Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

What to buy Electric or Gas, Please Help!

Old 10-17-2003, 12:11 PM
HighlanderJim

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default What to buy Electric or Gas, Please Help!

Hi Everyone,

I'm really new to R/C and I want to know what I should purchase. I want an RTF with everything in one package, ready to go. But what is the better way to go charge an electric engine or fuel one up.

Please provide your opinions to me. I will develop a Pros & Cons list on each type of engine. I want to take into consideration, flight time/power for each flight, expense, ease of use, working with a harardous material etc...

Thanks very much for all your help.

PS what RTF Planes do you suggest as well!!

Jim from Johnstown, PA[sm=confused.gif]
Old 10-17-2003, 12:16 PM
Jason Beach
My Feedback: (4)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What to buy Electric or Gas, Please Help!

You may get some bias opinions since you posted this in the electric forum.
The answer is to get what you like, and what is most widely supported in your area.
Do you have an instructor.
If not. Get one. It will save you literaly hundreds of dollars and lots of frustration.

You can generally get 40 glow trainers RTF for around $300 from most hobby shops.
I personally would recomend a Slow Stick if you want electric. People have also had good luck with the Hobby Zone planes.

Hope this helps.

Jason
Old 10-20-2003, 01:14 AM
Woodsy

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Ok
some things to ask/find out

is noise a problem?? elsctric is quieter
is space a problem? electric (park) can fly in smaller aread
is there a flying field local? if NO electric can fly in park
is cost and issue? Glow is cheaper bang for buck
do you have an instructor? electric is less dangerous
Glow is more forgiving for extra weight (repaires, bad building, etc)