Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Reply
Old 01-31-2004, 04:03 AM
  #1
Rayan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: TijuanaBaja California, MEXICO
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

I have great news!!!

I finally discovered how to use FMS with the Zhen Hua Radio!!! [sm=thumbup.gif]

I only installed PPJoy software (http://www.geocities.com/deonvdw/PPJoy.htm) and configured the Virtual Joystick1 using serial port COM1 and selected under serial protocol "Zhen Hua 5 byte Protocol". Note: Do Not Close PPJoy, just minimize it.

Then start FMS and configure the control as follows:

Under Control menu choose Analog Control.

Then select Joystick Interface fron the list.


Now select Mapping/Calibration and use the following for Mode2 Radios:


Calibrate the controls...

And your'e ready to simulate!!!
Enjoy!
Rayan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 08:58 AM
  #2
MTDV
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Rayan,

Have you tried this under winXP? I tried and I could not make it to work under winXP. Please help if you had tried. Thanks.

MTDV
MTDV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 09:53 PM
  #3
Rayan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: TijuanaBaja California, MEXICO
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Actually this procedure was performed on my Windows XP machine! (see screenshots).

Did you left the PPJoy software open? You must leave it running in the background in order to work...

Let me know...
Regards,
Rayan
Rayan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 01:34 PM
  #4
Haaaans
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

It totally worked for me THANK YOU !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Haaaans is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 11:58 PM
  #5
Barracuda001
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SydneyNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

I have a Zhen Hua PCM-4ch Tx and have tried all of the above with no joy at all. Seems that PPjoy is detecting the COM port. However when I attempt to callibrate no signal is going through. Might be the cable, however are there any other tricks I am missing ?
Barracuda001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2004, 01:47 AM
  #6
jbalat
 
jbalat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MelbourneVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

I do not have a cable supplied with the zen shua. Do you know the wiring diagram for this ?
jbalat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2004, 08:41 PM
  #7
Barracuda001
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SydneyNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Unfortunately I don't have the wiring diagram...Not that I would know what it meant if I did since I am a total noob at this. The cable came with the Dragonfly package. For what it worth here is an image of the cable.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Kh17392.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	149.9 KB
ID:	123390  
Barracuda001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2004, 03:45 AM
  #8
Barracuda001
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SydneyNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Found the answer to my troubles. I needed to configure the COM Port under port settings Windows XP to :

Bits per second 19200
Data Bits 8
Parity None
Stop Bits 1
Flow Control = Hardware (most important I think)

Under the "advanced" tab I turned OFF "Use FIF buffers (Requires 16550 compatible UART)

And now it works.
Barracuda001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2004, 09:17 AM
  #9
justin_92_92
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Moira, NY
Posts: 1,139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

anyone know where we can get thaT cord? I want one too as mine didnt come with one. Or use yours and give it to me...lol ill trade a few dd tail motors. lol
justin_92_92 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 11:35 PM
  #10
thermos
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Hi Rayan,
Are you using Windows XP? Do you know if PPJoy will work with Win Me?
Thanks,
Ian
thermos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 08:46 PM
  #11
Rayan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: TijuanaBaja California, MEXICO
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Hi!

Yes, I'm using XP Pro right now. Unfortunatley I'm not sure if it will work under ME, but it won't hurt to try... Let us know!

Best regards!
Rayan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 09:11 PM
  #12
JZGOON
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: mentor on the lake, OH
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

why dont you guys just use a usb cable? there are tons of them out there for all different radion, i have 1 for jr , hitec, and jutaba, i even heard of one for ko-propo
it would solve all your winxp problems!!!
JZGOON is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2004, 12:06 PM
  #13
Rayan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: TijuanaBaja California, MEXICO
Posts: 32
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

The problem is not just the cable, the Shen-Hua radio uses a different pulse standard, that's the main reason of using the described software procedure above.

Regards,
Rayan
Rayan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 08:37 PM
  #14
thermos
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Hi Rayan,
PPJoy sees a serial signal (beeps with box checked) but the calibration in FMS does not seem to see anything. Any thoughts. Should I have batteries in? Radio on? crystal in? Red button in?
Thanks again,
Ian
thermos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 06:43 PM
  #15
jbalat
 
jbalat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MelbourneVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Can someone PLEASE !!! use a multimeter to find out which wires on the Svideo/ps2? connector are connected thru to the serial connector.

This way I can try making my own cable ?

The serial connector has small numbers on it which you can reference...
jbalat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 12:48 AM
  #16
yukonho
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: montreal, QC, CANADA
Posts: 102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

OK
How do I attach an image here?
I get a warning box that pops up when I try to configure the joystick.
It says " No IRQ assigned to port LPT1. Please assign an IRQ to this port before adding this joystick type"
What is this? Anyone?
No Joy with PP joy.
co
yukonho is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 04:51 AM
  #17
jbalat
 
jbalat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MelbourneVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 269
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

You need to go to ppjoy menu in start programs and select ppjoyCOM to set up a virtual joytick using com port1. Then you run ppjoy and ADD the virtual joystick. You dont use lpt1 !!

If this works can you please do the multimeter thingy ??

PS. To add an image you need to click on Reply button - do not use the "Fast reply" box. Then you get a link at the bottom to upload images...
jbalat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2005, 10:37 PM
  #18
rweller
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

I have just purchased my first RC helicopter and really wanted to use the computer simulator instead of crashing my model. I couldn't get the simulator to work, so I have followed the above-listed recommendations for downloading ppjoy, configuring joystick, minimizing ppjoy and running FMS on Windows XPpro, but see no TX status indicator and can't seem to get the Tx to connect. I have tried with the transmitter off as well as powered on with the radio transmitter plug removed. How should the controls/power be set on the transmitter, and can anyone help me more than the above postings on getting the simulator to work? When I go to PPjoycom in my program list, I have virtual joystick 1 selected, and COM1, but next to COM1 it says "error 5 opening port." Ideas? Thanks!
rweller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2005, 03:30 PM
  #19
okrym78
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: romerome, ITALY
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

I get the same eror message, error 5 opening port. If i select another serial port like 2, i can see that the flyght simulator riceive signal from the trasmitter but i can't control the model.
okrym78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2005, 07:58 PM
  #20
okrym78
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: romerome, ITALY
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Ok boys it works now, but how can i do to set Mode1 Or Mode2 in flight simulator settings??
okrym78 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 05:52 PM
  #21
Slasher_NRW
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ahaus, GERMANY
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Hello people...

I come from Germany. I got myself also such a Dragonfly.
The problem this I has be that always gets along "Waiting for Stream Init" with PPJoy...
ONE CAN LIE ME SAGAS AN WHAT THIS?!?

Please help me, thank you Rene
Slasher_NRW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 10:37 PM
  #22
rweller
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

I see the request is quite old for the wiring on the cable, but I had a chance to find this out when I was trying to decide if my cable was bad. The serial port end has numbered postitions, and 2,3,5,and 7 connect to the pins in the 4-prong plug at the other end. I don't know the numbering convention for the 4 prong plug, but if you look at it and put the rectangular plastic plug at 0600 on a clock face, then the pin at 0900 is connected to #7, the pin at 1000 is connected to #5, the pin at 0200 is connected to #3, and the pin at 0300 is connected to #2. I still cannot get my simulator software to recognize my transmitter. I have uninstalled and reinstalled PPJoy, but everytime I go to PPJoyCOM, (PPJoy Serial Stream) I get an error message next to COM1 saying "error 5 opening port". Anybody figure this out yet?
rweller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 02:49 AM
  #23
emosolo
 
emosolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Joburg, Gauteng, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 344
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

Morning,

I built many serial cables with boxes as shown on alot of the sites but never had any luck. I now use a mono audio cable. There is a program out there called SmartPropo. Do a search in google for it.

This program allows you to connect your TX to your pc via the Aux in or Mic jack. Works well for me, perhaps you guys will have better luck using this. It supports 98/me/2000 and xp, not sure about 95. I am currently runing XP Pro.

Regards
Solo
emosolo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2005, 09:51 PM
  #24
rweller
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 18
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

To anyone who has solved the Zen Hua R/C TX to computer problem. I have tried installing FMS and PPJoy on another computer and have the same problem: on the PPJoyCOM screen I get "error 5 opening port "next to COM1, and "waiting for stream init" under the serial protocol box. I've tried uninstall and reinstall, and my cable has intact wiring (although I don't know how to tell if there is output from the transmitter. I'd rather use the simulator than crash the helicopter (Dragonfly #4), but I'm out of ideas.
rweller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2005, 02:31 PM
  #25
klausflorida
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: , FL
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Zhen Hua Radio and FMS really works!!!

I had the error 5 opening port too. I had a handheld connected to the USB port (yes USB port) and that reserved the COM port on my PC. Have a look at the running services in XP and if you have anything like a sync programm running, end the process in the task manager.

But even I got the error 5 fixed, I still get the waiting for stream init and the TX doesn't work. Let me know if you had any luck.

K
klausflorida is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:33 AM.