Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

n00b In need of help - loss of power

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

n00b In need of help - loss of power

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2013, 03:36 PM
Gabe84

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default n00b In need of help - loss of power

First up, I hope this is an appropriate place for this kind of post. Sorry if not, I'm very new to the Air section here...

So I'm reasonably experienced in RC, having had a boat (electric, brushed) for many years, and owned a couple of nitro trucks for the last 6-7 years. But this is the first time I've owned a plane, and the first time I've dealt with brushless.

I bought my 2013 model Skyartec Cessna 182 probably just over a week ago. It's a 7ch model with gyro. Before buying the plane I'd already had a go at some simulators using my PC keyboard, and since buying the plane I've had a couple of flights with it and done a fair bit of practise on the simulator using the radio - a bit different to keyboard. So my success rate for the flights has been so-so.

At my most recent attempt to fly and not crash, I went out with a fully charged battery and everything looking good. But when I pushed the throttle, the prop simply cut in and out in quick bursts. I cut the throttle and tried bringing it up again gradually, which seemed to work fine, and at 100% throttle it started down the runway. The problem is, it wasn't enough power to take off.
I tried reconnecting the lipo pack, turning the tx on and off, raising the throttle trim to +100, but nothing got the prop to spin any faster. It was spinning consistently and enough to move, but not fast enough for take off. I tried both accelerating slowly and pegging the throttle, but results were the same.