Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

How do I trim out my T-Hawk?

Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

How do I trim out my T-Hawk?

Old 11-25-2003, 05:36 PM
Pimpwerx
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I trim out my T-Hawk?

Finally got properly flying, and don't know when I should try setting my trims. I have a T-Hawk, and should I set the trims going upwind or with a tailwind? Should I do it at full throttle or at cruising, or when it's gliding in idle? I assume I should set the trim to have it flying in a straight and steady path without radio input, but it climbs into a headwind, and drops a bit with a tailwind. Do I need to maybe wait for a perfectly calm day, or what? Thanks for any help. I'm new to this. PEACE.
Old 11-25-2003, 09:03 PM
goofup

Default RE: How do I trim out my T-Hawk?

My Rule Of Thumb for trimming is that a plane (especially "trainers") should fly straight and level at about 1/2 throttle on a calm day. Another way to look at it is that it should fly "hands off" (on a calm day). The idea is that if you get in trouble (and you have enough height!), you can just let go the sticks, set it at 1/2 throttle, and it will sort itself out and end up flying straight and level.

That being said, if you have the "old" T-hawk with the on/off throttle that's a little tough. Power, and headwind, makes any plane climb. Gliding, especially with a tailwind, any plane will drop. Hopefully you have the "new" T-Hawk with the proportional throttle.

Now that that's said, who says the trims have to be kept in one place all the time?
Old 11-26-2003, 07:55 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

goofup's right.