Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Rebuild HABU or try something new?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

Rebuild HABU or try something new?

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2011, 03:56 AM
lojik

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rebuild HABU or try something new?

Hey guys,

are there any intermediate+ skill level EDF's out there that can take the HABU's power systems without major modification, Willing to look at all options.

I've been flying my HABU now for 6 Months and was thinking of getting another larger EDF for a bit more of a thrill, unfortunately last week I made a fatal error on my HABU and it hit the deck nose first at high speed, lipo caught on fire, ESC damaged (most likely a gonner) main fuse front smashed beyond repair, canopy damaged, wings look ok and tail unit looks ok.

So I have a choice, either rebuild the HABU (about NZ$350 odd including the ESC) or buy a new model and transplant the servo's, fan unit and RX into it.

Would be looking for a model that looks nice scale like or has a "Jet" profile, has good flight characteristics and can of course take the HABU EDF Unit without major modification?

I have been looking at the E-Flite Sabre and it looks like a great model to step up into but was wondering if there are any other models out there I should also look at.

Thanks for your time

Regards
Old 04-05-2011, 12:36 PM
TonyF
My Feedback: (92)

Default RE: Rebuild HABU or try something new?

I'm flying an E-Flite Sabre and it is a nice step up from the PZ Habu. I put in the 3600Kv motor and it is flying very well. I only get a little over 3 minutes with a 3200 pack, but it's a great 3 minutes!
Old 04-05-2011, 01:47 PM
jetjky1

Not sure how fancy you want to get but look at the Sapac Viper.
Old 04-05-2011, 05:29 PM
lojik

ORIGINAL: TonyF