Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

new but old guy

Old 09-13-2003, 09:15 PM
caz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new but old guy

Does anyone know of an electric flying site on the mississippi coast? I am familiar with the 2 ama clubs in the area but would like to start out in pure electric.
Also, I am new to the hobby and would like to conserve money untill I see what I like.
I have a commercial pilots license[not active for many years],have built several balsa models over the years[enjoy building] and am using funds for a patent search and application on new control surfaces and system.
Like most full size pilots I think I can probebly teach myself. I know,I know you've NEVER heard that before LOL!
Reccomendations for a reliable 4 channel radio with elevon mixing and a basic rudder,elevator and aliron trainer would be appreciated. I prefer one I can build from balsa.
thanks
Old 09-14-2003, 12:17 AM
Dr Kiwi

Default RE: one old guy to another

You cannot go wrong with a Hitec Flash 4 (HTR971J) at Hobby-Lobby (and, no doubt, elsewhere). This has elevon/V-tail mixing, dual rates etc and comes with a Feather receiver and two HS 55 servos - ideal for small park flyers. The Mountain Models Tantrum [Speed 300-400 or small brushless] seems to be a very good aileron model - all balsa [for old guys like you and me, who enjoy the building as much as the flying].

Cheers, Phil
Old 09-14-2003, 12:25 AM
Dr Kiwi

Sorry, it is a Laser 4, not a Flash 4 [still HTR971J]

4 Channel radio for EXTREME
lightweight micro helicopters,
indoor RC and slowflyers.
HTR971J Hitec Laser 4 FM, Feather Receiver, 2 HS-55
servos ....... $ 127.00
IN STOCK