Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis
Reload this Page >

PERFORMANCE ADVANTAGE GWS DRAGONFLY DIRECT DRIVE/VS/GEAR DRIVE?

Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

PERFORMANCE ADVANTAGE GWS DRAGONFLY DIRECT DRIVE/VS/GEAR DRIVE?

Old 12-20-2004, 08:53 PM
zonker123
My Feedback: (21)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default PERFORMANCE ADVANTAGE GWS DRAGONFLY DIRECT DRIVE/VS/GEAR DRIVE?

Can somebody tell me the pros/cons of one vs the other?
thanks
zonk
Old 12-20-2004, 10:02 PM
cameron33

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: PERFORMANCE ADVANTAGE GWS DRAGONFLY DIRECT DRIVE/VS/GEAR DRIVE?

Well I'm new to this but from what I read a drive shaft is better than a motor for 1 big reason..no tail motor means no motor to burn out, maybe in flight and cause a crash. Another reason may be weight but I could be wrong.
Old 12-20-2004, 11:40 PM
tnd2000

A direct drive is one where the rotor is attached directly to the motor. The size of the rotor is also smaller and spins faster.
A gear drive is where the rotor is attached to a gear, and the gear is meshed with another gear on the tail motor. The rotor is bigger and spins slower.
A shaft drive has no tail motor, instead it changes the pitch of the tail rotor to control the rudder.
Old 12-21-2004, 12:28 AM
Crabstick

Tnd 2000 hit the nail on the head! i just converted my colco T-bird 2.0 to a direct drive setup, the prop is much smaller and spins faster.

The advantages
*smaller rotor, further away from the ground, less chance of breaking it ( i broke the old one a lot )
*Less moving parts to break
*No gear mesh to worry about

Disadvantages i can see so far
*The motor turns a lot faster and does run pretty hot, bout the same as my main motor
*the motor is larger, i havent weighed it but i think it is heavier than the whole stock geardrive
*If the tail rotor gets hit on something the geardrive has a pop-off system, the direct does not.