Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 21 of 21

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    36
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    Hey there folks i have a serious question. I have a blade 400 and own a 2100 mah and a 1800 mah and was wondering if i could install a 3200 mah as long as it is 20c? Im now hovering in the yard but 10 mins i think isnt enough.. I figured i would strap it under the landing gear and see what happens... I have had to upgrade my servo to the hitec hs65mgs and i believe it eats more power. Any suggestion????[8D]

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    covington, GA
    Posts
    738
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    Ten minutes is a good bit of flight time.

    I wouldn't reccomend going to a 3200mah pack. You are going to add a substantial amount of weight, and while it may fly that way, (could even make it more stable) I don't think the tradeoff is worth it.

    Adding all that extra weight will put extra stress on the motor, possibly causing it to fail early. For the best performance, you probably just want to keep adding packs to your pile. If you are going to buy another pack anyway, try and grab something in the 2200mah range that will fit.

    I get 7 - 8 minutes and that is plenty for me, I have 6 packs though. Good practice to fly a pack and let it cool for at least a few minutes before flying the next pack. This is probably even more important in the summers.

  3. #3
    The Hedgehog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    , CT
    Posts
    9,999
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    Yeah bad, idea you will make it a flying pig. T-rex's sometimes go up to 2500 evolites, but those are just as light as 2100's, but if I had to guess with the B400, a 2100 mah battery will be ok, just check the balance. It is better to get anothe rbattery than cramming a heavy battery in the heli.
    What would Chuck Finley do?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    36
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    Thanks for the input i will pickup a couple more 2200 or 2100. You just think you need more time...Thanks.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    pickerington, OH
    Posts
    28
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    I would be careful n installing a 2100mah battery. The stock speed controller is rated at 30 amps contiuous. The stock battery is a 20c 1800mah which is 36 amps. A 2100mah battery at 20c is 42 amps. I have been wondering what the maximum current the speed control will take before it dies. A 3000mah battery at 20c (60amps) is certain death for the electronics.

  6. #6
    gboulton's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    La Vergne, TN
    Posts
    3,743
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    I had occasion to try a fairly good sized battery on my B400 not long ago. I must admit, I've forgotten the capacity, but it was in the 2400-2500 range.

    Without a doubt, it was too nose-heavy for my tastes. While the heli didn't seem to be "struggling" any, it definitely threw it far enough out of whack that I spent more time trimming than I did flying. It struck me that a few minutes extra flying over the course of, say, an hour, just wasn't worth the hassle. I'd wager anything in the 3000+ range would be "ridiculously" nose-heavy.

    The other thing to keep in mind is what you'd be gaining. Look at it this way...you already have an 1800 and 2100. So, you're flying, say, 20 minutes out of every 60. (ballpark). You're going to buy another battery. Another 2100 is...what...$70-ish. A 3300mah pack is a good $90-$100 even on CBP.com and will buy you...what...maybe 5 more minutes?? So, for an extra $30 or so, you'll get 35 minutes of flying per hour, instead of 30?? No better return (in terms of dollars per minute) than buying yet ANOTHER 2100 for $70...and then you won't have the weight/balance issue to worry about.

    I run a couple of 1800's and a 2100 myself, and provided I take a cooler along to cool the batts, I can get into a pretty nice little cycle of flying one, cooling one, and charging one that let's me fly for 10 minutes or so with 10-15 minute breaks in between. That seems to work out pretty well, imo.
    ยกวสŒฤฑsuวdxว sฤฑ dn puษ dn sฤฑ uสop \'\'\'\'pวส‡ษนวสŒuฤฑ puษ สo1 uวษฅส

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    36
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    Thank you everybody for your help. Since the first time posting here i have been running 2200mah thunder power and zippy batteries. They are equal except for the cost. The heli runs good on 2200 3s 11.1v with no problem. i have since changed everything over to metal servo gears and a scorpion motor. Also a 401 gyro and a 9257 tail servo and it is a mean machine. Thanks again you can watch some of my videos on you tube besthobbie....

  8. #8
    turbotb0205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    moundsville, WV
    Posts
    1,058
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400


    ORIGINAL: falling14

    I would be careful n installing a 2100mah battery. The stock speed controller is rated at 30 amps contiuous. The stock battery is a 20c 1800mah which is 36 amps. A 2100mah battery at 20c is 42 amps. I have been wondering what the maximum current the speed control will take before it dies. A 3000mah battery at 20c (60amps) is certain death for the electronics.
    lol.. thats not how it works..

    an electric motor draws whatever current it needs from the batteries.. the batteries dont slam the motor with current EG 4000mah 35C pack is capable of 140A but it will run a small motor drawing 12A just fine and have tons of runtime

    C is the maximum ALLOWED discharge rating not how much power its going to slam out
    | B+ RM Yak54 | B+ Slo V | Stryker C | B+ RM 330L | B+ Wild Wing | Cox MW | RW M Lightning | B+ GWS Pico stick | P3 Swoop |

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    pickerington, OH
    Posts
    28
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    Its when the motor is loaded when the amps come out of the pack. Sure, static runs the pack wont kill the electronics but when the motor is under load; a high amp pack will force the motor to hold the set rpm and the amps start flowing. Then say good bye to the esc. Thats why speed controls are rated burst amps (high load) and also in continuous amps (normal load).

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    pickerington, OH
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    .

  11. #11
    Bxtreme aviator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    swakop mund, NAMIBIA
    Posts
    22
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    hey guys im wondering i have a 2000mah li po from a mini titan but am scared it wil harm the electronics are you able to use it or should i upgrade my esc.

    jp
    The GOLDEN RULE the one who has the \"GOLD\" makes the rules!!!!!!!

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Blaine, MN
    Posts
    540
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    hang the battery on the bottom of the heli in the gear, centered under the rotor head,,,

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Edmonton, AB, CANADA
    Posts
    7,441
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400


    ORIGINAL: falling14

    Its when the motor is loaded when the amps come out of the pack. Sure, static runs the pack wont kill the electronics but when the motor is under load; a high amp pack will force the motor to hold the set rpm and the amps start flowing. Then say good bye to the esc. Thats why speed controls are rated burst amps (high load) and also in continuous amps (normal load).
    I've never seen this in my life. 9 electric helis and 10 electric cars/trucks and i've never had this happen or even heard of it...

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New Castle, PA
    Posts
    576
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400


    ORIGINAL: Bxtreme aviator

    hey guys im wondering i have a 2000mah li po from a mini titan but am scared it wil harm the electronics are you able to use it or should i upgrade my esc.

    jp

    As long as the esc has a higher amp rating than the max amp rating of the motor, the esc will be fine. The battery only supplies the power as needed, it don't force power through the electronics. A higher mah battery will provide longer flight times since it stores more energy, thats all. As long as the battery is not extremely heavier than the stock battery and can fit in the heli and still maintain a reasonable COG it will be fine to use.
    Blackhawk 450SE, Gaui 200, Gaui 425, Gaui HeadHunter 500, Gaui 550, Gazaur Mars 480
    Website= Gaui Helicopter Talk

  15. #15
    PENGUINBLASTER!!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    , AFGHANISTAN
    Posts
    523
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    You asked for it...












    THAT... is the biggest battery you can put in a Blade 400.

  16. #16

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Catoosa, OK
    Posts
    1,003
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    NAHH! I got ya, PENGUIN!![X(]

    How about two gel cells?!!

    Happy New Year, everybody!! Don't party too hard, you gotta fly tomorrow!!


    Jesse
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tr50308.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	90.5 KB 
ID:	1100518   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vq51047.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	91.5 KB 
ID:	1100519  
    \"Greater cruising speeds are possible, but the size of the earth does not warrant greater speeds.\" - Igor Sikorsky in 1934

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Toronto, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    236
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    LOL. This is so funny cause you guys actually took time to do those pics!

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    sidmouth, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    281
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    LOL, so funny I'm still l [sm=lol.gif][sm=lol.gif]

  19. #19

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    Those pictures have made this thread EPIC! Awesome!
    --Chris ^_^

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    waterbruy, CT
    Posts
    26
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    Hate to bud in, but what is a good charger for batteries that fit the Blade 400, and I would like to have one that will charge more then one battery at a time.and also have it run on 120VAC.
    tks
    John

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    elmira, NY
    Posts
    747
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What is the largest battery you can put on a blade 400

    that stock esc will handle a 2200  35c no problems  when you start messin with the pinion is where things get hot  anything over 2200 mah is overkill  and 10 minute hovers is pushing them batts to the limits . even with a tweaked th curve and pitch curve i dont think i ever seen  more than 7 1/2 to 8 min hovers  so consider yourself blessed with a 10 min hover.
    if you dont know you better ask somebody ! usarmy active 1989-1997, 1990 desert sheild /desert storm, 1993 somolia .


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:25 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.