Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
Results 176 to 200 of 255

  1. #176

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    North Aurora, IL
    Posts
    890
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Yes I do Abbyd. Seriously, with the warped flight control surfaces, I doubt it would be much more than a sport flyer (heavily trimmed at that). They did; however, send me a prepaid shipping label. Like I said, the service thus far speaks volumes in my view with regard to customer service. As it was a closeout at the LHS, if not for Archies suggestion I would have bit the bullet on this one.

    Mark

  2. #177

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    212
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Do you guys think a Thunder power 2250mah 4 cell battery will fly the complete intermediate sequence?

  3. #178

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    anyone who has used the eflite power 32 on this bird could you please tell me just how you did the motor mount please?


  4. #179

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    mt shasta, CA
    Posts
    405

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    I had one of these last spring with a efligh 46 flew great lots of power and flew very well until I dumb thumb it. Well tower has them on sell for $159.00 today so had to get a new one still have all old elec. so just had to get plane. That was the easy part just need wife to agree that I needed it. steve P.S If she kills me she will sell cheap

  5. #180

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    mt shasta, CA
    Posts
    405

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Looks like this forum is dead

  6. #181

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    MT SHASTA, CA
    Posts
    362
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    No not dead... I just know that your supposed to be working on your IMAC Extra 260!!!!!!! You know the green & black one....



    Mike

  7. #182

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    mt shasta, CA
    Posts
    405

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    I sold it

  8. #183
    smchale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malvern, PA
    Posts
    2,467

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Can anyone share the dia in mm and length of the wing tube/rod for this model?
    Thanks!
    Sean McHale - Malvern, PA
    "Strive for simplicity. You never have to repair what you leave out." - Bill Lear
    Kingtech Turbines - www.kingtechturbines.com

  9. #184

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    mt shasta, CA
    Posts
    405

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    I can measure tonight if you still need it

  10. #185
    smchale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malvern, PA
    Posts
    2,467

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Great, thanks!
    Sean McHale - Malvern, PA
    "Strive for simplicity. You never have to repair what you leave out." - Bill Lear
    Kingtech Turbines - www.kingtechturbines.com

  11. #186

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    If anyone is still checking the thread, Ive run some numbers on incidence and they seem very strange.

    The wing with refence to the canopy line is .3 and the stab is 1.5

    That would explain all the up trim. And why I couldn't get this thing to fly without lots of inputs.

    I shelved it and flew my Helios, but now want my daughter to fly it .

    My VAnquish is .6 wing and zero stab with reference to the canopy line.

    Whats up with those numbers ??????????????????
    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?

  12. #187
    smchale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malvern, PA
    Posts
    2,467

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    ...I'm still hoping to find out the exact dia and length in mm of the wing tube. Any help?
    Sean McHale - Malvern, PA
    "Strive for simplicity. You never have to repair what you leave out." - Bill Lear
    Kingtech Turbines - www.kingtechturbines.com

  13. #188

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    wing tube
    1/2 inch dia
    20 inches long
    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?

  14. #189
    smchale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Malvern, PA
    Posts
    2,467

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Thanks, I was hoping it was 14mm. Oh well.
    Sean McHale - Malvern, PA
    "Strive for simplicity. You never have to repair what you leave out." - Bill Lear
    Kingtech Turbines - www.kingtechturbines.com

  15. #190

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    CALGARY, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    238
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Just finished the Sequence.

    Did dual elevator servos in the tail and pull pull for rudder.

    4s 3700mah pack turning a 14x8.5 90amps at about 1100 watts.

    Think i will tone it down to a 14x7



    Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over ?

  16. #191

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    walllingford, PA
    Posts
    181
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Anyone still buying and flying this plane? I want one if the covering quality is more consistent. One of the things I want to experiment with is the use of the Hobbico TS-110 micro digital servo. Seems too good to be true but I can't find anyone yet who has anything bad to say about them. Any opinions? Has anyone found the single elevator servo and stock elevator pushrod to be a real detriment? Is anyone actually using the recommended Futaba 3115 servos all around? I am curious how a non metal gear and non ball bearing supported servo would hold up over time.
    lucky macy

  17. #192
    Bob Pastorello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    El Reno, OK
    Posts
    6,626

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    I have been flying mine right up until the "hangar crash" where the Christmas tree stand w/integrated wooden base FELLONTOTHEWING/STAB....that...was the end of that.

    So. Ordered the replacement simply because this is WAY better than the 47"Vanquish I have, larger, slower, more visible, and really very good, even through Masters class stuff (and OLDFAI stuff - new stuff, don't know). Anyway - I enjoy it a lot, when it isn't too hot to fly it, and when I can see the thing (lens implants last month for cataracts - all better now).

    At any rate - flyer88 - I flew with stock incidences, whatever they were, and loved it. FLew pretty neutral, and no weird coupling unless I pushed the CG back too far. Used 4S 3000, Aeolian 42-50-800 with an APC13.6, peaked around 70 amps....but who would fly this at full bore, and why???

    Really like your dual elevator/turnbuckle setup. Could you list the parts so I could duplicate it?
    "I learned long ago, never to wrestle with a pig. You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw

  18. #193

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    I am finishing a new Sequence and generally happy with it. The only problem is the landing gear is warped. I'll purchase the carbon fiber gear. Only change is I located a digital servo in the tail instead of using the pull pull. Plane balances fine Using a 4 cell 4 thousand 30c.

  19. #194

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    walllingford, PA
    Posts
    181
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    I just finished mine up. 3lb 14oz. With the battery all the way forward, it comes out about a quarter inch behind the recommended CG. The CG is right under the wing tube. Is everyone still flying there at the recommended CG or if you ended up moving your CG one way or the other, which was it and about how much?


    ps, i didn't have any of the issues I'd read here and there in this forum. The covering was generall very good and tight. My canopy fits great and the locking tabs really do fit and work, my landing gear wasn't 'warped'. Overall, really really impressed so far.
    lucky macy

  20. #195

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Mine flew right on the posted cg, but might be better moved aft just a smidge. Will try.

    Let me ask a stupid question. Do you experience better turns using aileron and rudder???? I do, or is it just me?

  21. #196

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Lehi, UT
    Posts
    1,691
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    Things went pretty quite on this plane, I just ordered one so I guess I'll bring this thread back from the dead. Typically as soon as I buy an arf it gets taken off the market so this might be sign for all you who want one. I'm completely fed up with glow so this should give me a no hassle plane I'm guaranteed to be able to fly on the weekend. Dropping glow kind of means no more mid sized planes so I guess I will have this little guy and then my next investment will be in DLE35 RA gasser in either scale or pattern aerobatics.

  22. #197

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    348
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    If your not already aware of the growing interest in Pattern in the SLC region and would like some contact information; Please PM me.

  23. #198

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Lehi, UT
    Posts
    1,691
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A


    ORIGINAL: astropuppy

    If your not already aware of the growing interest in Pattern in the SLC region and would like some contact information; Please PM me.
    Unless there are classes like with pylon I think the entry price is a little high for me. I've heard that some of the setups are like $8,000.

  24. #199

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    348
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

    We have people flying Sportsmen and Intermediate with Sequences and 47" Osiris' ... $8k would buy 2 or 3 2M ships. There will be a contest in Boise next June with lots of sportsmen pilots from SLC in attendance.

  25. #200
    rcpattern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Great Mills, MD
    Posts
    2,827
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A


    ORIGINAL: jeffk464


    ORIGINAL: astropuppy

    If your not already aware of the growing interest in Pattern in the SLC region and would like some contact information; Please PM me.
    Unless there are classes like with pylon I think the entry price is a little high for me. I've heard that some of the setups are like $8,000.
    Yes, there are setups that come close to that, but certainly not required. A good .40 size sport plane will get you started. You can get a competitive setup with several options available for very reasonable costs. Look at the Extreme Flight Vanquish build thread I started, as well as the BJ Craft Monolog. Both are ARFS and can be put together well under 1500 with good equipment. Pattern is just like everything else. You can spend more if you like, but it doesn't mean it is a better setup, especially starting out. There are several smaller options also available with the Osiris from 3DHS, the Wind series from Seba, and the various size Monologs available from F3A Unlimited. All of these can be put together for the price of a high end sport plane and they are certainly competitive as entry level ships.

    There are several guys in the SLC area, including one of the best in the world in Andrew Jesky, who is one of, if the most helpful people you will ever meet. He is working on the final design of the Osiris 2m which will without a doubt be a winner when available.

    Arch
    Team Futaba, Aero-Model / Hacker, Tech Aero Designs, F3A Unlimited, Team BJ Craft, Thunder Power RC, Castle Creations


Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.