Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

Planes vs. Helicopters

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Planes vs. Helicopters

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2003, 01:00 AM
Chad9703

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Planes vs. Helicopters

I am new to RC and am debating between electric planes and gas helicopters. I have already read that helicopters are more expensive and harder to fly.

What are the pros and cons of each?

Also, does anyone know anything about the Multiplex Easy Star trainer?

Thanks.........
Old 12-11-2003, 08:01 AM
ScYcS

Default RE: Planes vs. Helicopters

The easystar is supposed to be one of the easiest planes to fly. It also appears to be pretty durable. I think it would make a real good starter airplane. Read lots about it here:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...hreadid=144078

Helicopters are really hard to fly as you already said. The big advantages of helicopters is that they are somewhat smaller than airplanes and you can do things with them (e.g. hover in one spot) that you simply can't with an airplane. However, Airplanes have other qualities like speed and gliding that you'll never get with a Heli.

It's really two bags of tea and i think starting with an airplane will be much easier. The good thing about the hobby is that once you have many parts, they are interchangable. You can use servos from planes in helis and vice versa for example.
Old 12-11-2003, 03:51 PM
Chad9703

Thanks for the advice. I think I'm going to go for the Easy Star (after reading the posts about it)

I have a 4 channel radio from a while back when I was going to fly gas airplanes (but never did). Will "regular" radios work with micro servos that they use in electric planes?
Old 12-11-2003, 04:30 PM
ScYcS