Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

FMS Software

Reply

Old 05-19-2005, 10:50 AM
  #1  
celton
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Waynesville, OH
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FMS Software

Do I need a radio to use the FMS flight simulator software? Can a game controller be used/ I know it will not be quite like using a transmitter.

Thanks...
celton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 06:42 PM
  #2  
hueyman
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 299
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FMS Software

yes you can. i bought a cheap ($10) dual joystick usb game pad from wallymart and used it. the only problem is both sticks center which will leave your model at half throttle when centered. i have nit tried to remove the return spring on the throttle joystick but it can be done. or just pull it toward you when you want throttle off.
hueyman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2005, 10:26 PM
  #3  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FMS Software

While you can use a joy stick, it is not nearly as helpful in learning to fly an RC Plane. The real benefit of Flight Sims is that you get to feel the radio and see the plane and understand the response.

Usign the joystick is better than nothing, but you will have much better results with a radio, or a controller that has the same 2 stick type layout as an RC radio.
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 07:52 PM
  #4  
Fly-n-3D
Senior Member
 
Fly-n-3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FMS Software

Pick up a $50 transmiter and thats allyou need?
Fly-n-3D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2005, 11:10 AM
  #5  
josh451
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: , AZ
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FMS Software

I used the Dual Analog Sticks on my Game Pad. I found the sensation to be very similar to the real thing. Ultimately it would be best to have a Radio though.
josh451 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2005, 06:20 PM
  #6  
MachManStan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FMS Software

OK, I'm new here and new to the hobby. I downloaded the FMS software, but I can't figure our how to use my plane transmitter with the software. I have a Parkzone Super Decathalon. Can someone tell me how to do this?

Thanks,
Stan
MachManStan is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service