Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

N00B question: Low Cell Count & Higher KV vs High Cell Count & Lower KV

Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

N00B question: Low Cell Count & Higher KV vs High Cell Count & Lower KV

Old 02-26-2014, 01:24 PM
JKEpps
My Feedback: (1)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default N00B question: Low Cell Count & Higher KV vs High Cell Count & Lower KV

Hello all,

I'm new to electrics, and have converted an Alpha 40 to electric using an outrunner motor and A123 batteries. In doing my homework and research, I'm wondering about an item. I read the "Everything You Wanted To Know about Electrics" eBook posted here, and I'm sure the answer is in there, but it's not jumping out and grabbing me.

My question is, generally speaking, when using an outrunner motor, for general sport flying, what are the pros/cons of using a lower cell count with a high KV motor, vs adding cells and a lower KV motor?

Thanks,

-Jorden
Old 02-26-2014, 02:24 PM
Dr Kiwi

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

To get the same amount of "power" (watts = V x I) you will need higher amp draw with the lower cell count. Losses through heat are going to be proportional to I squared... so the higher voltage, lower current combo is probably better.

... but, a lower Kv motor will have more turns and thus more winding wire... thus more resistance... so you lose on the roundabouts some of what you gain on the swings!

Last edited by Dr Kiwi; 02-26-2014 at 02:28 PM.
Old 02-28-2014, 12:13 PM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Generally you go for lower amps and higher voltage.