Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 72 of 75 FirstFirst ... 22627071727374 ... LastLast
Results 1,776 to 1,800 of 1858

  1. #1776
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,943
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    I would go over the plane, check connections and wires, and do a good range check. It was probably something like that frayed wire. Futaba can fix the rx if necessary, but a frayed aileron wire sounds suspicious.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  2. #1777
    Bill Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Apopka, FL
    Posts
    141
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Lab, probably woudnt hurt to reseat all the connectors and inspect them

  3. #1778

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    sterling heights, MI
    Posts
    383
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Must of just read your minds. I replaced all extensions and went over all connectors. I reaseated all connections on the rx and used a little shoe goo to keep em in place. Something I do with my helis....they vibrate a lot. Gonna try again tonight. Just realized as well Ihave the 18x10 prop on my hacker. Isee you guys trying the 18x12. Is this ok on the hacker Ihave with 8S set up? what does the 18x12 do for me? HAcker A50 16L

    APC or Xoar?


  4. #1779

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Perth, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    1,873
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    I quite like the 18x10 prop on mine.

    A50-16L on 85 pulls about 75A max power with an APC 18x10E (v1)
    Go knife edge your cub!

  5. #1780

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Perth, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    1,873
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    I probably should have (or shoudn't) have mentioned this before, but I had something equally fun happen to me with one of the orange RX ( channel) spektrum rx's.

    Fly along with my little sunday hack, rolling, showing one of the interested guys about getting the timing right for the rudder and elevator stick inputs, when it suddenly starts to roll the OTHER WAY and goes through about 4 rolls before it decides it's my turn again.

    I landed and promptly threw the receiver in the bin.
    Go knife edge your cub!

  6. #1781
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,943
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    APC is really the best bang for the buck. They are great performing props and are at a good price point. I just started playing with some Xoar props; they are nice, but my first feeling is that the APC gives a little more thrust and feels like it has a little more 'bite'. I only got the Xoar because they have an 18x13 and I needed a higher pitch prop for a motor with a low kV.

    Props are most efficient at low RPM, and the benefit of (outrunner) electric motors is torque/throttle response, so the most efficient setup is a larger, higher pitched prop.

    3D guys like big, flat pitched props for instantaneous throttle response, for pulling out of hovers or better control in high alpha maneuvers. There is some benefit to that but the extra RPM uses up a lot of energy. I feel a bit of that with the 14L and 18x10, which is why I want to try the 18x12 and see how it feels at lower RPM.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  7. #1782
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,943
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    I also learned from my low kV motor what it's like to be limited by prop selection - the 210kV motor on the Wind (10S) was really slow with 18x12 and 19x12, and there are no 14pitch props in this size range. The motor was pulling like 50A, so it was a waste of available power and weight. The Neu is geared to 220kV, but is also really efficient. HUGE difference in performance. The 8S Hacker setup feels the best.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  8. #1783

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Rognan, NORWAY
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110



    New Wind soon ready for maiden:

    Motor: Hacker C50-14 XL
    ESC: Jeti Masterspin PRO99 OPTO
    Servo Ailron, Rudder: Futaba BLS 451
    Servo Elevator: Futaba S9650



    Rudder and receiver plate. Have to secure the cables.



    Battery packs. Custom made carbon plates. Got 6 packs Turnigy nano-tech for training and 2 packs with Hyperion for competition. Receiver battery is Hacker top fuel.




    Hacker C50-14 with custom made motor mount, made a better mounting for the esc also.



    Canopy lock from Espirit Model. A lot of job but well worth the time and money.


  9. #1784
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,943
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    I haven't had any luck with wood screws securing the rear mount. Had issues with the stock rear mount, and issues with a custom rear mount on my Neu motor.

    I'm working on re-installing the Neu, still scratching my head on what to do with the rear mount.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  10. #1785

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Posts
    150
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Do they vibrate loose Joe or just hard to tighten, or.....?

  11. #1786

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Posts
    150
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    I'm using the stock rear mount on the stock Hacker....I used those little allen head servo screws (1/2") with the built in washer from Don's Hobby Shop. Right before the screw head is seated, with a little thread still showing, I put a very small drop of canopy glue on them and then tightened them. Kind of like thread lock for wood I guess. You can still get them out if needed though. Plus being allen head you can use a ball end driver to negotiate the angle, etc.....

    Seems to hold just fine.....

    Bob

  12. #1787
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,943
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Thanks Bob.
    They vibrate loose. Found some missing when I had the stock mount, and heard a change in my motor during a humpty when my custom mount came loose.

    I'll try the canopy glue - that would let me use another custom mount I have for the rear and would look really nice
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  13. #1788

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Posts
    150
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Good luck Joe. Hope it works out for ya.

    Are you near Lunken Field at all? I fly our guys in there 2 or 3 times a year...........

  14. #1789
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,943
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Right in the landing pattern, maybe 2-3miles away. Gear is usually down by the time the get over my house.

    I love that place. There's a little Cherokee there that seems to need a new home
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  15. #1790

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Posts
    150
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Next time I'm there I'll give ya a shout and we'll grab a burger or something........

  16. #1791
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,943
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Sounds great! People around here talk about the diner that's in the main building, but I'm sure I can think of other places for a good burger
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  17. #1792

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    RR1 Trenton, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    26
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Good day, I am putting in a Scorpion 4035-250 in my 110. I have been reading pages and pages and I am confused about a rear support that is mentioned. I was going to just mount the motor to the firewall and hook up the ESC. What is this rear support people mention. There is nothing in the Scorpion box that looks like a rear support for the motor. Do I require a rear support? Appreciate any help. Thanks.

  18. #1793
    Velco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Belgrade, SERBIA, YUGOSLAVIA
    Posts
    273
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110



    I had a Scorpion 4035-250 in my plane on 10S and 17x10 TLE prop and it did not last very long, magnets unglued. After that I have put AXI 5220 249kV and currently I am spinning an 18x10 TLE but I think it can take an 18x12 XOAR.



    Rear support or norear support that motor is a crap.






    Velco


  19. #1794
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,943
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Scorpion has redesigned the motors since our magnet problems.
    The rear support comes with the airplane. It is a plywood frame with a bearing which holds the rear portion of the motor shaft. I would make a new support from a strip of carbon plate. It only needs 2 screws.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  20. #1795

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    RR1 Trenton, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    26
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Thanks Joe. So you would run it with the support? And yes the motors have been redesigned.

  21. #1796

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Try a 50/65/270 Turnigy
    Im turning a 18/12 or 19/12
    With fantastic results.
    About 2300 watts @ 70amp on 8s
    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?

  22. #1797
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,943
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    I did not use the rear support with an outrunner, after the support was damaged in flight.
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  23. #1798

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    RR1 Trenton, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    26
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Flyer 88, are you running the rear support in your set-up?

  24. #1799

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Carefree, AZ
    Posts
    75
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110

    Hey Guys,

    I have moved up to a 2 meter plane so im not going to build my wind 110,red version. It is new in the box and was only taken out to inspect. Also have the recomended hacker motor also NIB that could go with it. Thought I would check here first before I post it for sale in the classifieds.


    Thanks,
    Mike

  25. #1800

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    oeding, GERMANY
    Posts
    13
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Sebart Wind 110


    ORIGINAL: Flyer88

    Try a 50/65/270 Turnigy
    Im turning a 18/12 or 19/12
    With fantastic results.
    About 2300 watts @ 70amp on 8s
    HELLO flyer88

    Ar you using the SK serie or the NTM Propdrive from Turnigy ?

    Gr Frank



Page 72 of 75 FirstFirst ... 22627071727374 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.