Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Transmitter

Reply

Old 12-03-2003, 12:10 AM
  #1  
jatoo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
jatoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Transmitter

The GWS Tiger Moth requires a 3ch, but everyone says to get a 4ch. The 4ch's I have seen are just the two sticks. Can you get one with a throttle slide? Or change the stick to no spring back? What do most people use with a Tiger Moth?
jatoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 12:42 AM
  #2  
shams42
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
shams42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 94
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter

I'm a newbie too, so I might be wrong about this. But I was looking at radios at the LHS last weekend. The left stick controls the throttle. As far as I can tell. it doesn't spring back to center like the right stick does -- it stays where you put it.

Matt
shams42 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 08:05 AM
  #3  
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)
 
Matt Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencerport, NY
Posts: 7,349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter

alfat,

The other Matt's got it. Your left stick has a ratchet in the up/down direction. It stays where you put it. They only center the stick for the picture in the ads you see. I think you'd agree that a transmitter looks better in an ad with both sticks centered than it would with the sticks pointing off in two completely different directions
Matt Kirsch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 10:09 PM
  #4  
Dr Kiwi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2,198
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter

There is a lot of logic in getting at least a 4-channel Tx from the outset, so that you can move to aileron aircraft without having to buy a new Tx. Also if you learn on a 3-channel with slide throttle there is some "unlearning" which has to be done when (not if!) you move up to the two-stick system. I think GWS has some relatively cheap 4-channel systems available, but check that the one you buy has elevon/V-tail mixing [you'll need that for any Zagi type flying wing].

Cheers, Phil
Dr Kiwi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 10:47 PM
  #5  
Sir Crash-A-lot
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter

If anyone has a Hitec 3ss or Laser for sale cheap enough I would be willing to buy it.
I just realized my 6ch. TX does'nt have mixing!
Sir Crash-A-lot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 09:34 AM
  #6  
Dr Kiwi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2,198
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter

Sir Crash-a-lot - your easiest solution is just to buy a GWS on board mixer - about $10 and only a few grams - cheaper and better since you will be familiar with your 6-channel Tx and won't have to relearn the slide throttle technique. I speak from experience since, in my initial ignorance, my first Tx, [a Futaba SkySport 6YG] didn't have mixing!

Cheers, Phil
Dr Kiwi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 02:46 PM
  #7  
Sir Crash-A-lot
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter

No way on the Mixer, I fly realllly small stuff, and the extra grams would cost me a fortune in efficency.
Sir Crash-A-lot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 11:24 PM
  #8  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transmitter

I have a single stick three channel Hitec radio and a 7 channel two stick Hitec and have no trouble moving between them. In fact my first plane was is an Aerobird which has a 3 channel single stick radio with a slide.

If you only plan on flying three channel planes then a low cost three channel is fine.

Which radio should I buy. All new flyers ask this question.

How many channels do I need? You will get many opinions.

And, you will get a debate on whether you need a standard radio or a computer
radio and what mixes come with each. What does that mean?

First it is important to realize that you should be able to fly any plane on 4
channels. That is enough to control rudder, elevator, ailerons and throttle.
With that you can fly an indoor plane, an electric park flyer or a giant high
powered plane.

However, with more channels you gain flexibility. For example, you can put
two servos on the ailerons and control them individually. You can operate
moveable landing gear. And, when it comes to gliders/sailplanes you are
likely to do more surface mixing than on power planes, so if you into
sailplanes and plan to fly full house sailplanes some day, you typically want more than
4 channels so you can do that fancy surface mixing. The club wizards
recommended at least 7 channels for full houuse sailplanes.

Here is a typical channel breakdown. These apply to electrics, glo and
gliders.

Rudder - 1
Elevator - 1
Ailerons - 1 or 2
Spoilers/Flaps - 1 or 2
Motor/tow hook/landing gear - 1

That makes 5 or 7 depending on how you set up your servos.

The biggest question is what is your budget?

A three channel Hitec single stick AM radio costs about $60 new with two micro servos

A 4 channel GWS Dream Starter with servos, speed control, etc is about $120 and is set-up to match up with the GWS planes. If you are on a budget, this Dream Starter might be a good choice.

Eventually, if you stay with the hobby, you will buy a computer radio, but you don't have to buy it now if you don't have the $$.
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service