Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

New to Electiflight... advice please!

Old 03-08-2004, 03:48 AM
FL350

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New to Electiflight... advice please!

Hi All,

I've been flying glow engine RC for many years now but would really like to have a go at 'clean' electric flight. I quite fancy the Great Planes Fire Bat but have absolutely no idea what to get and the do's and don'ts..

I see it comes in two versions, standard or deluxe, the latter with charger, ESC, motor etc. However I also noted that there was a 'hot-up' recommendation for motor & ESC as well, and I really would like something with all the performance possible...!

So... is the GP Fire Bat a suitable performance aerobatic model or is there something better out there?

What motor, ESC, battery pack etc. should I really be looking for? I'd rather pay a bit more and get the preformance than be disappointed with my first electric model...!

I have a 4-8 cell fast charger already that has the (I believe) car batterey pack plug -is this the same coupler for airplanes as well?

Any other advice you can send my way would be very much appreciated because I know absolutely nothing about Electriflight and I don't even know anyone else who flies these!

Happy flying!
Old 03-08-2004, 07:42 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New to Electiflight... advice please!

I hate to say it, but ANY Great Planes electric, in its stock form, is a bad choice for a first electric. The Firebat is marginal on power, and if you don't get the canard angle and CG absolutely PERFECT, it doesn't fly. I don't mean the typical modeler "close enough." It has to be absolutely, down to the micron spot-on, or the plane won't fly.

If you want to try the Firebat, I recommend the basic kit. The Deluxe kit doesn't include any useful equipment for this plane.