Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

old dawg looking for answers

Old 03-17-2013, 04:00 AM
termart
My Feedback: (1)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default old dawg looking for answers

I've been flying for 50+ years and am now trying to learn a little about electrics.
I bought a Pulse XT40 at a swap meet that has an electric motor on it.
the specs that I can find are:
Atlas .46 sport outrunner
AM2927/08
Atlas Black 45 amp BEC
programmable controller

My question is what battery should I get to use on this setup and what does BEC mean instead of ESC?
will the battery that control the motor/BEC also control the servos or should I use a seperate pack?
Since the BEC is programmable, do I need to program it? How?
Old 03-17-2013, 04:16 AM
guver
My Feedback: (325)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: old dawg looking for answers

Without knowing that brand, I'm guessing that it is a 45 amp ESC with a BEC built in. I'd goolge the specs on it and perhaps you will find it has a Max of either 3s or 4s for battery cells. Then depending upon your motor and prop choice you could use 3s for sure and maybe even 4s if it is within range.

The battery will power all servos and esc,motor thru the one connection , but your welcome to use a seperate BEC instead and disable the built in one. Most esc are programmable thru the TX , but may be cumbersome. The program card will make it a lot easier to program and if you can get the program card I'd get it.

Do some googling on that particular esc.
Old 03-17-2013, 08:10 AM
blvdbuzzard

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

I did a quick search for the motor and did not find much. Many motors are made in the same factory with different stickers on them.