Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

watt's up meter

Reply

Old 05-19-2005, 04:49 PM
  #1  
lillbill11
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: newark, DE
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default watt's up meter

HI:


JUST RECIEVED MY NEW WATTS UP METER AND IT HAS NO PLUGS ON IT.

SINCE I'M GOING TO BE HOOKING IT UP TO DIFFERENT BATTERIES ( NICD: NIMHD: LI-POLY )

WITH DIFFERENT RATINGS (10V-70V) AND DIFFERENT ESC'S AND DIFFERENT SERVOS ETC.

HOW DO I KNOW WHICH PLUGS TO SOLDER TO THE METER WIRES SO I CAN GO TO

ALL THE DIFFERENT SIZE PLUGS THAT COME WITH BATTERIES AND ESC'S AND SERVOS

ETC. AND WHAT DO YOU CALL THESE, AND WHERE DO YOU GET THEM ???

THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR HELP SO FAR, BEING NEW IS FUN TO

A POINT. ANY INFO WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

YOURS TRULY BILL GRAY
lillbill11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2005, 08:13 AM
  #2  
Greg Covey
Senior Member
 
Greg Covey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,710
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: watt's up meter

Hi Bill,

What I did was to solder the the highest current connectors to the wattmeter, in my case Dean's Ultra. Then I made some adapters to my favorite lower current connectors.

Good luck!
Greg Covey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2005, 09:00 AM
  #3  
billz
Member
 
billz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 84
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: watt's up meter

Bill,

Alot of people will "standardize" all their connectors (on batteries, motors, ESC, etc.) to one particular kind (Deans, Sermos, JST, Astro). Just be careful doing this on batteries so that you don't short out the battery.
billz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2005, 03:53 PM
  #4  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: watt's up meter

Why not use bannana jacks so you can use your charger leads?
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 06:27 AM
  #5  
jmir
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Laurinburg, NC
Posts: 1,304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: watt's up meter

I went to Radio Shack and got some 12V wire connectors. I placed those on the wattmeter. I then get the battery connectors for the various batteries and hook them up to the another 12v wire connector. It works well if you have different type battery plus.
If this does not make much sense, let me know and I will post some photos.

Jmir
jmir is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service