Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Old radio as buddy box

Reply

Old 07-02-2015, 06:33 PM
  #1  
ToddNorris
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Old radio as buddy box

I am getting back into RC and am trying to use as much of my old equipment as possible. I am using an old Futaba FM radio and want to teach my son to fly. I have some old Futaba AM radios. I was wondering if I could use one of those as a buddy box tethered to my FM Futaba? If so, how? If not, what options do you recommend on a budget?

Futaba FM is a TX6A
Futaba AM is FP-T4NBL
ToddNorris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 12:23 PM
  #2  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sorry no one has replied. Did you resolve this? I would think any Futaba to Futaba round plug buddy cord would work. Note that only one of the radios actually transmits.
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2015, 11:38 PM
  #3  
Hircflyer
Senior Member
 
Hircflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kailua, HI
Posts: 956
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Please don't use any AM radios.....you will lose an airplane.....too much interference.
Hircflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 09:26 AM
  #4  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I believe the intent was to use the AM radio as a buddy box, not to fly the plane.

I flew a glider on an AM radio for years with no problems.
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 06:00 PM
  #5  
Herky
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Hircflyer View Post
Please don't use any AM radios.....you will lose an airplane.....too much interference.
I used an AM radio up until recently...sold it because I wanted computer mixing. Never had any hits on it! I DID flying FM a few times. Prob depends on what's near you. 2.4 is the best, but we spent many hours in the air with confidence on AM band... (FM too...PCM was terrific!)
Herky is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service