Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

Advice please for Rookie

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Advice please for Rookie

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2005, 09:25 PM
frvrngn
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice please for Rookie

Greetings, I would like to say first off, I did lots of reading and searching and found this site enormously helpful. I am looking to clear up some things that I couldnt find searching. I am a total rookie to rc flight and want to purchase a full RTF. I have built RC cars and models, but just dont really want to with the plane. I would rather just buy and go... So no Slow Stick, even though that seems to be the overwhelming fav on this site!

1) Looking at a HZ Firebird Scout.... Its cheap, its slow, it looks pretty crash worthy, its cheap, it comes with everything (did I mention cheap??) People seem to like it if they can get past the tail boom problems. I was trying to look up the ziptie fix but the link was broken.

2) Looked at the other HZ offerings as well. I do tend to get bored and the 2 channel Scout was a little worrisome there, but again, its cheap for me to learn on and crash which I know I will. The Challenger with the anti crash deal looked interesting but was twice as much and still 2 channel. The salesguy said a full 3 channel like the Aerobird Xtreme might be too much to start. I really dont want to slam $150-$200 into the ground the first day.

3) The saleguy also showed me the Slow-V and I almost walked out with it. I wanted to do more research first. It seems that people like it, but its fragile. Its also almost 3 times as much as a Scout! I liked that it could be hopped up later on.