Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

aerobird V tail or rudder/elevators?

Old 02-20-2004, 06:46 PM
stephen23

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default aerobird V tail or rudder/elevators?

Hey Everyone.

This is the first time I've posted here, and the first thing I want to say is thank you all for being here. I've read through just about every thread here about electrics and its been a tremendous help as far as knowing what I'm getting into. Muchos Gracias!

That said, I'll get to the question. I've mildly considering getting into these things for several years, and now it's time to finally buy something and learn. I work an incredibly erratic schedule and tend to be kind of a loaner, so rather than going to the clubs, I'm going to get something relatively cheap and teach myself. I studied aerospace engineering many years ago, and work with my hands alot, so I figure I have at least an even chance of not killing myself out of frustration.

I'm leaning hard towards the aerobird challenger set up... I can get the rtf kit, an extra wing, plus an extra 7 cell battery for right at $150. It seems to be a good mix of relatively easy to start out on, yet capable of doing at least a bit of aerobatics as far as loops and such, plus my local shop stocks every spare part and add on made for it at good prices. I know that nothing will transfer up to the next plane, but given my short attention span, I don't even know if I'll want to move on. This might be enough to keep me interested for as long as it lasts.