Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

Help me choose a battery please!!

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Help me choose a battery please!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2012, 08:01 AM
dbarnes6

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me choose a battery please!!

So I'm new to electric. That forum on this website for electric training helped out quite a bit. I'm sick of the mess of nitro and the cost of nitromethane. SoI bought my first plane that i plan on converting to electric. It's a fun aero superjake. It's technically going to be a conversion to electric as the plane calls for a .71 nitro engine, but I don't think its anything I can't handle. I do however need help choosing the right size battery. I plan on running 3s, butI'm not sure how many amps I should go with. The brand doesn't really matter to me it's flight time I'm after. Here is the motor and ESC I plan on using. It's going to be a little overpowered because this plane according to my numbers is going to weigh somwhere in the neighborhood of 2 1/2 pounds fully loaded up with the battery and everything. I'm on a budget soI'm using some rather generic products(I've mostly been looking for batteries at hobbypartz.com if that helps)

http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...7&pid=B1898545
http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...2&pid=B2049175

Any help would be much appreciated
Thanks

Danny
Old 02-11-2012, 10:29 AM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Help me choose a battery please!!

Welcome to electric flight.

The first place I would like to point you is:

EVERYTHING YOU WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT ELECTRIC POWERED FLIGHT - A free e-book
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_7100376/tm.htm

If we target a 2.5 pound plane, all up, then you want at least 250 watts for spirited sport flying. So that motor looks good.