Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

the delimma...

Old 01-03-2004, 11:50 AM
shams42
My Feedback: (1)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default the delimma...

I am a former Aerobird pilot who just completed my first kit, a mountain models dandy sport. I probably had 30-40 flights on the Aerobird and was pretty good at controlling it and landing where I want, etc. (My last few Aerobird flights were hampered by lots of malfunctions with the plane's v-tail and control surfaces, which has greatly drained my confidence.)

I am wondering if I should attempt to fly this Dandy alone or if I should go ahead and join the AMA and go down to my local field and find an instructor. I am sure that having an instructor would be good for my flying, but the cost of joining the AMA plus the cost of paying for a year's membership at the field ($100) is prohibitive at this point. Plus the field is about 30-35 minutes away from my home and is grass only... I don't even know if the little wheels on the Dandy could function in that type of grass.

On the other hand, I've put a lot of money and time into building this kit, and I don't want to see it become kindling after one flight.

I do intend to join the AMA and fly at the local field eventually for the social atmosphere, etc. My next plane might be glow (although I've got my eye on a Formosa), and if it is I'll have to fly at that field. I just couldn't afford to do it right now.

What do you think? Should I try it on my own? Should I wait and find an instructor?

Matt
Old 01-03-2004, 12:24 PM
Jason Beach
My Feedback: (4)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: the delimma...

The best way to get into this hobby is to have an instructor. Especially if you're worried about your plane. Although the Dandy is very tough for a balsa plane, a good crash will kill it.