Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

Alpha 180 and FMA Co-Pilot.Will they work together?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Alpha 180 and FMA Co-Pilot.Will they work together?

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2003, 12:55 PM
thesenator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Alpha 180 and FMA Co-Pilot.Will they work together?

Hi I've been flying an Alpha 180 electric glider for a few weeks now with good results.I am self taught so far.Having had a few hairy moments, I seem to be getting the hang of it!.
I live quite close to the sea and it is often too windy to fly(being a beginner I don't fly unless it's very calm).
I would like to fit a FMA Co-Pilot to my glider so i can fly when it is not completely calm with some confidence and also to take some of the fear out of flying and especially landing!.
Would it be possible to fit a Co-Pilot to an Alpha 180 and have it work correctly?.
My main concern is weight and finding a suitable position for the sensor.
Thank You For Your Help...
Old 08-03-2003, 04:51 AM
3DFanatic
My Feedback: (5)

What's the total weight of your aircraft? Not being familiar with it I don't know how much help I can be, but seeing as no one else has posted...

I think it should be allright IF you plane seems to have an excess of power. But if it just barely limps along under power, it's probably not the best accy to buy. Of course, you can always get a more powerful motor...
Old 08-04-2003, 10:32 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

I'm assuming this is a rudder/elevator motorglider. You should make sure the Copilot will work on a rudder/elevator aircraft first and foremost. I've only personally seen it work on aileron/elevator. However, there's no reason why it shouldn't work. The rudder levels the wings, just not necessarily as quickly.