Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

no motor power

Reply

Old 03-23-2015, 06:06 AM
  #1  
bplaxton
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default no motor power

hi there,

I have a SkyFly II with a TacTic transmitter and receiver. The gear has been sitting a while as I wanted to get comfortable with virtual flying before messing with the plane. The rudder and elevators check out but I have no action from th electric motor. What is the best way to diagnose/isolate the problem?
bplaxton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 05:31 PM
  #2  
blvdbuzzard
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: high deserts, CA
Posts: 3,701
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

When you plug the battery in on the plane, do you get any beeps? Try reversing the throttle channel and plug the battery in?


Buzz
blvdbuzzard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 07:20 PM
  #3  
bplaxton
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I tried your suggestion just now Buzz, but no go. Appreciate your help. There aren't any beeps when I plug in the battery. The light is on inside the plane (power connection). The elevator and rudder controls operate normally. I've tried swapping the receiver cable terminals in all the combinations I can think of.

Bill
bplaxton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 07:43 PM
  #4  
bplaxton
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

scratch that. I reconnected everything again and repeatedly tried switching the throttle channel and now there's motor power. Thanks again Buzz!! I'm a total noob at RC as you can likely tell.

Bill
bplaxton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 08:22 AM
  #5  
blvdbuzzard
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: high deserts, CA
Posts: 3,701
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Glad it worked out. Learn something new every day.


Buzz.
blvdbuzzard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 05:58 PM
  #6  
bplaxton
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

yesterday I tried to give it a go. Too much wind but i thought i could just practice a few take offs just off the ground and then re-land. I thought the school yard across from our house would be, if not ideal then at least a pretty good place to try. No one around and a really big field. Its very early spring here in Calgary and the grass is still completely dormant. However the field proved to be much too rough/bumpy for the poor sky fly to accelerate. i watched some youtube last night and it appears that many people hand-launch their planes. i would need to have someone to help with that, not confident I could throw the plane and manage the transmitter with the other hand for enough time to gain control. Any advice on hand launching? thanks
bplaxton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 06:04 AM
  #7  
whitecrest
Senior Member
 
whitecrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orleans, MA
Posts: 316
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hand launching works well. You'll have plenty of time to get back on the sticks. Be sure to always launch into the wind and be ready to provide a little up elevator to counteract the sink as the plane gains speed. Use about 3/4 throttle and launch the plane level with the horizon or just slightly up and let it gain speed as you apply a little up elevator to help it gain altitude.
whitecrest is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service