Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric RC Jets
Reload this Page >

New to flying - I bought two new jets

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

New to flying - I bought two new jets

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2012, 08:32 AM
Turbobearcat

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to flying - I bought two new jets

Well after breaking into flying RC Aircraft- my first plane a Albatross microflyer (love this plane and easy to fly)

I decided to take a step up and out with something bigger...MUCH BIGGER. :-)

I was lucky enough to find two Jets..

GWS ME-262 which needs to be built.
Phase 3 U-2 which has everything except the receiver - still needs assembly.

Both are foam planes but I have questions

1. I have NEVER built plane before - so what glue do you use?
2. Never PAINTED a plane before - what paint can I use?

The U2 is basically a powered glider so I should do well with it - I don't plan on flying the Me-262 until next year - I need more time behind the stick first. (and the fact I have to buy almost everything for this kit)

upgrades that might need to be done or are they fine with the equipment that comes with them?

Mark
Old 08-29-2012, 08:33 AM
Turbobearcat

Default RE: New to flying - I bought two new jets

Also if anybody lives near Lebanon Ohio- please let me know as I might need tips and the help...

Thanks

Mark
Old 09-26-2012, 06:44 AM
rszanti

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just purchased a ARF Phase 3 U-2 from Hobby People. Put it together without too much trouble.

To answer your questions, use a latex or an acrylic painton foamies. Solvents are always a problem for foam so dope or enamels, etc are a no-no. For the adhesive you can use a foam safe CA or a wood glue such as Gorilla, Titebond, Carpentersor Elmers. I didn't need to use any glue on the U-2, the sticky tape worked fine. I also don't know of any upgrades either available or needed for this plane.