Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Comments on these trainers??

Old 11-06-2003, 07:42 PM
walkercr

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Comments on these trainers??

I am new to RC and am looking to get an electric trainer to learn on. I might be able to get some help on my first flight but will basically be on my own.
I have been looking at many sites to do research and have a question.
Most discussion forums seem to favor the TigerMoth and Slow stick with a couple others following behind like the skyscooter, aerobird, etc.
On the Hobby Lobby web site they suggest the following: Wingo, Graupner Tipsy, and Graupner Mini Piper.
I have seen the Wingo and Tipsy metioned a few times on these sites, but not many. I have never seen the Mini Piper mentioned. All seem to have gotten good reviews. Has anyone had any experience with these?? Any opinions??
I would like a good first plane that is easy to fly and can take some abuse ( I am planning to crash many times).
I would like to be able to land on wheels if possible for the practice, which discourages me from getting the Tipsy unless it is a really super flyer. Take offs from the wheels would also be nice.
I REALLY HATE the way the Slow Stick looks, even though looks are not the most important factor I would like some other options.
The Tiger Moth seems like a good choice as I think it can both take off and land on its landing gear. The Mini Piper will land but hand launches are recommended.
I am planning on getting the HiTec Flash 5X computer radio to go with whatever plane I end up with. I eventually would like to get into aerobatic electrics like the Cobra, or Eagle ... but that is a long way off.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Craig
PS: I am an Aerospace Engineer and have worked on several aircraft programs at Boeing and Lockheed so I have pretty good knowlege of aerodynamics.
Old 11-07-2003, 07:30 AM
goofup

Gallery