Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Hobbyzone Challenger

Old 12-21-2003, 06:22 PM
kevjud

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hobbyzone Challenger

I am new to this hobby so I thought I would research these forums for some advice. I have read good things about the hobbyzone planes. I do have a question though, I can't decide between the commander, or the challenger. I would like to buy the challenger since it has more capabilities, but I have read that a beginner should not buy that as their first plane. Any advice? I would hate to spend the extra dollars, and then find out I should have learned on a simpler plane. Thanks in advance for your advice.

Kevin
Old 12-22-2003, 08:56 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hobbyzone Challenger

It's really a tough call. The Aerobird Challenger has one more control than the Firebird Commander, and it's the control that can get you into the most trouble as a newbie... Then again, if you go with the Commander, you end up buying another plane to take the next step.

Ultimately, it's your call. If you're confident in your hand-eye coordination, and/or you have some experienced help or an R/C simulator, the Challenger will work okay. The Commander will be better for someone working on their own, who might not have the utmost confidence in their handl-eye coordination.
Old 12-22-2003, 03:57 PM
kevjud

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Thanks. If you just keep the elevator neutral and not use it at first, would the plane then fly like a commander? Just increase prop speed to climb, and decrease prop speed to lose altitude? I hope this isn't too dumb of a question! Thanks
Old 12-22-2003, 07:11 PM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback