Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Questions about electric power and rc terminology

Old 06-02-2005, 08:33 AM
deli_conker

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions about electric power and rc terminology

Okay. I understand the relationship between amps and volts because of a good explanation found on this forum. I've also read that amps*volts = watts. And that most planes you'll want 50 watts per pound to fly around, 75 watts per pound for aerobatics, and 100 watts/pound for 3d.

I'm new to ARFs and such and was wondering...
[*]If I know how many watts I need, and know the voltage I am going to use, how do I determine which motor to use?
[*]The rating system for motors, what does it mean (300, 400, 480, etc.)?
[*]I understand that different props will make the motor work at different levels thus changing the amount of amps drawn, is this just a trial and error process using a watt meter to determine real numbers or can it be derived mathematically? I don't want to fry anything when I start buying stuff.
[*]Speaking of props, what do the numbers mean (6-4 for example). I'm thinking it has something to do with pitch and length/radius, but there are other things it could be as well (I guess).

Sorry if my questions have already been answered in an earlier post, I tried to search before posting. Just want to make sure I don't railroad myself by buying the wrong things.

Old 06-02-2005, 08:57 AM
Walt Thyng
My Feedback: (9)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Questions about electric power and rc terminology

D.C.,
you've taken an important step in learning about electrics --- ASK! I'm self-taught about e-power (I did have 25 years of wet-power experience) and I'm about as far from an engineeer as you can get.