Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

My First ARF - A GWS EStarter

Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

My First ARF - A GWS EStarter

Old 02-15-2004, 11:42 AM
xanatos

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My First ARF - A GWS EStarter

First of all I'd like to say that I am quite new to RC (of any kind). I have flown one
other plane - a Multiplex Easystar and found that a pleasant introduction to the hobby. I
was however looking for something a little more challenging to build and a little more
responsive in the air.

I chose the GWS E-Starter ARF because it had gotten reasonable reviews on this site and
others for ease of building and repairability. I wasn't so much worried about ease of
building as I have been building static models for years but I knew that I would be
putting the repairability to test early on!

I ordered both the kit as well as 3 pico servos, receiver, crystal and ICS300 speed
control. I also ordered a Sanyo 8.4V 730mAh battery pack. I already had the transmitter
so I didn't have to worry about that.

The kit arrived in quick time but unfortunately the main wing was damaged during delivery
. I contacted the vendor and they agreed to send a replacement wing. I wasn't however
going to wait for that to arrive and I decided to put the repairability to the test by
fixing the wing. The damage was limited to a fairly clean break about 3 inches from the
left wing tip. I used the enclosed GWS glue and left it to dry. The results were quite
good and I decided to continue building.

The kit proved quite easy to build even for a novice like myself. The only real
challenges were

1) In order to install the aileron torque rods into the main wing a deep channel has to
be cut into the wing itself - I was constantly worried about cutting too deep and it was
difficult to keep the channel level with the wing.