Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

BVM F-86 EDF advice

Old 11-28-2011, 04:47 PM
JetRay
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BVM F-86 EDF advice

This is my first time posting and am contemplating EDF.

A couple of years ago I bought a BVM F-86. This is the one piece wing, 60" model. I am thinking that I'll go with a EDF unit. I could go with the BVM unit, but I really would like to go with the Extreme/Dynamax unit. What do you guys think. I spoke with BVM and they recommended their unit because the Extreme unit is larger and they said would not fit. I can understand some modifications, but we are modelers and it seems that would not be too big a challenge.

Any thoughts. How difficult and has anyone done this and how has the performance been. Any pics advice would be appreciated.

Ray
Old 11-29-2011, 11:25 AM
JetRay

Default RE: BVM F-86 EDF advice

Any advice out there.
Old 11-29-2011, 03:41 PM
samdimaio
My Feedback: (106)

The BVM EVF is your best choice. You will have no problems. Like everything else BVM does - the inlet ducting, EVF and thrust tube are all engineered as a system and should be installed and operated as such for optimal performance. BVM's customer service and local reps. are HUGE help when needed. Positive experieince with BVM Electra and F-16 have proven thuis to me. I am not a BVM rep. - just a customer. Not saying other systems wont work but, going with BVM you will be pleased with the results.
Old 11-29-2011, 04:04 PM
k_sonn
My Feedback: (32)

Go with the EVF. The intake area of the BVMF-86 is too small to feed enough air to the Dynamax fan. I built the arf version of this plane a couple of years ago and used the 12 cell version of the EVF. Here's a link to the build thread and there is video of the maiden in the thread:
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_97...tm.htm#9749519