Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Newbie Just Purchased NexStar EP

Old 02-13-2012, 03:37 PM
rowekmr

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Newbie Just Purchased NexStar EP

Hello Group,

I just purchased one at a discount and upon reading their online manual see they give a choice of NiMH at 39 oz total (for 2) or the LiPo for 16-18 oz depending on size. I am completely new to the battery choices. When I briefly tried in the 80's the speed controller was a switch thrown by a servo and the chargers had times and fixed rates. Now there is a rainbow of offerings and many many manufacturers producing products. I did a brief search and found an old forum from 2008 where they talked about the sensitivities and risk of using LiPos mainly fires. Is this still a risk. I don't want to be watching chargers and using temp gauges if I can avoid and like the set it and forget it convenience of Nicads of yester years. I was considering the NiMh's because of this but they are heavy and don't know how that will impact the flight qualities of the plane. I just joined a RCclub and will use the simulator and an instructor but are there any cheap pointers for this combo?

Thanks

Joe
Old 02-13-2012, 04:10 PM
guver
My Feedback: (325)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Newbie Just Purchased NexStar EP

They are still selling that with NIMH packs?

If I had that plane what I'd do is use the NI packs because I already have them. I surely wouldn't pay much for new ones though because later I'd want to go with lipos and have to buy another charger. It looks like they want around 20 volts for the set-up? Maybe a 5s lipo would work.
Old 02-23-2012, 06:41 AM
startazz

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback