Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

t-hawk or tiger moth

Old 03-03-2004, 11:00 PM
tkgavette

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default t-hawk or tiger moth

OK, first of all I am a newbie, but have been spending way too much time reading threads and info on this wonderful website.
I have built several balsa models, none of which I flew, including the P-51 and the P-38 so construction is not a problem.
I do plan on buying a Hitec laser 4 radio (for future use, any radio recommendations under $150 would be nice), but can not decide on which plane to buy. Both get great reviews from most everyone. I can get the T-hawk minus the radio and receiver, and this seemed to be the hangup most had on this plane. The biggest hang up on the Tiger Moth was that it needs to be beefed up, because it is a little too flimsy. The T-hawk also seems to bee just a little better with wind, don't worry I'll sit on my hands on windy days until I get several flights under my belt. I have several large flat fields with no obstructions to crash into.

P.S. do not recommend the Slow Stick I consider this very close to the Tiger moth in handling, and the Tiger Moth looks better.
Thanks for the help!
Old 03-04-2004, 08:10 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: t-hawk or tiger moth

Many people have fallen for the "beef it up because it looks flimsy" fallacy. In fact, the plane is quite delicate and flimsy, but it doesn't need to be built like a brick house. It only weighs 7oz, and is meant to fly indoors or in light breezes. Beef it up in one place, and it will break somewhere else on a hard landing. By the time you beef everything up, it's too heavy.

The final choice of plane comes down to your preferences. It sounds like you're leaning toward the T-Hawk, which isn't a bad choice at all.