Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

Hitec

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2003, 01:27 PM
rms59

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hitec

Hi,
I'm new here. I have been flying planes for about 50 years and now I want to buy a heli. I have determined from all the posts, that the Corona would be my best choice. I have also chosen (from the posts) the batteries, motor, landing gear, and the HS81 servos.
However, nobody mentions the TX or RX. Would I be going wrong if I bought the complete Hitec system, or is mix and match better.
I have several "airplane" systems (Cirrus 72mHZ with stnd size servos) but not sure if those would work. are the servos in a heli smaller?
Also, Im a little confused on the Gyro. Does the heli come with one?
Thanks
Old 09-10-2003, 09:10 AM
JoeR
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Hitec

I have a Corona so I can try to answer your questions.

The heli does not come with a gyro. You will need to get one. The Futuba GY-240 is considered the standard on the Corona. It offers heading hold function which will make hovering easier. The Corona can be flown with the inexpensive piezio (sp?) gyros also (like the GWS PG-03). But you will have to direct the tail actively.

At an RC show in Toledo in April of this year LMH was showing a prototype of an updated mechnical gyro for the Corona. They said it works better then an electronic. They were thinking it might be ready for sale this fall. (There is a hobby show in Chicago this week where they may be introducing this and other upgrades).

As far as radios, the Corona will work with any 4 channel radio. If you have one for your planes then just keep using it. If/when you move up to a collective pitch helicopter then you can buy a new raido.

Use any 4 channel receiver as well. As with anything lighter is better.