Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Great Planes Sequence F3A

Reply
Old 11-19-2010, 09:14 PM
  #176
hook57
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Aurora, IL
Posts: 945
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

Yes I do Abbyd. Seriously, with the warped flight control surfaces, I doubt it would be much more than a sport flyer (heavily trimmed at that). They did; however, send me a prepaid shipping label. Like I said, the service thus far speaks volumes in my view with regard to customer service. As it was a closeout at the LHS, if not for Archies suggestion I would have bit the bullet on this one.

Mark
hook57 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 03:03 PM
  #177
awat65
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 216
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

Do you guys think a Thunder power 2250mah 4 cell battery will fly the complete intermediate sequence?
awat65 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 07:15 AM
  #178
Sniperone
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

anyone who has used the eflite power 32 on this bird could you please tell me just how you did the motor mount please?

Sniperone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 12:23 PM
  #179
69 roadrunner
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mt shasta, CA
Posts: 411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

I had one of these last spring with a efligh 46 flew great lots of power and flew very well until I dumb thumb it. Well tower has them on sell for $159.00 today so had to get a new one still have all old elec. so just had to get plane. That was the easy part just need wife to agree that I needed it. steve P.S If she kills me she will sell cheap
69 roadrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 06:43 AM
  #180
69 roadrunner
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mt shasta, CA
Posts: 411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

Looks like this forum is dead
69 roadrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 02:01 PM
  #181
picard1
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MT SHASTA, CA
Posts: 368
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

No not dead... I just know that your supposed to be working on your IMAC Extra 260!!!!!!! You know the green & black one....



Mike
picard1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 04:29 PM
  #182
69 roadrunner
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mt shasta, CA
Posts: 411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

I sold it
69 roadrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 06:56 AM
  #183
smchale
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,715
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

Can anyone share the dia in mm and length of the wing tube/rod for this model?
Thanks!
smchale is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:42 AM
  #184
69 roadrunner
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mt shasta, CA
Posts: 411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

I can measure tonight if you still need it
69 roadrunner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:55 AM
  #185
smchale
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,715
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

Great, thanks!
smchale is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 05:46 PM
  #186
Flyer88
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CALGARY, AB, CANADA
Posts: 238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

If anyone is still checking the thread, Ive run some numbers on incidence and they seem very strange.

The wing with refence to the canopy line is .3 and the stab is 1.5

That would explain all the up trim. And why I couldn't get this thing to fly without lots of inputs.

I shelved it and flew my Helios, but now want my daughter to fly it .

My VAnquish is .6 wing and zero stab with reference to the canopy line.

Whats up with those numbers ??????????????????
Flyer88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 05:59 PM
  #187
smchale
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,715
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

...I'm still hoping to find out the exact dia and length in mm of the wing tube. Any help?
smchale is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 06:04 PM
  #188
Flyer88
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CALGARY, AB, CANADA
Posts: 238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

wing tube
1/2 inch dia
20 inches long
Flyer88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 06:24 PM
  #189
smchale
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,715
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

Thanks, I was hoping it was 14mm. Oh well.
smchale is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:31 PM
  #190
Flyer88
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CALGARY, AB, CANADA
Posts: 238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

Just finished the Sequence.

Did dual elevator servos in the tail and pull pull for rudder.

4s 3700mah pack turning a 14x8.5 90amps at about 1100 watts.

Think i will tone it down to a 14x7



Flyer88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 06:27 AM
  #191
luckymacy
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: walllingford, PA
Posts: 458
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

Anyone still buying and flying this plane? I want one if the covering quality is more consistent. One of the things I want to experiment with is the use of the Hobbico TS-110 micro digital servo. Seems too good to be true but I can't find anyone yet who has anything bad to say about them. Any opinions? Has anyone found the single elevator servo and stock elevator pushrod to be a real detriment? Is anyone actually using the recommended Futaba 3115 servos all around? I am curious how a non metal gear and non ball bearing supported servo would hold up over time.
luckymacy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 05:24 PM
  #192
Bob Pastorello
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

I have been flying mine right up until the "hangar crash" where the Christmas tree stand w/integrated wooden base FELLONTOTHEWING/STAB....that...was the end of that.

So. Ordered the replacement simply because this is WAY better than the 47"Vanquish I have, larger, slower, more visible, and really very good, even through Masters class stuff (and OLDFAI stuff - new stuff, don't know). Anyway - I enjoy it a lot, when it isn't too hot to fly it, and when I can see the thing (lens implants last month for cataracts - all better now).

At any rate - flyer88 - I flew with stock incidences, whatever they were, and loved it. FLew pretty neutral, and no weird coupling unless I pushed the CG back too far. Used 4S 3000, Aeolian 42-50-800 with an APC13.6, peaked around 70 amps....but who would fly this at full bore, and why???

Really like your dual elevator/turnbuckle setup. Could you list the parts so I could duplicate it?
Bob Pastorello is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:10 AM
  #193
RHH
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

I am finishing a new Sequence and generally happy with it. The only problem is the landing gear is warped. I'll purchase the carbon fiber gear. Only change is I located a digital servo in the tail instead of using the pull pull. Plane balances fine Using a 4 cell 4 thousand 30c.
RHH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 04:17 PM
  #194
luckymacy
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: walllingford, PA
Posts: 458
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

I just finished mine up. 3lb 14oz. With the battery all the way forward, it comes out about a quarter inch behind the recommended CG. The CG is right under the wing tube. Is everyone still flying there at the recommended CG or if you ended up moving your CG one way or the other, which was it and about how much?


ps, i didn't have any of the issues I'd read here and there in this forum. The covering was generall very good and tight. My canopy fits great and the locking tabs really do fit and work, my landing gear wasn't 'warped'. Overall, really really impressed so far.
luckymacy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 02:57 PM
  #195
RHH
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

Mine flew right on the posted cg, but might be better moved aft just a smidge. Will try.

Let me ask a stupid question. Do you experience better turns using aileron and rudder???? I do, or is it just me?
RHH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 01:35 PM
  #196
jeffk464
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lehi, UT
Posts: 1,692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

Things went pretty quite on this plane, I just ordered one so I guess I'll bring this thread back from the dead. Typically as soon as I buy an arf it gets taken off the market so this might be sign for all you who want one. I'm completely fed up with glow so this should give me a no hassle plane I'm guaranteed to be able to fly on the weekend. Dropping glow kind of means no more mid sized planes so I guess I will have this little guy and then my next investment will be in DLE35 RA gasser in either scale or pattern aerobatics.
jeffk464 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 03:24 PM
  #197
astropuppy
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

If your not already aware of the growing interest in Pattern in the SLC region and would like some contact information; Please PM me.
astropuppy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:57 PM
  #198
jeffk464
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lehi, UT
Posts: 1,692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A


Quote:
ORIGINAL: astropuppy

If your not already aware of the growing interest in Pattern in the SLC region and would like some contact information; Please PM me.
Unless there are classes like with pylon I think the entry price is a little high for me. I've heard that some of the setups are like $8,000.
jeffk464 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 06:23 AM
  #199
astropuppy
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A

We have people flying Sportsmen and Intermediate with Sequences and 47" Osiris' ... $8k would buy 2 or 3 2M ships. There will be a contest in Boise next June with lots of sportsmen pilots from SLC in attendance.
astropuppy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 07:04 AM
  #200
rcpattern
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,860
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Sequence F3A


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jeffk464


Quote:
ORIGINAL: astropuppy

If your not already aware of the growing interest in Pattern in the SLC region and would like some contact information; Please PM me.
Unless there are classes like with pylon I think the entry price is a little high for me. I've heard that some of the setups are like $8,000.
Yes, there are setups that come close to that, but certainly not required. A good .40 size sport plane will get you started. You can get a competitive setup with several options available for very reasonable costs. Look at the Extreme Flight Vanquish build thread I started, as well as the BJ Craft Monolog. Both are ARFS and can be put together well under 1500 with good equipment. Pattern is just like everything else. You can spend more if you like, but it doesn't mean it is a better setup, especially starting out. There are several smaller options also available with the Osiris from 3DHS, the Wind series from Seba, and the various size Monologs available from F3A Unlimited. All of these can be put together for the price of a high end sport plane and they are certainly competitive as entry level ships.

There are several guys in the SLC area, including one of the best in the world in Andrew Jesky, who is one of, if the most helpful people you will ever meet. He is working on the final design of the Osiris 2m which will without a doubt be a winner when available.

Arch
rcpattern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:00 AM.