Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

Question about the Hobbico Flyzone speed Pilot EP

Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Question about the Hobbico Flyzone speed Pilot EP

Old 08-21-2003, 03:02 AM
DoomsDay

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about the Hobbico Flyzone speed Pilot EP

Hi, I am new to the rc airplane world and have purchased this plane and wanted to see if there was anyone else who has this plane and what they think about it. Mine is due to show up next week so I would like to learn about any problems it may have.
Thanks

DD
Old 08-22-2003, 04:16 AM
3DFanatic
My Feedback: (5)

It on order? A little late to be asking about it
Old 08-22-2003, 10:37 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

I've seen a couple of those inexpensive Hobbico R/C toys, and I haven't been impressed. When I saw the Speed Pilot, it was laying in pieces by the club's shelter at the flying field...

My impression was not good. For the size of the plane, it was far too heavy to fly slowly enough for a beginner, if it could even fly at all. It was VERY heavy. I have a .40-size trainer that I converted to electric, and I think it weighed almost as much as that. The .40-size trainer has a 60" wing, and is still pretty fast for a beginner.

Frankly, I would send it back and get myself a HobbyZone Firebird XL, Firebird Commander, or an Aerobird. Sure, it's a little more expensive, but these are lightweight, proven designs that you're reasonably assured to be successful with. I think you might just as well smoke the $100 you spent on the Speed Pilot...
Old 08-22-2003, 08:20 PM
3DFanatic

or check out GWS's wide variety of planes.

I myself had a Hobbico Cub-Wannabe (who's name excapes me at the moment) and it flew worse then a brick.
Old 08-23-2003, 05:26 PM
DoomsDay