Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

landing gear for the Sky Scooter Pro 2?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

landing gear for the Sky Scooter Pro 2?

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2004, 12:04 PM
dano4

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default landing gear for the Sky Scooter Pro 2?

On a previous thread I had mentioned that I'm new to the hobby and decided to start with the Sky Scooter Pro 2. Long story short, In an attempt to get it into the air, I stalled it and it came back down and landed on it's nose. Now I have to take it apart and see if I can fix it. It no longer throttles up very well.

As I analyze my efforts to fly, I'm wondering if I wouldn't have had better success if I didn't have to hand launch the plane. If it had landing gear, I could get the plane up to speed, increase the elevators slightly with the trim control, and hopefully, the plane would start its ascent.

As a newbie, I hand launched the plane and perhaps got over worried that it would hit the ground before flying away so I pulled up too hard on the stick.

What are your thoughts? Should I try to attach wheels to my plane? If so, any recommendations on landing gear?

I appreciate any comments made .

Dan O.
Old 03-03-2004, 01:58 PM
Mike Ledbetter

Default RE: landing gear for the Sky Scooter Pro 2?

I don't think the SSII has enough power to roll off the ground. Also, you may have bent your motor shaft.

Glide test first next time, using a very gentle, low toss. Use the glide to trim the ailerons.

On your next launch, trim the elevator up a little bit, start the motor and throw straight into the wind at about a 10 degree up angle. Do not fly in turbulent conditions on your first few flights. This is a fun plane--good luck.
Old 03-03-2004, 09:46 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)