Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Mentor won't take off.

Old 11-06-2010, 12:08 PM
garyji

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Mentor won't take off.

I have a stock eFlite T-34 Mentor 25. I tried flying it for the first time the other night off of a "damp" low cut grass field. It won't take off. Anyone have this issue? Do I need to be flying it off of pavement? I am new to this and am using the droops and "beginner" flaps. The grass is cut very low, and my nexstar mini handles it fine. It wasdamp though. I tried two different batteries (3S 3200mh eflite lipos). No luck.

Ideas??
Gary
Old 11-06-2010, 08:51 PM
Dr Kiwi

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mentor won't take off.

If your pack is up to it you should be getting 4lb of thrust for a 5lb aircraft... surely plenty for take-off... but how well is your pack coping... are you getting 40A static draw?

Motor: E-Flite Power 25 Outrunner 870KV; 870rpm/V; 2.4A no-load; 0.03 Ohms.
Battery: Thunder Power TP2250 (G4 ProPower 30C) (30C); 3 series x 2 parallel cells; 2250mAh @ 3.7V; 0.008 Ohms/cell.
Speed Control: Castle Creations Phoenix 45; 0.0026 Ohms; High rate.
Drive System: Direct; 12x8 (Pconst=1.16; Tconst=1) direct drive.
Airframe: Anything you want.
Motor Amps = 40.2
Motor Volts = 10.5
Input (W) = 423.1
Prop RPM = 7656
Thrust (oz) = 64.4
PSpd (mph) = 58.0
Old 11-07-2010, 07:51 AM
JPerrone

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Check that you don't have the elevator reversed (ie, you think you are giving up elevator, but you are actually giving down). This is real obvious on a tail dragger but not as obvious with a nose gear.

I did this on one plane I had... simple fix.
Old 11-07-2010, 09:44 AM
Leisure_Shoot

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Do you have a small scale you can test thrust with? What about a battery voltage tester?