Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Gaudius

Reply
Old 10-18-2010, 08:31 PM
  #26
cygnet
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary Alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

That's great news I just ordered one today looking forward to the build.
cygnet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 08:53 PM
  #27
can773
 
can773's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 2,282
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Thats great Dennis, I hope I can take a spin on it
can773 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 08:55 PM
  #28
cygnet
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary Alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Chad what mode do you fly? If mode 11 no problem
cygnet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 06:18 AM
  #29
HARRIS-G
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: THESALONIKI, GREECE
Posts: 115
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Thank you all for your replies.

This will be my first electric pattern model and i am thinking to power it with Hacker C50 14XL.
I wanted to know about the quality of the kit if someone find any issues on wing or stab alligment or what is the final weight with batteries and if requires too many mixes to fly KE.
All these quensions made because i am burned with the kit quality of the Carf Integral i fly now and so many hours i spent to fix the problems i find.

Harris


HARRIS-G is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 11:18 AM
  #30
wagen017
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Eindhoven, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 960
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Quote:
ORIGINAL: 4ptrol

If your CG is correct the airplane will trim completely neutral. I believe it presents well and can easily fly all classes. The 1st Gaudius was powered with a Plenty. The new one is powered by the Hacker Q-80. Both fly almost the same. I will say the front of the Gaudius is perfect for the Q-80. Very strong! You do not need to add the firewall if you use the Hacker. In either case you will be very satisfied with the power and by the way no cooling issues.

Larry
D2 VP
Quote:
ORIGINAL: byoung466


Also 7lb 14oz w/o flight batteries. Equipment is Jetti 99, Pletty, JR8611 Rudder, 8411SA Aileron, 3421sa Elevator, LiFe hobbyzone 850mah flight battery.
Quote:
ORIGINAL: HARRIS-G

This will be my first electric pattern model and i am thinking to power it with Hacker C50 14XL.
I wanted to know about the quality of the kit if someone find any issues on wing or stab alligment or what is the final weight with batteries and if requires too many mixes to fly KE.

Harris
I think Larry answered your questions. 7 lbs 14 oz = 3,58kg with above configuration.

I would go for a Q80 or a Pletty as power source.

Volkert
wagen017 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:58 AM
  #31
HARRIS-G
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: THESALONIKI, GREECE
Posts: 115
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Volkert

Yes all my quensions are answered (instead i have more)

My first thought was the Q80 but i will set it with heavy batteries (RHINO 4900)
and i don't think i could be in the weight limit with this setup, thats why i decide to go with C50.

Harris
HARRIS-G is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 07:28 AM
  #32
4ptrol
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 98
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

I agree with using a Q-80. You will save weight in the fact no firewall is needed. Remember this airplane is very light yet very strong. You may want to make your decision as to power after you have the kit.(By the way this airplane goes together very fast.) I picked mine up on a Monday and was trimming it on the next Sunday.

Larry
4ptrol is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 06:55 AM
  #33
Hans Meij
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Schoonhoven, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 658
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

As requested by Harris some pictures of interior:






Hans Meij is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 07:24 AM
  #34
HARRIS-G
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: THESALONIKI, GREECE
Posts: 115
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Thanks a lot Hans for the photos.
HARRIS-G is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 09:04 AM
  #35
Mike Wiz
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 941
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Nice looking radio install you got there, Hans. Thanks for posting the pictures. I'm going to use some of that jacket material for my wires next time.
Mike Wiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 09:47 AM
  #36
MarkGrabowski
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: suburb of chicago, IL
Posts: 295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Hans Meij

As requested by Harris some pictures of interior:






Hans, I noticed the built-in side plate where the gear are mounted... seems an efficient way to do this. I see there is a plywood plate covering the part where the gear meet in the middle.... do you happen to have any photos showing the entire gear mounting method?
MarkGrabowski is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 09:58 AM
  #37
Hans Meij
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Schoonhoven, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 658
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Quote:
ORIGINAL: MarkGrabowski
Hans, I noticed the built-in side plate where the gear are mounted... seems an efficient way to do this. I see there is a plywood plate covering the part where the gear meet in the middle.... do you happen to have any photos showing the entire gear mounting method?
From factory there is only a plywood plate mounted. The gear mounts to the underside of the plate. The carbon re-inforcement to prevent the plate to bend and the bolts to be torn through the wood are my adaptation.
You can find additional info on the Lorenz site:
http://www.f3alorenz.homepage.t-onli...tml#kit-inhalt
Hans Meij is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 05:14 PM
  #38
svrcp
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bridgewater, VA
Posts: 197
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Does any one knows where you can get some strap like the ones on post # 33 ?

Jr
svrcp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 05:47 PM
  #39
Mastertech
 
Mastertech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dalzell, SC
Posts: 1,411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

http://www.ronlund.com/rcheli-prod/CINCHSTRAP.html

http://www.ronlund.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?
Mastertech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 06:26 PM
  #40
svrcp
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bridgewater, VA
Posts: 197
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

thanks Tim that what I'm looking for. Are you useing them if so what lenght.

Jr
svrcp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 06:31 PM
  #41
Mastertech
 
Mastertech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dalzell, SC
Posts: 1,411
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

I'm not using them in airplanes but in my heli's. I went with the bolt down battery holder for the Sickle.

Tim
Mastertech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 12:39 AM
  #42
Hans Meij
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Schoonhoven, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 658
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

They come from Lorenz:
http://www.f3alorenz.homepage.t-onli...body-gurte.htm

Main page:
http://www.f3alorenz.homepage.t-online.de/
Hans Meij is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 10:55 AM
  #43
HARRIS-G
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: THESALONIKI, GREECE
Posts: 115
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Hans

From the position of the straps i guess that you place the battery at the front part of the tray.

Harris
HARRIS-G is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 11:06 AM
  #44
Hans Meij
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Schoonhoven, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 658
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Quote:
ORIGINAL: HARRIS-G
Hans
From the position of the straps i guess that you place the battery at the front part of the tray.
Harris
Thats correct.
Hans Meij is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 08:31 PM
  #45
cygnet
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary Alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

I have a question for you guys that have built a Gaudius, how is the servo put into the wing, by that I mean when you look inside the wing do you see the bottom of the servo or the top of the servo?
cygnet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 09:50 PM
  #46
Hans Meij
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Schoonhoven, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 658
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

The opening in the wingsheeting was precut in such a way that I had to mount the servo in a way the bottom is facing outwards. So you see the bottom. I do not know if this was a mistake or intentionally. With my Abbra the had to mount the servo with the top visible.
Hans Meij is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 10:18 PM
  #47
cygnet
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary Alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

I too have build a Abbra and I'm now working on the Gaudius I find it hard to believe that they would make it that way but I guess thats the way it is, what servos did you use? The servo openings for the Abbra fit JR 9411 but the Gaudius seems to take a larger servo.
cygnet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 10:32 PM
  #48
Hans Meij
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Schoonhoven, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 658
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Servo is JR 8715
Hans Meij is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 11:45 PM
  #49
HARRIS-G
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: THESALONIKI, GREECE
Posts: 115
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

I got mine before five days and all i can say is that it is a very good constructed kit and very light.
Anfortunately because of my work i will start to build it later. I have some quensions about it.
Where you locate the aileron horns? there is material into the aileron to put those screws or outside it?
And can i polish the color with wax?

Harris
HARRIS-G is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 10:07 AM
  #50
cygnet
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary Alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Gaudius

Hi I have a manual for the Gaudius however it is different than the kit, so on the ailerons you will have to install the servo first, then enlarge the slots for the servo arm, now you will have a reference of where to put the aileron horn. It just glues on inside of the rear wing spar. Be aware that the aileron servos go in backwards by that I mean that you will be looking at the bottom of the servo not the top as one would think, the factory installed slots will have to be made larger also as they seem just to be a reference. Hope this helps.
cygnet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:11 AM.