Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast
Results 226 to 250 of 255

  1. #226

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    I know the motor is predrilled for their Rimfire 32 which compared to some Turnigys' is kind of expensive. And there's not much room for other motors to fit without the spinner sitting away from the cowl.

    But it is a good motor. No problems so far...and lots of power.

    I was hoping to run a Turnigy 42/50/700kv or 650kv cause I have a few kicking around. They are bulletproof motors , great success with those also.

    Ive been pulling 1500 watts on 5s out of one of the 700kv motors with no problems and well over 150 flights on my Extra300.
    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?

  2. #227

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Thanks !!

    Easy peasy !! Silver Met Spray bomb
    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?

  3. #228

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    mt shasta, CA
    Posts
    405
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Iam telling you guys I put a efligh 46 with 5cell had to red rill but it fit and the cowl clears you cant beat the price or the power pulls strait up unlimited power. Now if I could just fly a decent pattern I fuss I will just have to keep trying. On a diff note anyone know anything about the great planes 6.5 flight simulator. I have the g4.5 and expansion pack 5 and 6 the 6.5 just came out looks good but dont know. steve

  4. #229

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Palmdale, CA
    Posts
    110
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Yeah, I just ended up buying the Rimfire .32. Here are some photos of the canopy screw I made. Kind of overkill, but wanted to make it easy to install and remove for my son without tools:


  5. #230

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Palmdale, CA
    Posts
    110
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    I apologize for the HUGE photos.  First time using my iPad and Photobucket to post photos.

  6. #231

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Why so big ???
    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?

  7. #232

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Palmdale, CA
    Posts
    110
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Made it that size so it's easy on the fingers when screwing it in and out.  I'm gonna make a smaller one, just haven't had the time the last few days.  It's a dubro 10-32 wing bolt, and wooden pre-threaded block underneath.  I used epoxy putty around the head to make it like a thumb screw and got carried away.....LOL

  8. #233

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    MT SHASTA, CA
    Posts
    362
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    69Roadrunner,
    The key to flying a good pattern is lots of practice!!! Oh yea, it helps if your retired and can spend 10-20 hours a week practicing LOL!!
    By the way, love the field you guys fly at.. Nice long runway. Wish I could be a member there....

  9. #234

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    mt shasta, CA
    Posts
    405
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    You where at on time but you stood us up when you ran of with that woman. Iam telling you there nothing but trouble you will see

  10. #235

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Victoria, MN
    Posts
    3,875
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Does the canopy have double magnets?? Or 1-magnet attaching to a washer?
    If you place one magnet on each side, and or use larger ones....There is not way that canopy will come off...

    If you can\'\'\'\'t dazzle em with brilliance,baffle em with BS

  11. #236

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Disagree.

    Have had many canopies come off with the use of magnets including a cowl. I always set a screw in the canopy now or put a canopy latch.
    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?

  12. #237

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    163
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    The magnets will hold until the first time you fail to lock in the canopy to the fusealage. Happened twice to me probably through distraction. I now use a screw at the top rear of the canopy. Also I use a bit of tape on either side of the cowl down low.
    I'm on my 3rd Sequence. First one lost to an inverted low pass. Learned that down is up when coming out of it over a corn field. Almost cleared it though for an inversed loop. Second one spiralled into the top of a 60 foot tree, never did establish what failed. Chainsawed the tree into 5 peices as it kept hanging up on adjacent trees in a thickly treed forest.

  13. #238

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Miami Beach, FL
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Flew my Sequence for the first time yesterday. My first pattern airplane. Winds were a direct crosswind at 10 to 15mph
    Need some help.
    The plane felw nose heavy within the recommended cg envelope. Had to place the battery as far back on the tray as possible and then added a little weight at he tail. It flew better. However, when I powered back slightly, the nose still dropped more than what i think it should have.Inverted need lots of up elevator.

    This is my first pattern plane. I,ve been flying a .60 size revolver with a DLE 20. It no bad habits.

    Any help on those is appreciated.

  14. #239

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    I believe this plane has an incidence problem which causes it to pitch with the nosedown.
    I checked the incidences and came up with some really weird numbers.
    I believe a set of incidence adjusters on the main wing would really help.

    For what it's worth I just posted a link on incidence adjusters from Hobby King
    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?

  15. #240

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Miami Beach, FL
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A


    ORIGINAL: Flyer88

    I believe this plane has an incidence problem which causes it to pitch with the nosedown.
    I checked the incidences and came up with some really weird numbers.
    I believe a set of incidence adjusters on the main wing would really help.

    For what it's worth I just posted a link on incidence adjusters from Hobby King
    Thanks. I'll give them. Look

  16. #241

    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    586
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A



    I have a question for those Sequence owners who are using the Rimfire 32 motor. I flew my Sequence for the first time yesterday and this is my first experience with the Rimfire motor. There is a high pitch whine apart from the prop noise. I’ve used the same APC 12x8 prop on my Vanquish and it’s not this noisy. I almost suspect there may be a bearing problem. Have others experience this?



    Allan


  17. #242

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    mt shasta, CA
    Posts
    405
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    I have used several rimfire motors they are alittle noisey. I have also had a few just lock up on first flight not my motor of chose. Good luck Steve

  18. #243

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    163
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A


    ORIGINAL: 69 roadrunner

    I have used several rimfire motors they are alittle noisey. I have also had a few just lock up on first flight not my motor of chose. Good luck Steve
    Not my choice either, worse is the Silver 7 ESC which comes with the Sequence if ordered RTF. Arming the ESC is rather scary for some as you have your TX at full throttle in doing so. Many forget how to arm them thinking something is wrong and then need help.

  19. #244

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Miami Beach, FL
    Posts
    124
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    My rimfire seems to sound normal. Plenty of power for this plane.

  20. #245

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Palmdale, CA
    Posts
    110
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Well Flyer88 you seem to be spot on with the incidence problem.  I think I'm gonna be ordering some of those adjusters today!!

  21. #246

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Yes I thought the numbers were way out. What numbers did you get ??
    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?

  22. #247
    Bob Pastorello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    El Reno, OK
    Posts
    6,577
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A


    ORIGINAL: JSchoolcraft

    WellFlyer88you seem to be spot on with the incidence problem. I think I'm gonna be ordering some of those adjusters today!!
    Couple things - 1) Link for the adjusters? 2) How do you handle incidence change on the wing with the inset fuse recess for the root rib?
    "I learned long ago, never to
    wrestle with a pig
    . You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw

  23. #248
    Bob Pastorello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    El Reno, OK
    Posts
    6,577
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A


    ORIGINAL: AWorrest



    I have a question for those Sequence owners who are using the Rimfire 32 motor. I flew my Sequence for the first time yesterday and this is my first experience with the Rimfire motor. There is a high pitch whine apart from the prop noise. I’ve used the same APC 12x8 prop on my Vanquish and it’s not this noisy. I almost suspect there may be a bearing problem. Have others experience this?



    Allan

    Allan - I use that Rimfire, been on three planes (two crashes), no noises and plenty of poop on a good 4S. I did find running a 13.5 x 6 is a really good prop, doesn't go too fast, pulls on dead corners pretty well - but at wide open it is very close to max amps on the RImfire, so I upped the ESC to a 80 A, just to be sure it wouldn't ever cook. Max I ever measure with a fresh charge is about 65A, so I wanted some overhead capacity in the ESC.

    I also am using a pretty rapid spool up throttle curve, so the low end has some guts to it...
    "I learned long ago, never to
    wrestle with a pig
    . You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw

  24. #249

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    This plane requires some carving out .....setting the incidence ....then gluing in a ply doughnut.

    But then again, if you have the patience to get it done....adjusters can be done !
    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?

  25. #250

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Canopy set screw



    Rib removed for battery access and set screws for cowl.

    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?


Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:35 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.