Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

when to try pro mode on ABC. ?

Reply

Old 09-11-2005, 07:51 PM
  #1  
camlf
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , NH
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default when to try pro mode on ABC. ?

I dont want to get in over my head . Some say the pro mode is easier to control the aerobird challenger. I have been out 12 trips to the field to fly and feel good with controlling ,,,ROG takeoffs. loops and stall recoveries. and nice flared landings with gear. I had one crash with no damage today. the batt. ran out and the plane was low. I turned it around and glided to the run way and I pushed up instead of pull back to level a bit and that was a quick way to land.How could I make such a dumb mistake.

This makes me wonder if I'm ready for the pro mode. Thanx for your input
camlf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 07:57 PM
  #2  
BobbyGee
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
BobbyGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 403
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: when to try pro mode on ABC. ?

Go for it.

If you've had 12 flights and no prangs, you're ready. It isn't drastically different. You'll just find that the plane responds with less of a feeling of lag.

Cheers!!!

BobbyG

BobbyGee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 06:46 PM
  #3  
camlf
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , NH
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: when to try pro mode on ABC. ?

I found the nose goes down alot more as the manual states. it is "jerky" compared to sport mode. will to take me a coulpe flights more to get the hang of this.[8D]
camlf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 05:18 PM
  #4  
bigB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bastrop, TX
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: when to try pro mode on ABC. ?

With 12 flights of experience, you should be ready for Pro mode. Just remember to make small adjustments to the stick when turning. If you slam the stick all the way to the side like you're using sport mode, you will make a very sharp turn and lose control like I did my first time.
bigB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 10:50 PM
  #5  
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: when to try pro mode on ABC. ?

If possible try it on a calmer day so you can tell what is you and what is the wind.

Makes the plane much more responsive.

Have you moved the control wires down to the bottom holes yet?
aeajr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 09:55 PM
  #6  
camlf
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , NH
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: when to try pro mode on ABC. ?

since my last post I have moved to the lower holes on the horns and in pro mode. I got the feel of it now and and learned how to fly into a wind more then 7MPH. The wind is my friend now. I'm doing really good now. The last few flights were a blast with no crashes. I am still on my first wing which I removed the inbeded oak dowel and added a carbin fiber rod. Also replaced the first tail with a new one with a cross dowel for support. I think my motor was out of aline. maybe tie raps was too tight. Its flying great now. Thanx for all your help Ed and everyone.
camlf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 02:45 AM
  #7  
AgCat1982
Senior Member
 
AgCat1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Newport, AR
Posts: 2,482
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: when to try pro mode on ABC. ?

How could your motor get out of line? The way it's mounted, it looks kinda hard to do.
AgCat1982 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 07:22 PM
  #8  
camlf
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , NH
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: when to try pro mode on ABC. ?

The fuse was a little damaged by the motor mount, before I did the mod. Had a flight on the way home tonight. its all good now anyways. thanx.
camlf is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service