Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 66 of 75 FirstFirst ... 16566465666768 ... LastLast
Results 1,626 to 1,650 of 1858

  1. #1626
    Velco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Belgrade, SERBIA, YUGOSLAVIA
    Posts
    271
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110



    One more interesting motor that would fit in without any modifications I guess:



    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=18126



    Velco


  2. #1627

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MurrumbeenaVictoria, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    27
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Has anyone tried mounting the new Hacker A50-16L V2 into a Wind 110s?

    I have just received a V2 motor today for my Wind 110 and the v2 no longer has a shaft out the back for the original support bearing as did the A50-16L v1 motor.

    Anyone with a Wind 110s should also ensure that there is adequate glue around the engine mounts, mine was a little lacking in this area.

    Easily fixed with some hysol fillets where it was needed.

    regds,

    Dale

  3. #1628
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,843
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Many of us have mounted large outrunners without using the rear support, and not had any issues.

    While mounts are made for front/rear support, the motors do not require front and rear support. Many of these Hackers are firewall mounted with nothing but the prop at the other end. I just got the A50-14L for my Yak - supported at the front by 1.5" standoffs and the X-mount rear support.

    People have talked about the A50-16L running hot on 18x12. I would try it with the new V2 motors; if it's still hot, try adding some more cooling (open up the passages).

    It seems like the majority of issues with Hacker motors this size are in the Wind, and I personally believe the issue lies in either the rear support or inadequate cooling, or both. The rest of the hobby world pushes these motors beyond the tech specs and enjoys it.

    I'll try my A50 in the Wind next summer for fun, should be a ton of power with the 18x10 (I got the 300kV motor).
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  4. #1629

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Near Hamburg, GERMANY
    Posts
    13
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110


    ORIGINAL: nichda
    I have just received a V2 motor today for my Wind 110 and the v2 no longer has a shaft out the back for the original support bearing as did the A50-16L v1 motor.
    Hi Dale,

    Mathias has mounted the new one, look here (Pictures from Post # 13):
    http://www.rc-network.de/forum/showt...0-16L-V2-an-8S

    Its in german, but the pictures will show you.




  5. #1630

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MurrumbeenaVictoria, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    27
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Guys,

    thanks for your comments and the link to the install pics, most helpful.

    I have decided to go with a direct firewall mount from the front as the motor is designed to be mounted this way.
    I will post a few pics in the coming days.

    thanks,

    Dale

  6. #1631

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Near Hamburg, GERMANY
    Posts
    13
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110


    ORIGINAL: Velco
    I will continue with my explanations because some extra job was also required on the prop adapter as I could not use the one Axi originally supplied. I wil explain exactly what had to be done once I am back.
    Hi Velco,

    I´m very interessted....

    Hans


  7. #1632

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Totnes, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    311
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    ORIGINAL: nichda

    Has anyone tried mounting the new Hacker A50-16L V2 into a Wind 110s?

    I have just received a V2 motor today for my Wind 110 and the v2 no longer has a shaft out the back for the original support bearing as did the A50-16L v1 motor.

    Anyone with a Wind 110s should also ensure that there is adequate glue around the engine mounts, mine was a little lacking in this area.

    Easily fixed with some hysol fillets where it was needed.

    regds,

    Dale

    I would second the glue thing. I have a replacement via Area 51/Sebart so thanks for that. But the new ones firewall is dry of glue...

    Lost the motor etc but the wind worked very well as a glider with 10oz off the nose...

    Cheers

    Kris
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jh15974.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	78.9 KB 
ID:	1679254   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Gc91171.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	66.2 KB 
ID:	1679255   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ty65576.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	74.1 KB 
ID:	1679256  

  8. #1633
    Velco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Belgrade, SERBIA, YUGOSLAVIA
    Posts
    271
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110


    ORIGINAL: Hans S


    ORIGINAL: Velco
    I will continue with my explanations because some extra job was also required on the prop adapter as I could not use the one Axi originally supplied. I wil explain exactly what had to be done once I am back.
    Hi Velco,

    I´m very interessted....

    Hans

    Hi Hans, sorry for not posting before. Actually I have used this prop adapter

    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9988

    but still had to modify it a bit. I had to shorten the base for couple of mm as otherwise the gap between the spinner and the fuse would have been too big. It was done on a metal lathe.

    In theory also the Axi adapter could be used if some kind of a distancing ring for the prop is first put on the adapter shaft and the adapter pulled out a bit. That should not be a problem as the motor shaft would still go deep enough into the adapter to give precise turning.

    Once the season is over I will take down the motor to inspect the firewall again, just in case. On that occasion I can make the comparison photo of the modified against the unmodified adapter if necessary.

    Velco

  9. #1634

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Near Hamburg, GERMANY
    Posts
    13
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110


    ORIGINAL: Velco
    Once the season is over I will take down the motor to inspect the firewall again, just in case. On that occasion I can make the comparison photo of the modified against the unmodified adapter if necessary.
    ...wonderful, thanks Velco


  10. #1635
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,843
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Finally got data logged and saved from first contest with Neu 15x12. Around 7600rpm max and over 3000W; clearly more power than the Scorpion, and under $300.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ec88799.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	86.0 KB 
ID:	1680400  
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  11. #1636
    InboundLZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    1,938
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Guys, some help here please....

    I bent my prop adapter as a result of a snap and the firewall letting go. For the life of me I cannot remember where I got the adapter. Did it come with kit? I have the Hacker A50-16L motor and the prop adapter is the collet type. Any help on where to get one would be great. Sorry if this is a stupid question, I am a jet guy and I have the winds as a relax and fly Airplane so I am not up on the latest and greatest electric stuff.

    Thanks for your help!
    Dave Bottita
    evoJet Factory Pilot
    Smart-Fly

  12. #1637
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,843
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Hi Dave,
    The Hacker comes with 2 prop adapters - one collet type and one grub screw type. They are quite nice parts, actually.

    Looks like Aero-model has the replacement:
    http://aero-model.com/Hacker-Brushle...p-Adapter.aspx
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  13. #1638
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,843
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    More flights with the Neu, 19x12 prop. This time had the throttle curve much steeper, and thus used a lot less throttle; having the power immediately eliminates the need to reach for full power. Thus, regular day of flying and pulling just over 2000W, leaving plenty in reserve.

    Batteries are at 3.82v per cell, haven't charged to look at usage, but looks like a drop to 4000 or 4500mah packs would not be an issue.

    There is so much power I'm thinking of scaling back to the 18x12 for experiment, maybe will really justify lighter packs, smaller gear, etc.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wu59560.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	90.0 KB 
ID:	1681736  
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  14. #1639
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,843
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    More flying with the Neu. Great day of practice; started with 19x12 then switched to 18x12 just to see. Used about 2200mah with the 18x12, plenty of power. The 19x12 just gives more authority, better throttle response, and better braking. Either option is a winner. Thus, one can use one of these motors and a set of 3300mah 10S packs for plenty of power and 7-8min of pattern flying.

    I like the 19x12. Was debating going with the 18x12 and the smaller gear, much smaller batteries, lighter prop, etc. But, think a carbon prop and 4000mah packs will be substantial enough weight savings to keep the 19x12. The plane handles weight OK; I think it looks a little 'floaty' on the 8S setup. Can see the extra weight when flying very slow but that's probably too slow for a contest anyway. Downlines are fine with braking and the 19x12, or with the 18x12.

    So, flying with the 19x12 and proper throttle curve is pulling 2000W in the air, up to 6600rpm, maybe peaking at around 60A but really flying less than that. GOBS of power in reserve; easy to find acceleration in up lines or into stiff winds.

    VERY happy with this motor.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  15. #1640

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Perth, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    1,869
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Just a quicke for you guys out there today.

    We've had discussions about the rear engine brace on the hacker motors, some like it with, some like it without.

    I had problems with mine constantly coming undone and when it came time to send my recalled ESC back to castle, I removed the rear brace, and threw it away.

    Oh how stupid I was.


    When I finally got my ESC back I went back to practice, and within 3 flights I heard a big BRAWWWWWW noise at full throttle and touched down quickly. it appears the motor developed bit of a speed wobble or prop flutter or something but damn near tore the front off.

    I then set about making a carbon replacement, but in the process added servo grommets to the corners, and everything is back to normal. If you're running a hacker, there's a reason it has that brace in the kit!
    Go knife edge your cub!

  16. #1641

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Clermont, FL
    Posts
    69
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Just finished mine.

    SETUP:
    Motor: Scorpion 4035 250KV
    Prop: APC 20x12WE (Switching to 20.5x14.5 Falcon as soon as it arrives in the mail)
    ESC: CC ICE 100
    Servos: AIL+RUDD=Spektrum 6040/ ELEV= FUT S9551
    REG.: Duralite 7.5amp to 6V
    Custom 12mm Sheeted SFG's: 2x the area and weigh a combined total of 1.3oz's. .1 oz off of the stock ply included SFG's
    REC. Power: 450 2 cell
    Flight packs: 8S 4000mah 40C
    REC.: AR7000
    AUW: 8lbs 10oz.
    Getting 2600 watts at WOT pulling 80 amps at 4500 ALT. Hoping the 20.5x14.5 Falcon will put me in the 90-95amp range at around 2800watts.

    Awaiting cold front to move through for maiden.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Pn36943.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	108.3 KB 
ID:	1691544   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Hc91573.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	115.2 KB 
ID:	1691545   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ty65237.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	101.0 KB 
ID:	1691546   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vo37004.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	67.1 KB 
ID:	1691547  

  17. #1642

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Clermont, FL
    Posts
    69
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    MORE PICS...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Kh17442.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	55.5 KB 
ID:	1691548   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rn39525.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	114.8 KB 
ID:	1691549   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jo30015.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	124.8 KB 
ID:	1691550   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Uo34906.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	110.2 KB 
ID:	1691551  

  18. #1643
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,843
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Keep an eye on that Scorpion with such high current draw.

    If you can find it, the carbon gear for the NEAero Aquila will fit the plane and your prop.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  19. #1644
    Velco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Belgrade, SERBIA, YUGOSLAVIA
    Posts
    271
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110



    That Scorpion will not last long at those power levels. Mine died at mere 2kW.



    And for the correct airflow, ratio between in and out holes should be at least1:3 !



    Velco


  20. #1645
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,843
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110


    ORIGINAL: Rendegade

    Just a quicke for you guys out there today.

    We've had discussions about the rear engine brace on the hacker motors, some like it with, some like it without.

    I had problems with mine constantly coming undone and when it came time to send my recalled ESC back to castle, I removed the rear brace, and threw it away.

    Oh how stupid I was.


    When I finally got my ESC back I went back to practice, and within 3 flights I heard a big BRAWWWWWW noise at full throttle and touched down quickly. it appears the motor developed bit of a speed wobble or prop flutter or something but damn near tore the front off.

    I then set about making a carbon replacement, but in the process added servo grommets to the corners, and everything is back to normal. If you're running a hacker, there's a reason it has that brace in the kit!
    I'm going to try the serve grommets, just lost my rear mounting screws in flight no damage, thank goodness getting kind of windy anyway, probably a blessing in disguise.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  21. #1646

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Clermont, FL
    Posts
    69
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    ORIGINAL: Velco



    That Scorpion will not last long at those power levels. Mine died at mere 2kW.



    And for the correct airflow, ratio between in and out holes should be at least1:3 !



    Velco

    Its rated for 85amps and i run scorpions in just about everything. Ive always pushed them an easy 20% past specs with proper cooling/High temp ceramic boca bearings and solid mounting. I also opened up the exit cooling holes on the bottom to where now its atleast 50% bigger.

    In my opinion I have good clearance with a 20-20.5 prop. Just about an inch of clearence/plenty to me.

  22. #1647
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,843
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    We hope it works, don't take it the wrong way, just a lot of failed 4035 motors in this plane.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  23. #1648

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Clermont, FL
    Posts
    69
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    And no im not taking anything seriously i really do appreaciate constructive ctiticism. But im done with NEU's for now, i have flown alot in the past and just didnt really like the amount of maintenance required and the amount of time i had to wait everytime i sent it in to have the gears either replaced or the motor just blew up or the stator just let loose. I love NEU dont get me wrong theres no motor out there that can match there power output and effeciency. I just wanted a simple outrunner to eleminate finicky problems.

  24. #1649

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Perth, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    1,869
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    So far 9 flights since the re-install and no issues.

    Go knife edge your cub!

  25. #1650

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Clermont, FL
    Posts
    69
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Having some fun with my new Wind 110.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJg_7...el_video_title


Page 66 of 75 FirstFirst ... 16566465666768 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.