Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

GWs A10 EDf55's

Reply

Old 02-25-2008, 11:51 PM
  #176  
jlove19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: studio city, CA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

My maiden flight went off with no problems I put some extra up trim just to be safe and it paid off.
I learned quick, if your gonna make the A-10 <<<FAST>>> you got to reinforce her in certain areas like the wings the tail and nose some folks also do the nacelles.
The A-10 is alittle flimsy in these areas.
I used carbon rods to help make the plane stronger.
Only 4 mins of flight time with my setup.
A bigger battery like a 2500mah 20-30c 3s might get it to 5 or 6 mins
But over all I'm super impressed with the A-10.

This pic was taken before the black paint was added to the camouflage.
jlove19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 06:26 PM
  #177  
miles1865
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: st petersburg, FL
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

i have the A-10 with the edf 50 and the 2030 x 5 fans. i run Feigao 1208428L 12x30mm Brushless Motors with 2 towerpower 12amp Brushless Speed Controller on one 3cell 1350 lipo
i get 5min flight time and the batt is warm to the touch. i have 20 flights on this plane and it
flys great
miles1865 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 12:16 PM
  #178  
Jabird73
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: mooresville, IN
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

I finally pony'd up and bought an A10 from LHS. it was the slope soarer so I had to upgrade. Now It has the 56mm hyperflow fans, GWS BL 3900KV motors and it will have the 4s I'll run it through the super simple 30 amp programmable ESC's also from [link=http://www.hobbycity.com?cda=18656]HOBBYCITY[/link] cant beat the price I think the ESC's were 9 bucks and the batts were like 48 each or something like that. Now I wish the stinking shipping wasnt so high... I plan on glassing the wing with WBPU and microlite cloth .25 OZ if I can find some at my LHS. Ill try to take pics and post
Jabird73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 04:10 PM
  #179  
2boys
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Loudoun, VA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

I haven't balanced mine yet because I'm having battery issues- like only running a minute of full throttle with a GWS 750mah 8.4v with EDF55's. Anyone got an answer for that?
2boys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 06:38 PM
  #180  
whissel_blowa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: , , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 301
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

Yeah! LOL The answer is throw the battery away and get yourself a lipo 1800 3s1p 15c or 20c will be a much better choice. I gather your EDF55 fans have the 300H brushed motors?
whissel_blowa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 08:17 PM
  #181  
2boys
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Loudoun, VA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

If I go lipo, don't I basically start all over again? New charger, new batteries, new motors? Seems like GWS might have some explaining to do if their system doesn't work as spec'd.


You want me to tear this up so you can see me with lipos? Tisk tisk.
2boys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 08:28 PM
  #182  
Theophilus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cerritos, CA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

Just new batteries and charger. No need to tear the plane up. Once you use lipos you'll never go back....
Theophilus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 05:34 PM
  #183  
2boys
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Loudoun, VA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

Just new batteries and charger. No need to tear the plane up. Once you use lipos you'll never go back....
So your saying I won't even need to change my ESC? Just drop in a Lipoly batt and go like the wind?
2boys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 10:16 PM
  #184  
CTulanko
Senior Member
 
CTulanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

That is correct.
CTulanko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 02:38 PM
  #185  
skyhawknut
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Langley, BC, CANADA
Posts: 811
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

If you don't put a new esc in - don't run the lipo to LVC as it will be set to low and you will destroy your lipo. Just make sure to use a timer.

The problem with your battery is the 300's will not run on AA cells. This setup has flown very well on 8 cells - but they are GP 1000, or any other sub A cell.
skyhawknut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 09:29 PM
  #186  
Vettster
 
Vettster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Beeton, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

Received my new A-10 the other day. Didnt much care for the paint job so I added my own litle touch.

Happy flying

Trev
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om33913.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	42.8 KB
ID:	961185  
Vettster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 12:22 PM
  #187  
Zombie512
Junior Member
 
Zombie512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

Had to get one too even knowing its under powered. Waiting for a new ESC to come in. Will try to fly her stock 300H using 3s Lipo and throttle management. Hope she flies. Made some mods here and there she will weigh just under 20oz.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl29983.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	93.1 KB
ID:	968643  
Zombie512 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 11:53 PM
  #188  
dbgood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: scotia, NY
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

just bought my gws a10 from a friend,who has not even flown it yet..Just a question how is the best way to put the servos in??Tape and glue?
Also i have the stock 300 motors in them,and i want to put a lipo on it this week..Does anyone know what size i can get to fit in there without cutting away in there?
With no battery in it right now it just flops to the elevator,i think its way to tail heavy..
Thanks for all the help,
Danny
dbgood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 01:28 AM
  #189  
skyhawknut
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Langley, BC, CANADA
Posts: 811
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

With no battery in it right now it just flops to the elevator,i think its way to tail heavy..
Your kidding right?



There is no lipo that will fit the stock tray. You need to mod the compartment.
skyhawknut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 09:10 AM
  #190  
Hack73
Member
 
Hack73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Essex, MD
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's


ORIGINAL: Zombie512

Had to get one too even knowing its under powered. Waiting for a new ESC to come in. Will try to fly her stock 300H using 3s Lipo and throttle management. Hope she flies. Made some mods here and there she will weigh just under 20oz.

How did you make the mods for the front of your plane?
Hack73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 12:45 AM
  #191  
Zombie512
Junior Member
 
Zombie512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

My mods usually consist of junk I have laying around the work bench. The Pod Mount is a piece of 3/32 ply attached to the fuse with 2 pieces of carbon tube that penetrate the solid foam where the stock nose gear mounts. The pod is the butt ends of 2 Sharpie markers glued together then I cut a slit in the pod so the ply could slide all the way in. The pod will hopefully keep the scoop from ever hitting the ground when landing. I opened the scoop to allow air in the nose compartment when my battery is. The gun tube (sacrificed marker) also allows air into the battery compartment. I added an exhaust vent to the battery compartment as well. Static testing with my IR thermometer registers heat exiting the exhaust vent. I just figured some air flow is better than no air flow..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig13406.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	39.1 KB
ID:	972217   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr55094.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	44.6 KB
ID:	972218   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pu51670.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	31.6 KB
ID:	972219   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hb80528.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	39.3 KB
ID:	972220   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ju13338.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	972221   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ka42905.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	38.9 KB
ID:	972222   Click image for larger version

Name:	Df74638.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	29.2 KB
ID:	972223   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki20340.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	27.8 KB
ID:	972224  

Zombie512 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 10:06 AM
  #192  
Zombie512
Junior Member
 
Zombie512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

I use low temp glue gun to secure all my servos and I do stress "low temp". A standard glue gun (at least the one I have) is way too hot, melts right through foam. Never been a fan of double sided tape, have had a servo come lose but luckily noticed it while on the bench and not in the air. Your will not find a lipo that will fit in the stock battery compartment, and if you do, it's not going to have enough power to get you off the ground. Good luck
Zombie512 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 07:59 PM
  #193  
CaptainRandy
Senior Member
 
CaptainRandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fort Pierce, FL
Posts: 2,996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

A-10 Maiden Flight Report. ( With Pusher Prop)

Such a beautiful evening, so I decided to go to the hay field after dinner, and give it a go. The Sun was out and the wind was Zero.

I had the A-10 sitting up on a bag of props to keep the prop off the ground while testing and setting up the TX. I still haven't mastered this radio yet. Now I am playing with the TX getting things set up, and the motor goes into full speed ahead ripping through the bag of props and tearing out a piece of the elevator. Damit, damaged before it left the ground OK, no Biggie, just a little glue and it will be just fine. Now, I am being more careful and holding the plane while testing. OK, so I get the TX programed and now the moment of truth.

At about half throttle of the little RED $5.95 HC motor with an 8 X 6 prop off she went. I had put just a tad of right trim, as it felt like it would torque to the left. She took off like it was on rails. I did have to back off on that right trim to get her to fly hands off, but that was it, It flew beautifully. I was amazed at how well it flew with the little cheapo motor, Who needs twin DF's when it flys so well this way.

OK, so next maiden will be the F-14. That one really has me nervous

Sure wish I had someone to video the A-10, as she looked real Purty in the air. My Video man (BOB) won't be visiting until the end of July.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vs55524.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	93.4 KB
ID:	977822  
CaptainRandy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 11:47 PM
  #194  
Zombie512
Junior Member
 
Zombie512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

I thought about doing the same to mine, but decided to try ducted fan first. Still have not flown, bad weather or too busy..[] Just out of curiosity, what does your bird weigh? what kind of battery are you using and are you using the stock battery compartment...Congratulations on a successful maiden.
Zombie512 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 06:11 PM
  #195  
CaptainRandy
Senior Member
 
CaptainRandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fort Pierce, FL
Posts: 2,996
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

Zombie,

Sorry, I can't give you the AUW, as my digital scale is 750 miles away. It is lighter than the DF units that's for sure.

I use a 1300mah Lipo, and you can see in the picture, and I have the battery as far forward as I could get it. It doesn't seem to fly much faster at full throttle, than half. Can't figure that out, but that was the maiden flight. I may try some different props to see what happens. Maybe a 7 X 5 prop would work good too, and last longer. It had pretty good vertical with the 8 X 6 prop.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo39923.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	231.8 KB
ID:	978481   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vq52143.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	214.8 KB
ID:	978482  
CaptainRandy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 07:48 PM
  #196  
Zombie512
Junior Member
 
Zombie512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 25
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

Thanks for the reply, no worries about the AUW. I really like your setup. If I like the DF setup i'll prob get another and mod it like yours. Longer flight times, no worries about the nacelles braking off on landing etc.. See you in the skies above......
Zombie512 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 12:51 PM
  #197  
paul daniel
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pewaukee, WI, ALBANIA
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GWs A10 EDf55's

Hi Guys: I was given a GWS A-10 and know I have to make the upgrades. I need a recommendation for power and there are just two parameters. First off, power. I have several LiPos in the 2000 mha area and would like to use one of them. And second, I don't want to shell out $200 when I can go and get something faster out of the box that's already built. So what I'm looking for is fast and cheap. Suggestions?
Paul
paul daniel is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service