Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

Estes Proto X Quad Nano.

Reply
Old 11-05-2013, 01:37 PM
  #1
drdoom
Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belton , MO
Posts: 3,119
Default Estes Proto X Quad Nano.

This is is a tiny Little Quad and it actually works. it is gyro stabilized. it comes with the Flight Battery installed and A USB cord to charge it. Requires 2 AA for the little transmitter.
It flys well But the stick has a bad resolution. Does anyone know what the modulation is. It won't bind with FHSS I tried that . it would be a blast with a good transmitter. If you find a better transmitter let us know.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Halloween 005.jpg
Views:	303
Size:	541.1 KB
ID:	1936864   Click image for larger version

Name:	Halloween 006.jpg
Views:	532
Size:	572.1 KB
ID:	1936865   Click image for larger version

Name:	Halloween 007.jpg
Views:	316
Size:	559.1 KB
ID:	1936866   Click image for larger version

Name:	Halloween 008.jpg
Views:	560
Size:	499.8 KB
ID:	1936868  
drdoom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 08:51 PM
  #2
Charlie P.
 
Charlie P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Port Crane, NY
Posts: 5,087
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The Hubsan X4 transmitter will work - and gives added features.
Charlie P. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 06:27 PM
  #3
drdoom
Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belton , MO
Posts: 3,119
Default

The single most stable model I've ever flown in 50 years of modeling.
drdoom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 09:31 PM
  #4
Charlie P.
 
Charlie P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Port Crane, NY
Posts: 5,087
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It is a blast. I don't have the Hubsan X4 Tx myself and am getting pretty used to the dinky Tx it comes with.

I have four cats and they are enthralled with the little quad.

The USB charger is great - like right now I just had the light go off so I'm ready for another flight as I browse forums at my PC.

One trick not in the manual is to let it sit on a level surface after you have linked and hold full right yaw (no throttle) and then snap the "aileron" side to side quickly until the blue led's blink. This recalibrates the gyros/accelerometers/whatevers. I was initially worried that it didn't have a yaw trim - but this has eliminated any tendency to rotate on its own.
Charlie P. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 09:48 PM
  #5
drdoom
Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belton , MO
Posts: 3,119
Default

That's cool. My cats love as we'll. I have 2 so more flight time while charge. Tries the reset, and It worked for me as we..

Last edited by drdoom; 01-07-2014 at 06:26 AM.
drdoom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 09:57 AM
  #6
JUCD VPR
 
JUCD VPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belleville , IL
Posts: 3,057
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have one also and run the newest x4 controller. I love this little quad. Very stable and I can zip it around fast outside! Priced at 34.95 it's a must own! Hobby town has some $4.95 replacement batteries.
JUCD VPR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 10:01 AM
  #7
k4 pacific
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: somerset, NJ
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie P. View Post
It is a blast. I don't have the Hubsan X4 Tx myself and am getting pretty used to the dinky Tx it comes with.

I have four cats and they are enthralled with the little quad.

The USB charger is great - like right now I just had the light go off so I'm ready for another flight as I browse forums at my PC.

One trick not in the manual is to let it sit on a level surface after you have linked and hold full right yaw (no throttle) and then snap the "aileron" side to side quickly until the blue led's blink. This recalibrates the gyros/accelerometers/whatevers. I was initially worried that it didn't have a yaw trim - but this has eliminated any tendency to rotate on its own.
I assume you are using the Hubsan X4 TX when doing this calibration and not the stock TX that comes with the quad?
k4 pacific is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 08:41 PM
  #8
Charlie P.
 
Charlie P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Port Crane, NY
Posts: 5,087
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Nope. The little stock Tx is all that I have. Though I did add "cheater" stick extensions for fine control.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]1962420[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1117_zps889a2424.jpg
Views:	219
Size:	69.1 KB
ID:	1962420  
Charlie P. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 02:43 PM
  #9
rckr1949
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Anyone know how to reset to default trim on this little guy? Mine seems to spin out of control once I lost one rotor blade , but after replacement cannot seem to find 0/0 trim. ???
rckr1949 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 02:51 PM
  #10
drdoom
Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belton , MO
Posts: 3,119
Default

rckr1949 try this, and make sure that you used the correct propeller. Im sure you did, but might check. rckr1949 is online now One trick not in the manual is to let it sit on a level surface after you have linked and hold full right yaw (no throttle) and then snap the "aileron" side to side quickly until the blue led's blink. This recalibrate the gyros/accelerometers whatevers. I was initially worried that it didn't have a yaw trim - but this has eliminated any tendency to rotate on its own.
drdoom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 04:42 PM
  #11
rckr1949
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks! I did the bit a couple of times. Thinking my gyro is dinged. Must take a patient approach to adjusting trim as it just continues to flip on power increase. Even this is fun tho...
rckr1949 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 06:32 PM
  #12
Charlie P.
 
Charlie P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Port Crane, NY
Posts: 5,087
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Wish I'd have said that. ;-)



If you run up and down through the trim clicks there is a higher "beep" at center. Reset to center and then do the recalibration routine

Last edited by Charlie P.; 02-01-2014 at 06:47 PM.
Charlie P. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 07:40 AM
  #13
Winder21
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I suppose I'm the first person to be suffering the issue of erratic flight which is not resolvable by any of the suggestions above. I bumped and disconnected the charging cable while the Proto was charging and now it absolutely will not fly. It says not to do this in the manual.........and it would have been nice if the connector fit a bit more securely onto the charging stem of the Proto, but it doesn't. It's VERY easy to knock it off while charging.

So what to do now???
Winder21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 08:27 AM
  #14
k4 pacific
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: somerset, NJ
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Try this, take the end of the charge cord that goes into the quad and very carefully adjust the two contact pins, they may have moved out of alignment in the plug.
k4 pacific is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 08:33 AM
  #15
Winder21
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I realize this may help on the sloppy fit. For now the charge system works fine, I just have a bird that can't fly.......................ESTES where is your support??????!!!!
Winder21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 06:14 PM
  #16
drdoom
Moderator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Belton , MO
Posts: 3,119
Default

I have a million flights on Mine. One of the Blue LEd's has checked out. Still so stable I cant believe it.
drdoom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 03:45 PM
  #17
k4 pacific
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: somerset, NJ
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The Hubsman x4 Tx makes all the difference, much easier to control and you can set rates.
k4 pacific is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:51 PM.