICO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

Yes, is nice to see american magazines making reports of european planes (all made in china) but they took a while to publish it since the release of the wind back in 2009. We hope a wind 110 S with the line of the 50e!!!!!!.

I haven´t decided if I will go with another wind 110 or wait until christmas to get an oxai axiome 110 EP.

cheers,

Claude
claudio_3d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 08:31 AM
  #1602
hezik
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: VleutenUtrecht, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 613
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

You can't really compare those, the WindS 110 cost around 400 dollar, the axiome about 1200 dollar.

And I don't believe the axiome flies that much better, if it flies better at all.

If you have 1200 dollar to spend at christmas, order a white/red 2m WindS Pro. Will fly better than both the WindS 110 and the Axiome 110.
hezik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 06:21 AM
  #1603
claudio_3d
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: guadalajarazapopan, MEXICO
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

Hezik thanks for the tip. but for a 2M I would have to buy all the equipment. Motor, ESC, and 5s lipos. Here is a nice pic of a comp. wind pro.

Claude

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Us53679.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	69.3 KB
ID:	1652574  
claudio_3d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 07:52 PM
  #1604
beijinger
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: beijing, CHINA
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

axiome 110 costs 1200 dollar? in china it about 900 dollar.
beijinger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 01:25 PM
  #1605
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

I have to say, this plane flies better with a bigger prop! I started w/ 17x12 on Scorpion 250kV, then switched to 18x10 and was happier. Moved into Scorpion 210 and 18x12, and today a 19x12 and happier still! Air speed a little slow with this setup, hoping to have the Neu ready and installed next week. Few hundred more rpm might be good, but if I can handle a 19x14 I think I will have the setup I've been wanting all along.

Haven't practiced since the last contest and I was really flying a LOT better today with the bigger prop. Much more deliberate lines, good braking, great throttle response. Really felt the effect of throttle management coming out of looping maneuvers - or all through looping maneuvers.
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 10:18 AM
  #1606
Velco
 
Velco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Belgrade, SERBIA, YUGOSLAVIA
Posts: 274
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

Finally had a chance to fly Wind today. But first a CG had to be measured again because new servos in the tail are lighter (9650s) and the motor is slightly heavier, so some 60g of lead was necessary in the back to get the CG at the back of the tube. The model ready to fly is now 4450g with 1000mAh 2S receiver battery which is completely unnecessary so I will shave another 50g there.

Today I tried the 17x10 just to be able to compare it to the previos motor. And it was 47A and 8100 rpm. With Scoprpion it was 54A and 8280 rpm. After landing the temperature of the motor was at 50C which is OK considering that ambient temp was today 36C! I did not feel any difference in power just that AXIis much more smoother. My timer was set at 10 min and I still have to recharge the batteries, but my guess is that no more than 3500mAh will go back in after reading the individual cell voltages.

With this completely new setup I am more than satisfied, just have to get used to the plane again. Like this Wind 110 is the perfect F3A trainer and much more than that!

Next time I am putting an 18x10.




Velco
Velco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 04:56 AM
  #1607
Velco
 
Velco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Belgrade, SERBIA, YUGOSLAVIA
Posts: 274
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110



Finally a cheap and good motor for 10S setup:



http://www.hobbyking.com/UNITEDHOBBIES/store/__18178__Turnigy_Aerodrive_SK3_6354_245kv_Brushles s_Outrunner_Motor.html



It is exactly the same size as my AXI and my guess us that HK got it right this time from the point of view of reliability.  With 18x10 I can confirm that you do not need an ESC with an F3A brake so TURNIGY Sentilon100A will also do fine and for mere 140$ its really amazing what you get.



With Wind 110 on discount it is really a winner combination for this money, just do not spare any money for the servos, they can really make a difference!



Velco

Velco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 05:26 AM
  #1608
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

Finally getting the chance to work on the inrunner install. Have the front mount now bolted to airframe, motor bolted to mount. Used some thick rubber washers to isolate mount from airframe and fuel tubing to isolate the rear portion (still hear some gear 'growl' which I understand is pretty normal).

There are aluminum spacers, some plastic washers, and the rubber isolators and fuel tubing which you do not see here.

Last thing to do is properly position the rear part of the mount. Looks like I will use the existing rear mount locations, so I'll trim the rest of the rear mount and screw in.

There are no changes to the airframe - no cutting, except for 4 additional bolt holes in the firewall. I have kept the option to reinstall the Scorpion (and the Hacker A50-14L I just got for my Yak in case I decide to sell the plane when I'm ready for 2M.

Install took some careful measuring to get the spacing right, but looks OK for now. Spinner backplate is a nice tight distance from the nose of the plane. Difficult to get the precision needed for mounting the Neu, and probably will need some slight adjustment during the off-season.

More pics to come.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt58730.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	1664242   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr53975.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	131.6 KB
ID:	1664243  
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 05:33 AM
  #1609
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

I would be weary of HK motors. I followed that link then searched for a lower kV - think 230kV and 19x12 would be ultimate, but found several complaints of magnets coming loose and motors locking up.

http://www.hobbyking.com/UNITEDHOBBI...0Kv_3150W.html
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 05:49 AM
  #1610
Velco
 
Velco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Belgrade, SERBIA, YUGOSLAVIA
Posts: 274
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110



Joe, the Turnigy you are mentioning would not fit in, its too long. The problem with magnets was related to earlier versions of SK motors, the one you are mentioning. The motor suggested by me is the brand new SK3 series and I do believe that HK got it right this time, they have probably learned something form their past mistakes.



Really looking forward hearing your flight report with a Neu.



Velco

Velco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 06:03 AM
  #1611
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Velco



Joe, the Turnigy you are mentioning would not fit in, its too long. The problem with magnets was related to earlier versions of SK motors, the one you are mentioning. The motor suggested by me is the brand new SK3 series and I do believe that HK got it right this time, they have probably learned something form their past mistakes.
Gotcha. Hope they get it right, would be nice to know they have some reliable big motors for other projects. Lately I've been noticing some of the differences between the 'sport' and 'competition' brand motors - hardware, feel ("tightness" of magnets, for one), etc.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Velco

Really looking forward hearing your flight report with a Neu.
You got it. I'm looking forward to your flight reports as well. Keep an eye on your currant usage. Mine has been so low (3000mah max) that I'm considering 4500 or 4000mah packs for future, if the Neu works out and stays in that range. The plane has no problem flying with the extra weight, but I only like the idea of running heavy packs if I'm actually using them for what they are worth.
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 07:02 PM
  #1612
g_mkoch
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 313
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

Does anyone know if someone has the red scheme in stock?
g_mkoch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 03:14 AM
  #1613
kris1
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Totnes, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 311
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

I have been running this one:

http://www.hobbyking.com/UNITEDHOBBI...idproduct=5204

on 10S and 16 x 12 XOAR. Approx 2.2KW.. I have had no problem with the motor, but do check that the fire wall and box sectioned formers have glue on them....

Cheers

Kris
kris1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 05:12 AM
  #1614
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110


Quote:
ORIGINAL: g_mkoch

Does anyone know if someone has the red scheme in stock?
Places I checked were out - just wanted to throw in that I think it's worth the wait, I have a hard enough time seeing the red one in anything but perfect skies.

I took all the blue stripes off the red plane and it helps with visibility, a little.
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 06:15 AM
  #1615
Chris Moon
 
Chris Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 1,366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

The red ones were discontinued a while ago (maybe last spring). Nobody knew ahead of time it was happening.
Chris Moon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 06:36 PM
  #1616
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

Powered up the Neu for the first time inside. Initial thoughts:

holy crap.

Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 08:44 AM
  #1617
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

65A 2200W to the motor, 19x12e APC. Don't think I even hit full throttle, backs of my legs started to hurt.

Also used old epoxy for rear mount, that failed, so need to re-glue.
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:29 AM
  #1618
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

Comparison: Neu 1512/3.5D w 6.7HD gear box to Scorpion 4035-210
Both with 19x12e APC prop.
*Note Neu test is with used/uncharged battery
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37838.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	61.8 KB
ID:	1665105   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx76483.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	86.2 KB
ID:	1665106  
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:32 PM
  #1619
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

9lb 10oz flying weight, or 4380g, with 10s 5000mah packs. Feels a little heavy in the hand, we'll see how it flies on Friday.

Next year I'm going for 4000mah packs to save a little weight; haven't really touched the 5000 packs in the air.
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:55 PM
  #1620
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

2600W 71A on full charge.

Cooling in this plane sucks, especially with the inrunner mount suggested by Sebart - uses a flat plate and totally blocks cooling passage. Motor is getting pretty warm back there, going to work on better cooling solution, maybe just another set of standoffs.
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 09:23 AM
  #1621
Velco
 
Velco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Belgrade, SERBIA, YUGOSLAVIA
Posts: 274
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110



I have started charging my batteries for the upcoming weekend and I have to say that I am very surprised, after 10 minutes of flying mainly some basic maneuvers but with lots of verticals I have put back in only 2500mAh. The packs I am using are Rhinos 4900 20C into their second season.



This weekend an TLE 18x10 is going to be tested, will report back.



Velco

Velco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 09:31 AM
  #1622
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

Telco I don't think I've ever used 3000mah on 18" prop or smaller, that was one of the reasons I went for higher voltage. Think I used 3000 with 19x12.

It's nice
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 06:45 PM
  #1623
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

So installed some stand-offs for the rear mount, no more cooling issues. Motor has a lot more power than the Scorpion, definitely no need for full throttle. Pulling 3000mah with some better throttle management, but even then I still flew too fast.

Noticeable improvement, everyone seems to be commenting on the power. Definitely a winning combination (had my best scores ever to prove it!

Will try to remember to clear the data log and post a contest flight tomorrow.

Also watched some more planes on the stock Hacker, definitely no issues with power, that plane looks very light.
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 01:36 PM
  #1624
Velco
 
Velco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Belgrade, SERBIA, YUGOSLAVIA
Posts: 274
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110



Just very brief. i did fly over the last weekend with an 18x10 and I have to say it was impressive, feels very different from 17x10 and much more in control. The temps were absolutely OK at the end of the flight so 2 thumbs up for this combo.



Unfortunately on one of the landings I hit one of the airfiled markers so now have some damage on the landing gear, but it will be soon back up in the air.



Velco

Velco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 08:21 PM
  #1625
rix
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sebart Wind 110

I have my wind 110 (red scheme) up for sale minus the receiver and ESC if anyone is interested.

Included:
Hacker A50 16L V1
Futaba 9551 x2 Ailerons
Futaba 9650 x2 Elevators
Futaba 451bls on rudder

PowerBox 12 dual regulator
Power Unlimited Arming Plug
Thunder Power 350mAh x4 receiver lipos for Powerbox

Zippy 5000mAh 20c, 4s x8 (4 sets) 4mm bullet connectors.

If interested give me a call and I will get photos and more detailed info to you. I have around 240 flights on it over the summer.
704-743-3227
Rick Sweeney
rix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:09 PM.